We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Group visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican
Ranked #589 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Group visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Perfect for what our group were looking for.Very friendly and efficient reception staff on arrival.The rooms were on the small side but suitable for a short stay.Pretty clean and decent bathroom.
Breakfast was excellent especially the sausages.The bar was typical london prices but excellent service.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pengie1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Pengie
Thank you for writing a review of your recent visit .
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your comments
on to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    886
    783
    434
    396
See reviews for
325
668
267
1,076
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Room was small, and hot. ac didn't work, iron was broken. Not worth the money! The local area looks a bit daunting but it is well placed for the east side of London. We were there for one night. We would try and find something else in the area next time.
Location good, room very disappointing!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Jon
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel
I was pleased to read that you thought the hotel was in a good location for East London but very disappointed that you did not like your room .
Thank you for your feedback which we appreciate and will act upon
Kind regards

Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenrothes
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This Hotel more or less is as previous reviews stated. It is in a good location as it is only 10 minutes walk away from Old Street Tube Station. The ground level is all very nice, very clean and modern, but as stated before the rooms do need a bit of an overhaul, having said that they are perfectly adequate and very clean. Lovely huge bed, toiletries, hairdryer and tea, coffee and biscuits. The reception staff are very friendly and efficient, as are the restaurant staff who have to work very hard as this is a very popular hotel. The breakfast is exceptionally good, so I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel for a stay in London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasGlenrothes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the to write a lovely review of the hotel .
I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Looking for a hotel convenient to the Barbican.Great location.Only a 10 minute walk to The Barbican and Old street tube.After reading previous Trip advisor comments we requested a room in the main building.Although the twin room was on the small size everything else was positive.The room was spotlessly clean, lovely bedlinen and comfortable beds.There was a ceiling fan...great.Tea and coffee facilities also in the room.What more could you want.We shall be returning !Well done Thistle Barbican.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Sandra

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us .
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here on a business trip where I had an event at the Barbican Centre - it was around 10mins walk from the Barbican which was ideal and was really easy to find!
The hotel is lovely and the free access to the pool, hot tub, steam room and sauna was much appreciated! The facilities are lovely and very well kept. The room was very nice, beds really comfortable and the room was a good size with everything that you could need. There was even a full sized ironing board and iron! The only slight issue I had was the room was a little on the hot side as it was a very sunny day and there was no aircon, apart from this I couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liverpool_89_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your lovely review on the hotel
I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us .
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion

Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Hotel was average but the pool and spa were revolting, dead skin floating in the pool, particles floating in the water and you could etch your name in the scum on the tiles around the pool, steam room stank of fish and clots of hair everywhere....place is a serious health hazard.and health inspectors should have a serious look around.
On top of this, from June 1st they will only give out 1 towel then charge £1.00 for an additional....seeing that you need the towel just to wipe the dirt in this place it seems a bit of a cheek.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERTA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Roberta
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotels leisure club..
I was very sorry to read your comments in regards to the cleanliness and will discuss your comments with the team responsible for the club.
We appreciate your feedback which we will act upon
Kind regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here last weekend when going to a concert at the Barbican. Hotel is situated approx 10 min walk from the venue, in a quiet area. However, there was enough bars and restaurants locally to make it a good location. Spa and Pool were average at best and with only 10 or so people in the pool, it seemed overcrowded. However, most staff were very helpful and the service in the bar area was excellent on the Sunday evening we were there. Initially they tried to give us a twin room, when we booked a double and the twin looked a bit shabby. After complaining they moved us to a double in the main building which was pretty good, though nothing special. Breakfeast was very good, with veggie options kept a distance away from the meat ones. Again service was good. Overall not a bad place to spend one or two nights, though place could do with a bit a spruce up.

Room Tip: try and get room in main building- Felt more secure and the rooms we saw in the ohter building looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NavidS269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Thistle City Barbican

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate the comments about our
team members.
The hotel is in a great location if you are visiting the Barbican Centre and there is plenty to do in the area.
We appreciate your feedback
Best Wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#451 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#306 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#667 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Property: Thistle City Barbican
Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #589 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing