We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but brand new”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Ranked #390 of 1,069 Hotels in London
uxonion
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small but brand new”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This hotel is brand spanking new between Russell Square and Holborn tube stations.
Walk to Covent garden and Soho and west end shows. Right near the British Museum.
The room was new as I say. Small bedroom but great bathroom.
Comfy bed opening windows. Great Air Con.
No iron or minibar but biscuits with tea and coffee and mineral water in the room.
Breakfast is £17 but a good tip is to ask for a voucher.reduces to £12.50
If you can get a deal on this hotel go for it if not go to a real Hilton.

Room Tip: Get a high floor to avoid traffic noise although double glazing is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uxonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel located in close proximity to many of London’s greatest attractions.
We are sorry to hear you found the room small. All guest room should be equipped with an iron and board. We are sorry it was missing from your room. We offer minibars in Deluxe and Executive Rooms, both would also provide some extra space.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Sincerlely,
Sandro Guadagnini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    1,183
    585
    242
    126
See reviews for
594
1,121
138
743
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Brilliant stay ...staff were so helpful and let us book in early ...we were given a hot cookie straight out of the oven when we arrived,the room was spotless and the hotel lobby was lovley.the staff even phoned up to the room to ask if we found everything satisfactory ...100% we stay here again as in a good location and a short walk from some good attractions...cheerful happy friendly staff makes everyone happy welldone doubletree!!

Room Tip: if travelling by tube make sure you get off at Holburn and not Russell square as the lift and stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horspoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us here at the Doubletree by Hilton London – West End. It is fantastic to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that the team were welcoming and friendly.
We hope to welcome you back again to the hotel very soon.

Sincerely,
Sandro Guadagnini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

i arrived at the hotel to a very friendly receptionist. I had rang before making my booking to be told all rooms were kingsize beds but on check in was adcived this wasnt the case. I asked if any king size beds were available and was upgraded with no fuss. the room was lovely and big although the bathroom was a very tight squeeze, but lovely big bath.
The staff are all very polite, helpful & friendly.
amazing location and walked everywhere with only 5/10 mins walk from covent garden.

Room Tip: ask for a nice quiet room on the back on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelNewcastleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am very glad to read you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade and that the team provided you with excellent customer service.
We do hope to see you again next time you are in London.

Sincerely,
Sandro Guadagnini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellertown
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The location is great - close to the British museum and the tube....within walking distance of Covent Gardens and Leicester Square...lots of breakfast, lunch places and within walking distance of a couple of good restaurants. The hotel itself is okay - booked through priceline for a good price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel’s central location in the heart of London’s West End and we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Sincerely,
Sandro Guadagnini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I was lucky enough to stay at this hotel for the month of June 2012. I was disappointed in many respects with this hotel but satisfied with others....
Disappointment -
1) Every room I had (as well as the ones my 5 other travellers had) was that the rooms smelled of mold horribly. You can actually see things crusted up on bathroom airvents and AC units.
2) Most AC units did not work at all. perhaps that was a benefit as not to spread mold spores.
3) Most of the staff were exactly friendly - especially the front desk people who effectively tried to upsell you from a single room (the size of a closet in North America) to a double room which were almost twice the size of a USA closet. For 30 Pounds per night more.
4) When you highlighted the room smelled like mold effectively they smiled, tried to move you but couldn't really find a room to satisfy (perhaps that is because they don't have any rooms that are not invested)


The positives:
1) Good Location
2) Club lounge had OK breakfast and was available all day (not breakfast but at least drinks etc).
3) Club 92 sandwich was pretty good
4) Lobby was nice to sit and chat with others
5) 30 minutes (off hours) to/from heathrow in the cab

Overall - very expensive for what you get but that could just be the time of year or the pending Olympics.

I would suggest going tot he DoubleTree Tower Bridge instead.......much nicer, much newer, better hotel in all aspects except for it is a Tube ride to most locations rather than a walk.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YippieKiyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton London – West End.
While I am glad to read that you enjoyed our newly renovated lobby and central location, I am very sorry to hear that you had an issue with the air conditioning and smell in your room. I can assure you that we have an extensive cleaning and maintenance programme for all of our guest bedrooms and am very sorry you did not find yours up to our normally high standard.
If you would like to email the hotel administrator, Caitlin Klarenbach at c.klarenbach@dtlondonwestend.com with your room numbers and date of stay, she will be happy to investigate further and get back to you promptly.

Sincerely,
Sandro Guadagnini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights and it was the hottest hotel room I've ever stayed in. Even with the air con on full blast, day and night, it was like a sauna. It wasn't even blazing hot outside. They were 4 of the worst nights sleep I've ever had - the air con is like a jet engine in the room. Plus you have to then pay £1.95 for the bottle of water 'conveniently' left in your room which is also boiling hot because there's no fridge in the room. Please note there is a Tesco next door where you can buy chilled water for a third of the price. TV is average - limited channels. Water pressure on shower is very variable. Overall for the price you pay this hotel does not deliver - the reception and foyer are impressive but it's a wolf in sheeps clothing. I can't see how anyone can rate this hotel above average as other guests I spoke to also encountered similar problems.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zurichcarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that you did not have a great nights’ sleep during your stay.
I can assure you that if the team had known of these issues we would have done everything possible to either move you into another room or fix the air conditioning in your room immediately.
Once again thank you for your comments and I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon for a more successful stay soon.

Sincerely,
Sandro Guadagnini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My husband and I spent five nights at the Doubletree West End beginning June 15, 2012. Having visited London several times, we were familiar with standard accomodations. We were traveling with a group of 26, so we were very pleased with the efficiency of check-in. My husband asked if our room had been updated and it had been. Our room was small, but cool and clean. The breakfasts were great! Plenty of options and items refreshed regularly. The staff in the bar was patient with our orders as additional people joined our group. i would have to say that the entire staff was very accomodating to our needs. The location is perfect with easy access to buses, tube stations, restaurants, and the theater. We would recommend this hotel to others visiting London. In reading other reviews, I feel like I am reading about another hotel. Thank you, Double Tree, West End.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
It is lovely to hear you had such a great stay with us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton London – West End. I am especially pleased to hear that the team at check-in, breakfast, and the bar were very accommodating as this is something we strive for with each guest at the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you and your husband back to the hotel again soon for another successful stay.

Sincerely,
Sandro Guadagnini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Hilton London Kensington
#505 of 1,069 in London
4,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#85 of 1,069 in London
3,332 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#338 of 1,069 in London
4,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#273 Luxury Hotel in London
#319 Family Hotel in London
#323 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 237 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Premium Deluxe rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing