We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thistle City Barbican”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican
Ranked #615 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Reading, Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Thistle City Barbican”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Was'nt sure what to expect as this was booked as a surprise stop over by my wife to celebrate my Birthday. So, having asked if there was parking and been told simply "yes", we arrived at this 463 room Hotel to find it has just 11 parking spaces, yes folks JUST 11!! Reception told us, you cant book a space, its first come first served, and if your lucky, you have to pay £25 per night for the luxury - and even then, you cannot move your car - if you do, you lose the space! We were referred to an NCP 10 minutes away, or offered free on-road parking after 13.30 hrs - and we were checking in at 11.30! So, we had to pay the £7.20 for 2 hours and then have the free parking - but already unimpressed! Check in was quick and easy, and we eventually found our badly sign posted room after touring much of the third floor. The room was small, but clean, although definately in need of a face lift as quite old and tired. Nothing much to complain about with the room although as usual, 3 sachets of coffee for two guests is nuts. Later that night, after returning to the hotel, we attempted to use the 120 bar. There were 2 couples having a drink, but no bar staff. Having waited 5 minutes, we gave up completely and retired early, again, unimpressed. So breakfast. We went for breakfast at 0900, half the restaurant was empty, but avery table was bizarrely covered in dirty crockery etc. We had to join a short queue, but were seated within a few minutes - but only just as the restaurant was very busy and full. Breakfast as the highlight of the stay - a very good breakfast - very impressed & very happy, although the toast machine, which people queued at only gave you warm bread. If you wanted to try and toast it properly, it had to go through the machine 3 times - much to the irritation of those queuing. When we left the restaurent, the queue for breakast was HUGE, with, and I counted, 42 people waiting to get it - they were queuing out into reception! All in all, an OK hotel, with NO tangible parking, and a potentially VERY frustrating breakfast experience.

Room Tip: Get up early for breakast, and dont expect to be able to park a car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 600andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Andy
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican .
I was sorry to read that our car parking facilities had not been made clear to you and this was the first impression of the hotel.
I was pleased to read that check in was efficient and you found the room clean and comfortable and enjoyed our breakfast .
Thank you for your feedback which we do appreciate
best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    921
    813
    454
    407
See reviews for
346
687
270
1,124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The room was small but clean and perfect for our 2 night stay in London. The staff were all incredibly friendly as were the majority of other guests. The only bad point about this hotel would be the food quality. The breakfast is a buffet style meal and unfortunately I found the food to be cold and bland, however it wasn't bad enough to ruin our stay or cloud our impression of this hotel. If I'm ever in the Capital again Thistle City Barbican will defiantly be my first choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chanta0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Chanta
Thank you for your very positive review of the hotel
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us .
I have noted your comments in regards to the breakfast which we will act upon .
we appreciate your feedback .
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I can’t recognize any of the very negative reviews for this hotel. The surrounding area is an upcoming part of London with many nice cafes and restaurants and shops. I never felt unsecure when walking in the area and I did a lot of walking as my meetings took part in city of London. Breakfast was fine. Only small annoyance was the rather long queue for seating in the morning. In regards to rooms - this is London! Rooms are small and crowded! My room was so small that when the bath door was opened, I was locked in one part of the room. But it was clean and fulfilled my need for a nice bed to sleep in and a bathroom to take a shower. I liked very much that the room was provided with an iron and ironing board.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Meyer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Meyer_10
Thank you for the very positive review of the hotel and the surrounding area.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay .
Thank you for your feedback
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed one night in a double room for £117 booked through Amoma. When I checked in I was told it was a twin room & I could upgrade for a better room. Explained that I'd booked & already paid for a double room, which they did then agree to honour.
Room was clean & air con worked fine, although without it, it was quite warm in the room.
Breakfast was adequate although very busy with table crammed in.
Stayed in room 1249 - not much of a view but fairly quiet.
Bed was comfy & pillows fine.
Was a bit of a walk from nearest tube station - Old street & not much going on in surrounding area. Although there was a Co-op nearby.
Average all in all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Digsy247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Digsy
Thank you for writing a review on the Thistle City Barbican
I was pleased to read that you found your bed clean and comfortable and appreciate your comments in regards to breakfast .
Thank you for your feedback
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I paid around £75 per night for a single room. I expected . a lot better for the price. The communal areas are well kept but I was put in the building across the other side of the road and the room (2138) was terrible. The windows were drafty, the decor terrible and the decoration looked like a complete amateur had done it.
In fact I could have decorated better myself. Torn wallpaper, paint splattered, badly fitted paper. Taps and pipes tarnished.

No fan in the airless bathroom.
The corridor was a rabbit warren and I found it hard to find my room the first time.

The pool is a great selling point but it was really cloudy which I guess is a lack of cleanliness or excessive chemicals. Overall i feel that those put in the other building should be charged less. It seems to a hotel of two halves and I stayed in the other building before which was nice.

Breakfast was rediculously busy. A buffet affair with queues. The eggs and bacon were underdone. Runny white on the fried eggs, fat completely uncooked on the bacon, sausages cooked but anaemic.

Well replenished. Good choice.

I won't stay again which is a shame as I liked it last time.



  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slippeddisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for writing a review of the thistle Barbican
I was sorry to read that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay with us .
Thank you for your feedback which we do appreciate and will act upon
best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I can only describe this hotel as terrible. To start with it's not at The Barbican it's a good 10 to 15 minute walk away. When I finally got there I had to wait 50 minutes to be served my food. I eventually had to ask a waiter why my food was being served 15 minutes after a couple that came in to the restaurant after me. I think he must have been Manuel from Fawlty Towers as he didn't understand English.
I then had to wait for 10 minutes for the lift.
In the morning I came down to breakfast and was greeted by a huge queue. I had to wait 20 minutes to be shown to a table.
Fair to say I will never be staying there again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ringo1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Ringo
Thank you for writing a review of the Thistle Barbican
I was very sorry to read that you experienced such delay's in service.
On occasions at peak service times we may experience small delays with being seated for breakfast but we do try to manage this . I am disappointed that on this occasion we failed .
Thank you for your feedback which we appreciate and will act upon.
Best wishes
Jane and team .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

As a business traveller this hotel falls well short of expectations. Do not stay here. The room is small. The windows do not open and are filthy and there is no air conditioning or fan in the windowless bathroom. Room service food was poor - tiger prawn linguine was luke warm with shrimps, cold undercooked carrots and none of the promised chilli. The advertised summer pudding with clotted cream was no better - the clotted cream was in fact a minuscule squirt from an aerosol can of synthetic cream. The walls were adorned with bare screws and the decor was grim. There was no bottled water or decaffeinated / herbal teas available in the room. The electric sockets looked a bit dodgy to me and do not have on/off switches. The loo roll holder was on the other side of the bathroom to the loo, thank goodness I am tall! Much better hotels are available in London for the same price or cheaper so avoid this place at all costs

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Elaine
Thank you for writing a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you did not have the facilities needed for a comfortable stay . Our standard accommodation is not air conditioned and certain items like mineral water and herbal tea are not standard in our rooms but can be supplied on request .
Thank you for your feedback which is appreciated and will be investigated
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#317 of 1,068 in London
557 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#410 of 1,068 in London
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
Holiday Inn Express London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Property: Thistle City Barbican
Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #615 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing