We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite a four but better than a three”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican
Ranked #600 of 1,063 Hotels in London
manchester uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not quite a four but better than a three”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel as my husband had to go to London on business, so in a way it was a freebie. The hotel was a bit out of it,plus it was a twenty minutes a walk from the nearest underground station.The checking in was speedy and although we were early we were allocated a room. The room was of a good size and clean if not a bit shabby around the edges. The two nights we stayed there it was very humid but no A/C, we opened a window, so that was sorted. Not many channels on theTV, other than that not that much was wrong with the hotel if you were only there for a short time. Would I stay there again not sure but it wouldn't be a problem if I had too. The area were the hotel is was very residential.

Room Tip: Not sure about a good room. But one tip if you walked to the main road the 55bus takes you straight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ringtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Ringtons

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay .

I was pleased to read that we were able to accommodate your early arrival and that you had a comfortable stay with us .
We appreciate your feedback
best wishes

Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    902
    798
    445
    402
See reviews for
336
677
270
1,099
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The room was basic and clean, breakfast was a buffet eat as much as you like for £16'
I was £150 for a room, i only stayed one night.
The staff were pleasant,
The hotel was central and i suppose the price off the room is standard for London prices.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Jeanette

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay .

I was very pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay with us .

We appreciate your feedback

best wishes

Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

my husband and i booked a theatre break and hotel stay .The thistle hotel was so welcoming staff were really helpful and our room had everything you needed for a nights stay very clean and comfortable bed .Our breakfast on leaving was a lovely cooked or cold one lots of choice and plenty of fresh juices tea and coffee staff made us feel very welcomed and they were always attentive to your needs would recommend .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Debbie

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay .

I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion .
Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Didn't have a good check in experience as the receptionist couldn't find my booking but instead of speaking to me and explaining that there was a problem, they just spent 10 minutes clicking on a computer whilst ignoring me.

However what tainted my view of this hotel the most was the hotel bar. I ordered a decaf coffee and was given a small cup of hot water which had a coffee sachet plonked in it (the same ones they give you in your room) and was then charged £3 for it. Absolutely disgusting. Pull your socks up Thistle - either get the capability to cater for something that isn't a bog standard coffee, or reduce the price of the very poor offering you provide

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahLeeds026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Sarah

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay .

I can only apologise for the poor stand of service you received from the front desk and the bar.
On occasions we can experience problems with not finding a reservation however this should be dealt with in a professional manner and communication is key . Please be assured your experience will be addressed with the whole team .
We appreciate your feedback which we will act upon
Best wishes
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

have stayed at this hotel a few times on weekend trips from Manchester and have never been let down. the rooms in the main building are clean, well furnished and of decent size. on our last visit, which happened to be on the hotest w/e of the year, the air con unit was used thru out the stay, but was a bit noisy. the breakfast is the normal offered by any hotel and of good standard. one small gripe is that the serving spoons under the heated lights can get very hot to touch. the staff are very friendly and efficient and there is plenty of free w/e street parking very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMILEYONE120256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Smileyone

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay .
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us again .

We appreciate your feedback and have noted your comment about the serving spoons .

We look forward to welcoming you back

Best wishes

Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed in the hotel for a week while on a nearby training course.

Luckily I booked myself into the "Luxury" side, my colleagues booked themselves into the "poverty" side of the building, and their review is far worse than mine.

Immediately you are greeted by an impressive reception area, I arrived at about 9pm but was still greeted by multiple staff who admittedly tried a little too hard to "interact".

The room was very spacious, perhaps a little tired - there was evidence of wallpaper tears and carpet needed a freshen up, but overall not too shabby - I've had worse, put it that way.

The air con was a godsend, as temperature in the rest of the hotel was absolutely ridiculous.

The breakfast was pretty good, especially for vegetarians - lots of choice.

I used the gym and the pool/sauna on a few occasions and admittedly it is fairly well stocked for a hotel, also quite quiet considering the hotel apparently has the best part of 500 rooms.

The bar was pretty decent if not a little expensive, but that's to be expected.

The area? Yeah, not the best I admit - but you're only half a mile from Old Street and the Finance district, so in a way - it's swings and roundabouts.

Would stay again, though as I wouldn't be doing it on company expenses I probably couldn't afford to!

Room Tip: Pick a room with air-con, otherwise you will be boiled!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank algorithmandblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for writing a review of your recent stay

I was pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed the facilities .

we appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion

Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here three nights as part of a large group. London was extremely hot and there was no A/C. Requested a fan and it didn't work. Had to request another fan. Hotel is very warm in hallways and common areas. Dinner served to our group the first night was dried out chicken breast, green beans, potatoes with no seasoning, salad and water. They packed the chairs in side-by-side and their wasn't enough room to sit much less eat. Breakfast was cheese, ham lunch meat, fruit, cereal, milk, yogurt,prunes, tea, coffee, and OJ - it was OK. I would not stay here by choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UMTerpVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for writing a review of the hotel .
I am sorry that you felt that it was a poor introduction to London . During the last few weeks it has been exceptionally warm and unfortunately our standard accommodation is not air conditioned which does make the building seem a little warm . We do try our utmost to ventilates the building .
as part of the large Voyageurs educational tour that stays with us over the summer months the menu arrangements and dining options are chosen by them I am sorry that you did not enjoy your food .
Thank you for your feedback which we do appreciate and will act upon

Best wishes
Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#437 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#302 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#687 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Property: Thistle City Barbican
Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #600 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing