We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why London hotels? Why?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican
Ranked #589 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Why London hotels? Why?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in a few London hotels and they all have the well maintained receptions but once you've checked in and get to corridors and rooms it all goes downhill. Room was very basic - no more than a Travelodge or Premier Inn. No plugs near the bed and paper thin walls. Bath and sink ha separate hot and cold taps which meant juggling their flow to get a decent temperature. Poor maintenance of room.

Only saving grace was the food. The cheese and bacon burger was good although why serve the chips in a silly basket? The breakfast was better - huge pastries.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryMcCExe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    886
    782
    434
    396
See reviews for
323
668
267
1,075
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed here one night on a Saturday. Its in Clerkenwell EC1 which is a mainly commercial district with few residents so there's not much happening in the area at weekends. Having said that you are in central London rather than the suburbs and its only a few tube stops to the tourist attractions and the west end.
All the guests seemed to be tourists, both British and other nationalities. I suspect the clientele is mainly business during the week.
The hotel itself is in two parts. We were in the main part but there is also an annex. The room was clean and tidy but the decor and bathroom were a little tired. The bed was large and comfortable. There was no air conditioning but we were able to have the windows open without being disturbed and slept well.
The breakfast was very good. It was a self service buffet with fruit, cereals, cold meats and cheese, full English breakfast, pastries etc.
We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel so can't comment on the restaurant food.
All in all the hotel was good value for central London and is ideal if you want a reasonably priced, clean place to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clemenceau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I must say having read previous reviews was a little worried about staying here but on arrival found the staff at the check in pleasant and helpful the room was spacious and clean and the breakfast more than adequate the hotel is situated about a 10min walk from the nearest tube all in all had a good experience and had good value for my money

Room Tip: book a premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 02neil1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Pleasantly pleased with hotel foyer - that was it! Took half an hour to check in due to queues and slow systems - desk staff very nice.
Room was old and tired (1609) - no smoking room but with multiply cigarette burns in the net curtains!
Shower fixture not connected to wall so kept falling out of the bath.
Room service took an hour and a half after chasing it twice - was cold, no salt or mayo which I asked for and the steak fatty and greasy! But I did have a long black hair (not mine I have light hair)
3am hotel bins are emptied takes over half an hour of mechanical bin emptying noise accompanied by the vans very loud music - I am guessing then went into the hotel for a break/food as the music continued for what felt like an eternity.
Also 8am as I was getting changed a member of staff entered the room without knocking saying is everything okay - there is a room somewhere with a problem???
So all in all I am afraid - Not good!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 905Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b170utter, General Manager at Thistle City Barbican, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Rachael

thank you for writing review of your recent stay.
I was very sorry to read of the lapse in service that you experienced and for this I do apologise.

We appreciate your feedback which we will act upon

Best wishes

Jane and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Visited thehotel for 2 nights. Prompt check-in. We were in the "annex" which was very clean, but a little tired. Beds comfortable and all the staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful. The complementary WIFI was very quick. The only gripe was a bit of noise from other guests being dropped of in the early hours.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

First of all and most important: BEWARE: this hotel has two sections, one renovated and very nice, one not renovated and not so nice (cramped etc.). Be very sure which section you're getting if/when making a reservation...

I stayed at the nice section. :) The room was clean and fairly spacious, and I very much appreciated the effective air-conditioner unit, in the London August heat. (A colleague, however, had her A/C unit break and spray water all over the bed in the middle of the night, though!)

The breakfast is adequate, though rather short on fresh vegetables. The bar serves decent but unexceptional food with expected overpricing.

The location is an easy 7 minute walk from the Barbican Centre. Not quite near an underground (tube) station. It's a short walk to Whitecross street with a host of lovely and affordable restaurants and pubs.

Room Tip: make sure you get the renovated section!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genk, Belgium
Level Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

although it looked as if this hotel was far from St Pancrass (where we arrived with the Eurostar from Brussels) it took bus 214 (or 205) only about 15 minutes to come almost to the hotel; after that a walk of about 700 meters and there is the hotel.
We arrrived late Thursday evening and were tired but unfortunately the check in (for what reason ever) took too long. Let me check if the room is ready was I reply (it was 22.30 o'clock in the evening), the some more paperwork. For me it took a bit too long.
The room was good, clean (we had room 1529), nice view (certainly in the evening). The breakfast on Friday and Saturday morning (in this day untill 11 o'clock) was very good; good variation. On Sunday morning it was very crowded and we had to wait for some time. The someone asked us to come across the street to another building (of the same hotell) for breakfast; there it was not crowded at all.
Overall : a good stay for a good price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#444 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#305 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#666 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican

Property: Thistle City Barbican
Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #589 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle City Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing