We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here - shabby, hot, poor on all counts” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle City Barbican

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican
Ranked #578 of 1,086 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Do not stay here - shabby, hot, poor on all counts”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

As a business traveller this hotel falls well short of expectations. Do not stay here. The room is small. The windows do not open and are filthy and there is no air conditioning or fan in the windowless bathroom. Room service food was poor - tiger prawn linguine was luke warm with shrimps, cold undercooked carrots and none of the promised chilli. The advertised summer pudding with clotted cream was no better - the clotted cream was in fact a minuscule squirt from an aerosol can of synthetic cream. The walls were adorned with bare screws and the decor was grim. There was no bottled water or decaffeinated / herbal teas available in the room. The electric sockets looked a bit dodgy to me and do not have on/off switches. The loo roll holder was on the other side of the bathroom to the loo, thank goodness I am tall! Much better hotels are available in London for the same price or cheaper so avoid this place at all costs

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Elaine
Thank you for writing a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you did not have the facilities needed for a comfortable stay . Our standard accommodation is not air conditioned and certain items like mineral water and herbal tea are not standard in our rooms but can be supplied on request .
Thank you for your feedback which is appreciated and will be investigated
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    876
    776
    430
    388
See reviews for
318
653
265
1,067
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Was dreading staying here again after an awful stay some years ago but it wasn't quite as bad! On arrival the very friendly staff offered me an upgrade to another hotel as they were overbooked. However as I was with a group for work this wasn't possible. They accepted this and checked me in immediately. The hotel is like a maze with corridors branching off and room direction signs are etched glass on dark walls which are very hard to see. Painting had been done on some hall walls but this wasn't finished yet although it could be clearly smelt. The room was light and clean with a nice bathroom. The bed was ok, although only two pillows available, one hard and one soft. Heating controls worked well and the bathroom was light and clean. There was lots of noise from outside as I overlooked the entrance. Drinks service was very slow and colleagues who ate I. The hotel said the food service was dire.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldMacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Liz
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel .
I was please you to read that you felt that the hotel had improved from your previous stay and I am glad to see that you thought the room was bright and clean.

Thank you for your feedback
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here as part of a deal. The hotel is easiest to get to from Old St underground station. If you are going out in central London, cabs may be better transport than the tube as many changes are needed to get to the major hotspots. The rooms were clean and the bathroom nice.

If you have time the pool/saunas are good to relax in. A bit to warm to do serious swimming but nice fun. Be prepared to queue/wait for the lifts! There are only 2 lifts to service ~6 floors, each with ~70 odd rooms.

At breakfast I strongly advise going to the adjoining hotel building. The breakfast room there was empty when we went, compared to the main restaurant with a queue to be seated for the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrRoomda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Jason
Thank you for writing a review of the hotel .
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us .
We appreciate your feed back
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Friendly reception staff and the hotel had a general pleasant atmosphere. Public areas were nicer than the bedrooms, as the bedrooms although spotlessly clean, were dated and in need of refurbishment. We had a premium room one night and standard one night and to be perfectly honest there really wasn't an enormous difference! We were on the fifth floor and it was very quiet. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice but other than that cannot comment on the restaurant meals as we did not dine there. Did not use the pool etc. so again cannot comment . Yes, drinks were expensive but, that's London prices for you! Overall a pleasant hotel and certainly fine for a short city break. Would we stay there again?The answer is yes if we got a reasonable rate.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rebsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Rebsal
Thank you for writing a lovely review of your stay .that y
I am very pleased that you felt your room was clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed
your breakfast
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion .
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel is fairly near to public transport links, about 10 mins walk from the tube. It is in a residential area with shops, restaurants and pubs nearby. I thought that there may be issues with noise but on the fourth floor, all was quiet and I slept well. The room was quite spacious with plenty of storage areas, an iron and ironing board and extra towels, pillows and blankets. There is also free wifi at the hotel and a gym / swimming pool that is free to patrons.

However, I did encounter issues with the reception not recognising the rate that I had negotiated before booking; although this was sorted after management was called to confirm. So, if you have a negotiated rate, i would suggest that you keep written confirmation.

There isn't really enough lifts for the size of the hotel and so there can be quite a wait for these at peak times. Similarly with breakfast. On the day that i was there it was unnecessarily chaotic with empty tables but a queue to be seated where people where waiting at least 15 mins. The only benefit to waiting to be seated appeared to be to have someone come to your table to pour tea / coffee. And because they are so busy with also clearing tables, one cup is all that you are likely to receive. I would that thought that installing coffee / tea machines and allowing people to seat themselves would pay dividends in preventing disgruntled guets - there was plenty there on the day of my stay. Which was a shame becuase otherwise the hotel is lovely.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors for quieter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notdunroamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the City Barbican .
I was very pleased to read that you thought the hotel was lovely , but disappointed to read that
our organisation at breakfast was not as it should be .
We appreciate your feed back and hope to welcome you back on a future occasion .
Best wishes

Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here whilst in London for a theatre break. The hotel is very pleasant and the room we had was very clean, tidy and spacious. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing seemed a problem for them. Breakfast was probably one of the best we have had in London. It was fresh and the variety was great. There was two restaurants opened to deal with the breakfast rush. I would recommend this hotel to anybody staying in London for a short break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinkyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Tinky T
Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel .
I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us .
Thank you for your recommendation .
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed in this hotel on a 2 night stay for business. The room was adequate if somewhat dated but was clean enough. Unfortunately the room was very warm and the windows wouldn't open which resulted in me not getting much sleep either night. The meals were excellent and the staff were very attentive and friendly. The location isn't ideal as the nearest tube stations are a good 10 minute walk away which isn't ideal with several bags

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmil7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear John

Thank you for your review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was pleased to read that you felt the rooms were clean and you enjoyed your evening meal , but was disappointed that you found the room hot.
Thank you for your feed back which we do appreciate
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#455 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#299 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#650 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Shoreditch
Holiday Inn Express London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Property: Thistle City Barbican
Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #578 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing