We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel? Are these ppl joking?!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican
Ranked #613 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel? Are these ppl joking?!!!!!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were there for 2 nights, and ended up having to move to 3 different rooms throughout the stay. Considering iv stayed at many different sorts of hotels such as inns/lodges/backpackers and luxury accommodation throughout my travels this has got to be the biggest let down iv had. The hotel from the lobby looks amazing, up in the rooms you have to wonder about the safety of the place, it looks like it hasn't had a make over since it opened hundred of years ago! Even though we knew there was no mini bar we came in late to discover no courtesy water as well, when considering there is no tap drinking water this was a big inconvenience, i thought all hotels were considerate to some degree to offer their guests a complimentary bottle of water. As for the rooms, there was no air, was stuffy and hot, sometimes the windows didn't open, and i see from another reviewer the same thing happened to them, how safe is this? We were not happy at all, so many different things made this hotel a 'never again no matter what' option, and considering the price of a starting value of 160 POUNDS a night, its in such a bad location and such bad value for money! We moved into a BnB in Mayfair for 50 pounds a night, central, great staff, very good area, lots to do! Such a money waster i think! Stay elsewhere. Iv never done a bad review this is my first and its well deserved.

Room Tip: Do not stay in any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank najlaber08511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel
I was very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and had to move rooms on several occasions.
Thank you for your feedback which we do appreciate
Best wishes

Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    934
    825
    460
    411
See reviews for
354
701
272
1,136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The rooms at the Thistle are nicely decorated and well equipped. Beds are comfortable. I have stayed there a couple of times on business. On both occasions, I had a fairly small room, but it was enough for one. The star attraction is the breakfast which is excellent with lots of choice of cooked or continental styles.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in an annex. I preferred the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M130454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for writing such a lovely review of the hotel and I am really pleased that
you enjoy staying with us.
We are really proud of our breakfast and do appreciate your feedback .
Best wishes

Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We were quite happy as we walked into the lobby, everything was neat and quite formal. The bar and restaurant looked great so we were excited about our stay so we ventured up to our room but that's where our excitement unfortunately abruptly ended... The room was close to the worst room I have ever stayed in apart from one in KL. It was small and so so very old. After unpacking realized it was too hot so looked for the aircon but there was none so tried to open a window... all had been screwed shut.
IT IS A LEGAL REQUIREMENT TO HAVE VENTILATION IN A HABITABLE ROOM!!!!!
How was this overlooked!?!?!?!
We requested a room change and got put into an even smaller room with windows that could only be opened slightly. Requested yet another room change and finally got put in a room that was better but still seriously lacking considering the price. Staff were friendly and helpful with the 3 room changes if that makes any difference.
TAKE NOTE: there is NO complimentary water
NO mini bar in standard rooms
NO space if you have luggage
NO space in the bathroom AT ALL
And the cleaners seem to feel entitled to enter at their own digression.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Isaac W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for writing a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was very sorry to read that you were disappointed with the original rooms you were allocated . .For health and safety the windows in all of our rooms are restricted , but We will be investigating why this window would not open . Our standard accommodation does not come with air conditioned or mini bars.. Our Premium rooms do have some of the facilities that you were expecting in the rooms .
I would like to thank you for your feedback which we will act upon
Kind regards
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was a good hotel to stay in. The staff were extremely helpful and the hotel looked good. However, I was not too impressed by the location as it seemed to be nowhere near the Barbican. In fact, it was more like a local neighbourhood.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Anita S
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt we were a good hotel.

Thank you for your feed back

Best wishes

Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Great lobby, great breakfast room, great bar and health club, helpful staff

BUT

Old and really small standard rooms that urgently need to be refurbish. Bathrooms are a bit damp and smelly. Only one sort of pillows on the bed...

In short, the ground floor raises expectations that the rooms can not keep...

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Günther L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Lackyg
Thank you for completing a review of the Thistle City Barbican .

I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with the décor of your bedroom but pleased that
you like our public areas .

Thank you for you feed back which we do appreciate .

Best wishes

Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel looks new and modern from outside but the rooms are dank, tiny bath and twin beds. The location is distant from the underground so take taxis rather than drag bags if you have lots.

Will look elsewhere next time

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear GN
Thank you for your review of the hotel
I am sorry that you were disappointed with the hotels location and felt the distance was to far from the under ground and that you were disappointed with your bed room .
We appreciate your feedback .
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

What I liked most about this hotel is the location. it is close to Old St, Barbican and Angel.
We stayed here during a weekend and the surroundings was calm and quiet. We enjoyed this as the areas we visited in London was pretty hectic.

The rooms in this hotel are a little dated but clean and has the standard fuctionalitly of an average hotel room.

Their breakfast is a buffet and has all the standard selection.

Overall we would come back to this hotel,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HillKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your great feedback on the hotel
We are pleased you enjoyed your weekend
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#306 of 1,069 in London
571 reviews
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#399 of 1,069 in London
659 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Property: Thistle City Barbican
Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #613 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing