We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but stay spoiled for us by two issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Ranked #405 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The entrance and lobby were impressive, with a large, inviting seating area. We checked in quickly and easily and went up to our rooms to leave our bags before heading straight out to dinner a our train had been delayed by a couple of hours. The twin room was well decorated and a reasonable size for the two of us and the bathroom clean with a range of toiletries.
We had the breakfast buffet at the hotel both mornings and there was a good choice of the usual - cooked breakfast, pastries, fruit, cereal, etc with tea, coffee and juice brought to the table.
The downsides: the air conditioning didn't work, we couldn't turn it down below 19. We realised on the first night but it was late when we got in so thought we'd wait till morning to report it. The room was like an oven! We did report it the next morning, but came back that night to find that someone had gone into the room and simply turned it back on, and so had just heated the room back up to an oven again!! It was hard to sleep with the heat, and then I was also woken at one am by a loud humming noise - I spent twenty minutes trying to find the source of the noise flipping switches and pulling out plugs to no avail and was kept awake by it for over an hour till it eventually subsided.
I would have liked to give this hotel five stars for everything, but due to the heat issues and awful noise felt I had to give it three for the room, as what's the point of a lovely room if you can't sleep properly in it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fayNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton London – West End. I am pleased to read you enjoyed our newly renovated entrance and lobby area and that our buffet breakfast provided you with a variety of choices. I am very sorry to hear that the air conditioning in your room was not working.
If you do in the future have any trouble with your room, even at night, please do not hesitate to call reception and the team will be more than happy to assist you immediately.
We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Sincerely,
Sandro Guadagnini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,639 - 2,645 of 3,270 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

Upon entering the hotel I realised that a lot of effort was put into the design and alot spent in this hotel . The lobby was very impresive. We were allocated a small room next to a lift which within minutes we could hear the lift door open and close and hear whatever the people in the lift were saying. We complained and were given a room on the third floor - this time not close to the lift but a very small room with a very small double bed. We simply could not move around the room so for one of us to get to other side of room the other had to move into the bathroom. There was a small wardrobe which we could only open ajar as it hit against the bedside table. The concierge could not even speak good english and when one evening we asked him to let us know what there was on at the various theatres in London he looked at us and said " I do not know!!!!". I will definitely not recommend this hotel to couples as if they are offered a room like ours they will not get one good nights sleep.

Room Tip: I would not risk booking at this hotel as the two rooms we had were far too small for a couple. Only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josephinemata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our lobby and recent renovation of the hotel. However, I am sorry you were not happy with the size of your room. Due to the historic nature of the building, our room sizes do vary slightly. I am also sorry to hear our Concierge team were not helpful when you asked for recommendations. I can assure you this is most unusual, and will be passing on your comments to our Head Concierge to fully investigate and re-train where necessary.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,
Sandro Guadagnini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Our room in this hotel was really nice, the check in staff were good, the lounge was nice. Location of the hotel was very good and I would stay here again. However, twice I required assistance from the concierge desk. On the first occasion there was a long wait to leave our bags. On the second occasion after a few minutes waiting for someone I gave up and left.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton London – West End during your recent trip to London. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s central location and our Reception Team provided you with good customer service.
I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding our normally always manned Concierge desk for them to ensure there is someone ready and available to help our guests 24 hours a day.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon

Sincerely,
Sandro Guadagnini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This hotel is brand spanking new between Russell Square and Holborn tube stations.
Walk to Covent garden and Soho and west end shows. Right near the British Museum.
The room was new as I say. Small bedroom but great bathroom.
Comfy bed opening windows. Great Air Con.
No iron or minibar but biscuits with tea and coffee and mineral water in the room.
Breakfast is £17 but a good tip is to ask for a voucher.reduces to £12.50
If you can get a deal on this hotel go for it if not go to a real Hilton.

Room Tip: Get a high floor to avoid traffic noise although double glazing is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uxonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel located in close proximity to many of London’s greatest attractions.
We are sorry to hear you found the room small. All guest room should be equipped with an iron and board. We are sorry it was missing from your room. We offer minibars in Deluxe and Executive Rooms, both would also provide some extra space.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Sincerlely,
Sandro Guadagnini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Brilliant stay ...staff were so helpful and let us book in early ...we were given a hot cookie straight out of the oven when we arrived,the room was spotless and the hotel lobby was lovley.the staff even phoned up to the room to ask if we found everything satisfactory ...100% we stay here again as in a good location and a short walk from some good attractions...cheerful happy friendly staff makes everyone happy welldone doubletree!!

Room Tip: if travelling by tube make sure you get off at Holburn and not Russell square as the lift and stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank horspoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us here at the Doubletree by Hilton London – West End. It is fantastic to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that the team were welcoming and friendly.
We hope to welcome you back again to the hotel very soon.

Sincerely,
Sandro Guadagnini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

i arrived at the hotel to a very friendly receptionist. I had rang before making my booking to be told all rooms were kingsize beds but on check in was adcived this wasnt the case. I asked if any king size beds were available and was upgraded with no fuss. the room was lovely and big although the bathroom was a very tight squeeze, but lovely big bath.
The staff are all very polite, helpful & friendly.
amazing location and walked everywhere with only 5/10 mins walk from covent garden.

Room Tip: ask for a nice quiet room on the back on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelNewcastleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am very glad to read you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade and that the team provided you with excellent customer service.
We do hope to see you again next time you are in London.

Sincerely,
Sandro Guadagnini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The location is great - close to the British museum and the tube....within walking distance of Covent Gardens and Leicester Square...lots of breakfast, lunch places and within walking distance of a couple of good restaurants. The hotel itself is okay - booked through priceline for a good price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel’s central location in the heart of London’s West End and we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Sincerely,
Sandro Guadagnini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#339 of 1,077 in London
4,467 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#399 of 1,077 in London
2,213 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Hilton London Kensington
#506 of 1,077 in London
4,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End

Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#281 Luxury Hotel in London
#321 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £110 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 237 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Premium Deluxe rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing