We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch
Ranked #592 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I recently had to stay in London for work purposes and had an overnight stay at the Thistle. The location is fine, being 5 - 10 minutes walk from the Tube station. The rooms were clean but basic.

The reception staff were friendly and accommodating.

Fine for a quick overnight stop. No major gripes but nothing stand out.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear AJWM41

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel .

I was pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay over all and thank you for your positive
comments in regards to our reception team and the service you received .

I am sorry that breakfast service was not as smooth as expected .

We appreciate your feedback .

Best wishes

Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,284 - 1,290 of 3,151 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed one night on business. Location good and reception efficient and friendly. Found the room to be a bit tired looking. Bathroom in need of a make over; bed sheets were clearly freshly washed but there were signs of previous marks which hadn't been completely removed. Windows single glazed and so could hear conversations going on in the street loud and clear. Walls also very thin - if giggling girls next door hadn't shut up at 11pm I would have cheerfully brained them!

Breakfast was a bit chaotic. Was seated in an annex area as the restaurant was busy and had to ask twice for coffee which finally arrived when I was almost ready to depart.

Hotel was fine for price in central London but I wouldn't stay there for a treat.

Room Tip: Higher floors probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AJWM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel
I was pleased to see that you had a comfortable stay with us.
Thank you for your feedback which we do appreciate

Best wishes
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here overnight for business, during July heat wave!! No air on in room, we were offered an upgrade for an extra £20 each (and rooms were not cheap in the first place) decline this as the staff said we could have fans for free - so noisy I had to turn it off and leave window open. Room very cramped and dated, needed a good clean and a massive makeover. On the plus side.... I would give 5 stars for the breakfast, fantastic choice and really well cooked and presented. Staff also deserved 5 stars, so helpful, couldn't do enough to help, the concierge was fab. Really let down by shabby rooms.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Sarah

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel .
I was really pleased to read your comments about our breakfast and our team which is really appreciated and will be shared with them.
we appreciate your feedback and constructive comments .
Kind regards

Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Having read some of the reviews I was unsure what to expect ...and I was pleasantly surprised. I found the staff all most helpful and friendly both at reception and in the restaurant and my room was very large and clean - with air conditioning. admittedly furnishings are a little dated but it had a very comfortable bed and I had a good night sleep! I was disappointed to not have time to try the spa and pool facilities, but would definitely try to make time if I needed to stay in that area again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Alison

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel and its team .
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we will have the opportunity of
welcoming you back in the future
Thank you for your recommendation .

Best wishes

Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel is not just tired, you would need a general anaesthetic to feel at home. There was NO AIR CONDITIONING in mine or my friends rooms!!!!!! The only positive thing about my stay last night was leaving. I booked a room at just under £150 per night. When I arrived, the gentleman kindly offered with a smile and wink to upgrade me to a double bed no problem. The room (6th floor) was tired, I couldn't stand up in the shower. I had two large brown stains on my carpet. There were grubby marks in the shower. I fully intended on taking pictures to upload, however due to the worst nights sleep I've had in a long time in a room with no air conditioning in central London I didn't have the time or energy in the morning.
To make matters even worse (!!), in the morning when I went to check out I was charged over £180. The lovely gentleman that upgraded me had forgotten to tell me this was at a cost. The concierge misinformed us about places to eat / drink and the distances. The management team say that they "take feedback seriously". Really???? Where are the offers of compensation? I had NONE this morning when I complained in person, and I see NONE in the consistently negative very recent history here of reviews from dissatisfied customers. For a Thistle hotel, this is disgusting. If you actually do "take feedback seriously" please feel free to reply saying that you are actually going to DO something ....... ????

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank clarissa1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Clarissa
We appreciate all guest feedback and I am very pleased that my team have been able to
contact you and discuss your comments .

Kind regards

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Walking into the hotel it seemed promising - nice lobby, friendly staff, free wifi.

Walking to the room things got shabbier - lots of cosmetic damage to walls, doors, etc.

Room itself was tiny - 3 metres square including the bathroom. Very hot and no air con, just a window.

Hotel badly in need of a refurb, would have been ok at £30 a night, terrible at £150!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Lakes_guy_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Thistle City Barbican
I was very disappointed to read that you did not feel your bed room was value for money , but
very pleased to read your positive comments in regards to the team and service we offer and
of course the free WIFI
Thank you for your feedback which we do appreciate
Best wishes

Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Absolutely diabolical , the rooms are substandard overpriced too hot and dirty !! If u ask for help it doesn't come , if u ask to leave feedback u are told the wrong thing !! I expect because staff know its crap !! ( on the left side) the older side should be shut down your false adverts and false prises lead to a customer expectation that is to high ! I expect ur only getting bookings in the left side because u have not been honest !!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Disgraced01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feed back and I am sorry that you felt mislead about our standard rooms ,
which are in our front building and are not air conditioned .
There is no excuse for the poor standard of the bath panel which has been affected by water ingress , as shown in the photographs and for this I do apologise .accept all guest feedback and our guest relations managers should always be available to talk to you or any member of the team should be ready to take feedback , I am disappointed we failed on this occasion . We would be happy to discuss further if you wish to contact us.
Kind regards
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#299 of 1,076 in London
606 reviews
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#416 of 1,076 in London
680 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#802 of 1,076 in London
1,422 reviews
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #592 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £81 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing