We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont believe everything you read!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch
Ranked #581 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 15 June 2009

stayed here for one night 13th june. after reading these reviews before i left i was so close to sacrificing the £76 paid to last minute.com for their secret hotel and booking somewhere else. i am so glad i didnt !!we arrived after a day in london and checked in at 4pm , we were offered an upgrade for £10 but refused but were then given a free one which we accepted. our room was on the 5th floor and was excellent air con ,flat screen nice shower etc. after reading reviews i looked for faults and found a couple but they were so small i wont even mention them. decided to have a swim and this was excellent nice pool and facilities and not to crowded,a relaxing swim and sauna after a long day was just the ticket.
didnt have breakfast but found a wetherspoon pub 5mins away they always give good value.
my only fault with the hotel was its location. it really was in the middle of a council estate and 20 mins from a tube station . saw no trouble and never felt threatened we walked back from the tube at midnight and felt at ease, although i can see why some people questioned the area.
all in all we enjoyed our stay and although i would probably not stay here again ,the only reason would be its location and distance from tube and centre.
i certainly would recommend this to anyone . maybe i got lucky but you can only say what and how you see things

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davevics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,482 - 2,488 of 3,210 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2009

The hotel was the least to say, terrible.
The hotel had chipped walls and was not so clean overall.
The streets outside where dark and the area is the worst to stay around.
It seemed that the area was so dreadful that a man alone would rather not walk on his own. Very scary , dangerous - like area. Would never even pass outside again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Dont be decived by the done up reception area! We were placed in room in the far corner of the hotel! Damp ceilings in the corridors, old fashioned stuffy rooms! The shower trickles so you have to spend at least 30 mins to get a good wash! Awful office stile tile ceilings! A friend had stained sheets! The best thing about the rooms were the flat screen TV's which were oddly placed in each old fashioned room! The walls are paper thin and the rooms get extremely hot!

The hotel is located in the middle of council estates and is really quite far out and its a 20 min taxi drive to Oxford street depending on traffice.

Staff werent overly polite or helpful throughout or stay. The day manager was the most helpful of all after I had to make noise complaints on two evenings after being woken up at 1:30am on both nights from really noisy screaming guests in the room next to me! And prank calls from school children staying in the hotel!

The Breakfast wasnt great either! A bottle of water will cost you £2 from the bar!

Me and my friend we had a complimentry upgrade to a "Deluxe" room, the difference between the rooms was that we has air-con, no longer the gross office ceiling in our bedroom, decor was brighter and we got a few more inches on the flat screen tv!

In regards to the Swimming pool spa area- its only open to guests at certain hours many days of the week were closed for swimming lessons!

All in all very overpriced for what it is, and the experience has definetly put me off staying in a thistle hotel again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyjerseyloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

do not stay here, i awoke in the morning to find a mouse sitting on my clothes, I had to be moved to another room to get changed. The manager only offered me a 30% discount on the bill, this hotel is a joke.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetteD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

I originally phoned to check if the hotel could supply soya milk for breakfast and they said they could. I reminded them again when I checked in. When it came to breakfast they didn't have it, I was sat there for 15 min with my dry cereal waiting. Eventually, some arrived. (I think they must have got it from a local shop). I told them I'd be having breakfast the next day and guess what happens! No soya milk the next morning. Another 15 min waiting and then some soya milk. I really don't understand how it can be forgotten twice, especially as I spoke to the manager the first time. It's really hard having dietary requirements and experiences like this just spoil things. They didn't seem to care when I complained and just fobbed me off.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damontidbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Booked as secret hotel at aprox £70 per night
Dirty interior, set in the bronx!!!!

Rip off

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobSmithyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

I was booked here by a government agency organizing a committee meeting. I have long given up on Thistle Hotels when I am booking for myself. This rather reminded me of the reasons why. Actually, it was better kept than some and had really nice front desk staff. However, I did not appreciate being given a room on a non-smoking floor that smelt of stale cigarette smoke - it obviously hadn't been properly aired and freshened since the perpetrator left. The room was otherwise clean, although the bathroom toiletries hadn't been replaced - which was a nuisance because I was travelling light without my own shampoo, shower gel, etc. and the towels were threadbare. The room was also rather over-heated with no control other than opening the window and letting in external noise. I also broke Rule No.1 of staying in any hotel, which is never to rely upon them for a wake-up call. Mine never came but a colleague got his ten minutes early! I knew I should have packed my own alarm. As usual in the UK, the internet was a tip off at £15 GBP for 24 hours on top of the room charge. Breakfast could best be described as mediocre and chaotic and the porter disappeared at exactly the point where five of us needed a taxi. Fortunately, I have seen how it's done. .. This wasn't a truly bad hotel, but it won't bring me back to the Thistle chain any time soon.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Sherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#302 of 1,077 in London
616 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#387 of 1,077 in London
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
#710 of 1,077 in London
1,485 reviews
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch

Address: 120 Central Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1V 8DS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #581 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £67 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch 3*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance from Old Street and Barbican tube stations the Thistle City Barbican provides easy access to the whole of London and its many attractions. We have convenient transport links for King's Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail as well as St Pancras International station for Eurostar.Ideally located on the edge of the City of London, with the financial district just minutes away, we are also in a prime location for business travellers. Our dedicated conference facilities with 13 flexible meeting rooms will cater for business meetings, corporate special events, private dining and banquets for up to 170 delegates.Inclusive with your hotel booking you can enjoy the Otium Health & Leisure Club to work out, for a refreshing swim or simply relax and de-stress in the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam room. Whether you are here for business or leisure our Otium Health & Leisure Club has all you need to make your experience complete.Thistle City Barbican Hotel features 463 bedrooms including Standard, Deluxe and Family rooms as well as Suites. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms and public areas are equipped with Free BT Openzone Wi-Fi internet access. For guests travelling to the Hotel by car there are 10 car parking spaces available which are allocated on a first come first serve basis. Alternatively there is a NCP carpark within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle City Barbican, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle City Barbican London
Thistle City Barbican Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing