We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice if a bit inefficient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch
Ranked #570 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here as part of a deal. The hotel is easiest to get to from Old St underground station. If you are going out in central London, cabs may be better transport than the tube as many changes are needed to get to the major hotspots. The rooms were clean and the bathroom nice.

If you have time the pool/saunas are good to relax in. A bit to warm to do serious swimming but nice fun. Be prepared to queue/wait for the lifts! There are only 2 lifts to service ~6 floors, each with ~70 odd rooms.

At breakfast I strongly advise going to the adjoining hotel building. The breakfast room there was empty when we went, compared to the main restaurant with a queue to be seated for the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrRoomda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Jason
Thank you for writing a review of the hotel .
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us .
We appreciate your feed back
Best wishes
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,458 - 1,464 of 3,272 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Friendly reception staff and the hotel had a general pleasant atmosphere. Public areas were nicer than the bedrooms, as the bedrooms although spotlessly clean, were dated and in need of refurbishment. We had a premium room one night and standard one night and to be perfectly honest there really wasn't an enormous difference! We were on the fifth floor and it was very quiet. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice but other than that cannot comment on the restaurant meals as we did not dine there. Did not use the pool etc. so again cannot comment . Yes, drinks were expensive but, that's London prices for you! Overall a pleasant hotel and certainly fine for a short city break. Would we stay there again?The answer is yes if we got a reasonable rate.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank rebsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Rebsal
Thank you for writing a lovely review of your stay .that y
I am very pleased that you felt your room was clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed
your breakfast
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion .
Best wishes
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel is fairly near to public transport links, about 10 mins walk from the tube. It is in a residential area with shops, restaurants and pubs nearby. I thought that there may be issues with noise but on the fourth floor, all was quiet and I slept well. The room was quite spacious with plenty of storage areas, an iron and ironing board and extra towels, pillows and blankets. There is also free wifi at the hotel and a gym / swimming pool that is free to patrons.

However, I did encounter issues with the reception not recognising the rate that I had negotiated before booking; although this was sorted after management was called to confirm. So, if you have a negotiated rate, i would suggest that you keep written confirmation.

There isn't really enough lifts for the size of the hotel and so there can be quite a wait for these at peak times. Similarly with breakfast. On the day that i was there it was unnecessarily chaotic with empty tables but a queue to be seated where people where waiting at least 15 mins. The only benefit to waiting to be seated appeared to be to have someone come to your table to pour tea / coffee. And because they are so busy with also clearing tables, one cup is all that you are likely to receive. I would that thought that installing coffee / tea machines and allowing people to seat themselves would pay dividends in preventing disgruntled guets - there was plenty there on the day of my stay. Which was a shame becuase otherwise the hotel is lovely.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors for quieter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notdunroamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the City Barbican .
I was very pleased to read that you thought the hotel was lovely , but disappointed to read that
our organisation at breakfast was not as it should be .
We appreciate your feed back and hope to welcome you back on a future occasion .
Best wishes

Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here whilst in London for a theatre break. The hotel is very pleasant and the room we had was very clean, tidy and spacious. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing seemed a problem for them. Breakfast was probably one of the best we have had in London. It was fresh and the variety was great. There was two restaurants opened to deal with the breakfast rush. I would recommend this hotel to anybody staying in London for a short break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TinkyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Tinky T
Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel .
I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us .
Thank you for your recommendation .
Best wishes
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed in this hotel on a 2 night stay for business. The room was adequate if somewhat dated but was clean enough. Unfortunately the room was very warm and the windows wouldn't open which resulted in me not getting much sleep either night. The meals were excellent and the staff were very attentive and friendly. The location isn't ideal as the nearest tube stations are a good 10 minute walk away which isn't ideal with several bags

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmil7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear John

Thank you for your review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was pleased to read that you felt the rooms were clean and you enjoyed your evening meal , but was disappointed that you found the room hot.
Thank you for your feed back which we do appreciate
Best wishes
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for one night. It is really good value, but reminds me of a Travelodge in the way it is ran.Didn't use the pool etc. Eight pounds for a glass of wine in a soul less bar seemed a bit steep. Room was small and dated but everything worked and all the staff were really helpful. They dont try to charge for internet and parking is cheap for London.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axecroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Axecroft
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was very pleased to read that you felt the hotel was value for money and you enjoyed your stay
with us .
We appreciate your feedback

Best wishes
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel gave me a completely different impression from the website to the reality.

1. The location:
This hotel is not too far from the tube (it is only a 30 minute walk to the City if as I used to do).
This hotel is just off a main street but surrounded by housing estates fast foods, pubs etc - this is makes it noisy.
I would not base myself here if I had a family and wanted to see London as it just was not the sort of place to wander about outside.
The hotel is shabby from the outside and I nearly walked past it....

2. Staff
The staff were lovely and the service was excellent.

3. Bar and Food
Again staff were excellent and food was prompt and the breakfast range was very good.

4. Rooms:
This is the main issue with the hotel - there seems to be two buildings and I stayed in the other building and not the main building with the reception and bar. The room was small and in bad need of updating. It was very noisy outside and just was not the greatest. The hotel seemed very busy and as I was not spending any time in the room I survived - but would not be the greatest. So I presume the rooms over at the main building are better and are the ones getting the better reviews.....

Room Tip: Be very specific about the room you want as there seems to be varying quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear G O
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of hotel
I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with your room . The majority of the rooms in our front building are our standard accommodation, in the main building we have a combination of standard and premium rooms which are larger and are air conditioned.
Thank you for your great comments about the team and the service you received which I will
share with them
Thank you for your feedback
Best wishes
Jane and tem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#302 of 1,076 in London
634 reviews
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#634 of 1,076 in London
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#389 of 1,076 in London
705 reviews
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #570 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £62 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing