We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRENDOUS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch
Ranked #586 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel is not just tired, you would need a general anaesthetic to feel at home. There was NO AIR CONDITIONING in mine or my friends rooms!!!!!! The only positive thing about my stay last night was leaving. I booked a room at just under £150 per night. When I arrived, the gentleman kindly offered with a smile and wink to upgrade me to a double bed no problem. The room (6th floor) was tired, I couldn't stand up in the shower. I had two large brown stains on my carpet. There were grubby marks in the shower. I fully intended on taking pictures to upload, however due to the worst nights sleep I've had in a long time in a room with no air conditioning in central London I didn't have the time or energy in the morning.
To make matters even worse (!!), in the morning when I went to check out I was charged over £180. The lovely gentleman that upgraded me had forgotten to tell me this was at a cost. The concierge misinformed us about places to eat / drink and the distances. The management team say that they "take feedback seriously". Really???? Where are the offers of compensation? I had NONE this morning when I complained in person, and I see NONE in the consistently negative very recent history here of reviews from dissatisfied customers. For a Thistle hotel, this is disgusting. If you actually do "take feedback seriously" please feel free to reply saying that you are actually going to DO something ....... ????

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank clarissa1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Clarissa
We appreciate all guest feedback and I am very pleased that my team have been able to
contact you and discuss your comments .

Kind regards

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,328 - 1,334 of 3,200 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Walking into the hotel it seemed promising - nice lobby, friendly staff, free wifi.

Walking to the room things got shabbier - lots of cosmetic damage to walls, doors, etc.

Room itself was tiny - 3 metres square including the bathroom. Very hot and no air con, just a window.

Hotel badly in need of a refurb, would have been ok at £30 a night, terrible at £150!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Lakes_guy_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was very disappointed to read that you did not feel your bed room was value for money , but
very pleased to read your positive comments in regards to the team and service we offer and
of course the free WIFI
Thank you for your feedback which we do appreciate
Best wishes

Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Absolutely diabolical , the rooms are substandard overpriced too hot and dirty !! If u ask for help it doesn't come , if u ask to leave feedback u are told the wrong thing !! I expect because staff know its crap !! ( on the left side) the older side should be shut down your false adverts and false prises lead to a customer expectation that is to high ! I expect ur only getting bookings in the left side because u have not been honest !!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Disgraced01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feed back and I am sorry that you felt mislead about our standard rooms ,
which are in our front building and are not air conditioned .
There is no excuse for the poor standard of the bath panel which has been affected by water ingress , as shown in the photographs and for this I do apologise .accept all guest feedback and our guest relations managers should always be available to talk to you or any member of the team should be ready to take feedback , I am disappointed we failed on this occasion . We would be happy to discuss further if you wish to contact us.
Kind regards
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight in early July. Wasn't sure what to make of the location as it is slightly off the beaten track in terms of restaurants and general nightlife -but found it to be a friendly and welcoming environment . Check in was good as was the menu and service on the bar and restaurant Decent value for London at this time of year too. Quiet location aids a restful night. I'll certainly keep it on mind in future.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank DSP1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for writing a review of the hotel .
I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us .
Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you on a future
occasion

Best wishes
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed due to in the area for work conference in the area. Very old and dull decor. In general staff were friendly apart from the one receptionist who felt the need to blame me when I complained about a cleaner walking in my room at 8 a.m as I did not put the do not disturb sign on the door. My colleagues staying here also experienced the same incident. Never have I experienced a cleaner entering an occupied room until after midday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay098377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Jay

Thank you for writing a review of the hotel .
I am very sorry that you were disturbed by housekeeping early in the morning and that our receptionist did not deal with your comments in a more sympathetic manner.
Our maids do start at 8am and they should be allocated rooms to clean where we know guests
have departed first and they then move on to others as the day progresses I am sorry that this did not happen and I will pass your feedback to the housekeeping team.
Thank you for your feedback
Best wishes

Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Old, tired and dated hotel with dull and gloomy surroundings and I would not want to spend any time in the room if I could avoid it. It was also significantly more expensive than other hotels I have stayed in when there and no justifiable reason for.

On a positive note, staff very friendly, air conditioning worked and reasonably central. I ate there once and it was ok, nothing to write home about. I would prefer not to return if I could avoid it!

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Trisha
Thank you for your review of the hotel .
I was very pleased that you found the staff to be friendly , that your air conditioning work and you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant .
I am disappointed though that you did not like the location of the hotel and found the décor dull.

We appreciate your feedback

Best wishes
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was delighted to see a Concept 2 rowing machine in the otium gym as not everywhere has one. However it is in severe need of maintenance. These machines have a lever that changes the drag factor (broadly the rate at which the fan slows down after each stroke changing the effort requried to re-accelerate). A sign of a poorly maintained machine is that the DF is low. Most skilled rowers use DF 120 (with the lever at 5) - this useless machine would not go above 80 even with the lever at 10 - the equivalent of going for a run on ice. This happens because the machine has not been cleaned.

I mentioned this to the Otium staff and they could not have been less interested. I then went for a swim thinking a sit in the hot spa would be nice - Out of Order!!. Particularly miffed as I am paying a lot extra for choosing a hotel with leaisure facilities. Thistle / Otium I expect better at £130 per night - especially as the room is boxy and overheated

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mark88man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Mark88man ,
Thank you for your review of the leisure club . I was very sorry to read your review , There is no
excuse for the poor standard of service you experienced from the team on duty or for key pieces of equipment not functioning and for this I do apologise . Please be assured that I have addressed the points you have raised with my team that manage the club . All of equipment in the gym is covered under a fully comprehensive maintenance contract so it should be regularly serviced .
We do appreciate your feedback which we will act upon .

Kind regards

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#303 of 1,077 in London
615 reviews
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#392 of 1,077 in London
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#737 of 1,077 in London
1,462 reviews
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #586 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £70 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing