We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch
Ranked #592 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I was in building two 3rd floor. Could not open window. Carpet smelled like a wet dog. Room was not ready and room mate did not came back to finish cleaning. Wifi is working well staff at the main desk berry friendly

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank André L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Andre
Thank you for your review of your recent stay
I am sorry that your room was not fully serviced on arrival and that the maid did not return
Please accept my sincere apologies for this lapse in standards
Thank you for your feedback
Kind regards
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,270 - 1,276 of 3,158 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

What a let down. Before I go any further I would like to make it clear that I would have given this hotel a terrible rating if it were not for the attitude of the staff. They tried their best to deal with the numerous problems as best they could but whilst it is clear that Thistle have invested money in the people they have not invested as much in the fabric of the building and facilities. "Jane and the team" deserve a medal for remaining positive in what must be a rather depressing merry go round of disappointed customers. The problems.... The hotel is at least a 20min walk from any stations ( and I am a fast walker). The rooms are in a awful state... Cigarette burns on furniture, peeling paintwork, torn wallpaper, stained carpets, depressing faded pictures , almost unbearably hot ( and it was not a warm day). The Lino floor tile in my bathroom lifted and cut my toe on the first night..reported it to reception but when I returned at the end of the day it was not fixed, as it was dangerous I chased it up and some lovely black masking tape was applied all across the bathroom floor but better than another accident! I also found a long black hair wrapped round the tap on the first night when I was cleaning my teeth which was a bit off putting to say the least! The food in the restaurant was tasty and good value but took 45mins to arrive ( they did warn me when I ordered). I ordered a bottle of coke which I thought tasted a bit strange and flat ... Discovered it had gone out of date at the end of June. All in all quite an eventful two nights stay! In summary it appears from the reviews that staying here is a bit of a gamble with some rooms better than others. With twice as many people rating terrible compared to excellent I would book somewhere with better odds!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My partner & I stayed for 1 night to do some sightseeing in London. I looked at quite a few hotels online that were much more expensive and got poor reviews. Many of the negative reviews for this hotel seemed to relate to the rooms without air con so I booked a premium room & went for a king size. Our room was spacious and well equipped. We really appreciated having the air con. Staff were helpful & friendly. Location (a 5-10 min walk from Old St tube) was fine for our purposes. Breakfast was fairly busy, but we did not have to wait to be seated. There was a good hot & cold buffet. The bacon was overcooked & wilted from being under hot lights but generally everything else was good or acceptable. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with air con. You can pay a little (about £10) extra for a king premium if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for work. Rooms has no air con, which for a hotel like this is a bit backwards.

Breakfast was awful, got down there at 8 to find lots was sitting under heat lights and had dried out, to be honest I ate a small amount and didn't bother

Free wifi is a good bonus and the location is good being near a couple if tube stations.

Overall disappointing bit what I would expect from a London hotel catering for business users, will be advising company to look elsewhere

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keefb2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Reviewer
thank you for writing a review of your recent stay .

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with room , may I suggest that on a future
occasion a premium room is booked by your company which is air conditioned . Your description of breakfast is disappointing , as it is a very important meal and one we get a lot of positive reviews for .
It is good to hear that you appreciated the free WIFI and the hotels location .

Thank you for your feedback which we do appreciate

Best wishes

Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The staff were very welcoming and check in was prompt. After arriving it was nice to be able to use the gym/pool and relax. The shower in the room was great although it looked tired. My evening meal was good and room service was prompt (although it took about 5 attempts to get hold of someone to order). I had a desk but both of the chairs in the room were too low to work from the desk comfortably. Didn't seem very well thought out. The room was also desperately lacking AC and was a bit too warm.

I had to wait a few minutes to be seated at breakfast the next day as there was just one person welcoming guests. The food was nice though and there was a good selection.

So, overall it wasn't a bad stay. The use of the pool and gym was nice but there are just a few basic things that would need to have been better for me to rate this higher.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank your_average_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us .
I was pleased to read that overall you had a comfortable stay with us and was able to use
all the facilities .

We appreciate your feedback

best wishes
Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel as my husband had to go to London on business, so in a way it was a freebie. The hotel was a bit out of it,plus it was a twenty minutes a walk from the nearest underground station.The checking in was speedy and although we were early we were allocated a room. The room was of a good size and clean if not a bit shabby around the edges. The two nights we stayed there it was very humid but no A/C, we opened a window, so that was sorted. Not many channels on theTV, other than that not that much was wrong with the hotel if you were only there for a short time. Would I stay there again not sure but it wouldn't be a problem if I had too. The area were the hotel is was very residential.

Room Tip: Not sure about a good room. But one tip if you walked to the main road the 55bus takes you straight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ringtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Ringtons

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay .

I was pleased to read that we were able to accommodate your early arrival and that you had a comfortable stay with us .
We appreciate your feedback
best wishes

Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The room was basic and clean, breakfast was a buffet eat as much as you like for £16'
I was £150 for a room, i only stayed one night.
The staff were pleasant,
The hotel was central and i suppose the price off the room is standard for London prices.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Jeanette

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay .

I was very pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay with us .

We appreciate your feedback

best wishes

Jane and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#297 of 1,076 in London
606 reviews
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#411 of 1,076 in London
680 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#797 of 1,076 in London
1,427 reviews
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #592 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £80 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing