We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good things and bad things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Ranked #386 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good things and bad things”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I stayed there for 4 nights on a business trip to London, I normally stay in the Holiday Inn up the road, but that was not available to me on this occasion, First impressions were good, however it appears that our corporate rate did not include Internet as it did up the road for which they wanted £15 a day (our booking system said it did) however after dismissing this as a joke ( I can get internet anywhere in Europe roaming via my mobile phone cheaper than that ) I checked out the more affordable options. There were around 4 BTOpenzone hotspots (which has a deal with many other networks )available from my room which are a fraction of the Hotel totally unrealistic price, and as I get access to those for free I was happier. (when are hotels in the UK going to realise that they could advertise Free internet and actually get more business? I'm always going to pick a hotel in preference to one that doesn't )
On arrival in the room, the phone was ringing, it was reception asking if I was happy with everything, as I hadn't even had the opportunity to put the card in the slot to turn the lights on I was a little unprepared to give a detailed response other that 'I think so' !
The bed was very comfortable, however the lack of any bedside power points meant I had to charge my phone on the other side of the room, and had to get out of bed to check time or answer texts etc, not good, and so simple to fix, even the hotels clock radio was on the other side of the room.
The bathroom appeared clean, however the large windowsill / shelf where all the soap etc was placed, was loose and not sealed in, there was an 8mm gap between it all the way around, and just looked a bit rubbish. The shower was an over the bath type of shower, however the water wasn't particularly powerful, and you had to angle the head to shoot the water out horizontally and stand in front of it, not really ideal, but at least you can get wet!
The first nights sleep was broken at Midnight when the fire alarms sounded for 30 seconds then stopped ... then started .... then stopped, finally after another 60 seconds sounded continuously, everyone started to migrate downstairs where no one seemed to be coordinating us, we stood in the foyer, then out the front, then in the foyer, and finally out the back of the hotel where we had to stand for 30 minutes, in all this time I heard not a peep from any of the hotel staff. On re-entering the hotel I was told I could not use the Lifts due to safety concerns, so after climbing 4 flights of stairs I was even more awake and out of breath ! (The lifts although are rated for 6 people would struggle to fit more than 4 )
The air conditioner also contributed to the insomnia due to making an annoying vibration sound for minutes at a time which would go quiet by tapping the side of it.
The following morning we received a note from the manager saying their 'state of the art' fir system had been triggered by a leaking water pipe in the conference room.... strange system.....
However, the best part of the stay I think was the breakfast, it was superb, and all of the breakfast staff were extremely friendly.
All in all, not bad, I would consider staying there again if I was prepared to take an extension lead and maybe some earmuffs .... (Joking)

Room Tip: Don't pay for the Hotel Internet, plently of cheaper options available via WIFI from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoosterMoike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and that you are considering returning to the hotel. I am very sorry about the disturbance at night due to the fire alarm. The safety and security of our guests and team members is of utmost importance to us and in the very rare occasion of a fire alarm we are obliged to evacuate the hotel. This is particularly stressful to guests and staff when this happens at night time. I note your comments that communication during the evacuation could have been better and we will reflect on these comments with a view to implement further improvement through training.
We will also be happy to offer all of our guest’s free wireless internet in all public areas in the next month. Once again thank you for your very valuable feedback and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon

Sincerely,
Sandro Guadagnini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    1,152
    569
    235
    122
See reviews for
566
1,080
134
729
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
288 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

Great location, but poor service from the off and tiny rooms. Would not stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slipshaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. If you would like to provide further detail as to why you were unhappy with your stay please email Caitlin Klarenbach at c.klarenbach@dtlondonwestend.com and she will be happy to investigate and get back to you promptly.

Sincerely,
Sandro Guadagnini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The entrance and lobby were impressive, with a large, inviting seating area. We checked in quickly and easily and went up to our rooms to leave our bags before heading straight out to dinner a our train had been delayed by a couple of hours. The twin room was well decorated and a reasonable size for the two of us and the bathroom clean with a range of toiletries.
We had the breakfast buffet at the hotel both mornings and there was a good choice of the usual - cooked breakfast, pastries, fruit, cereal, etc with tea, coffee and juice brought to the table.
The downsides: the air conditioning didn't work, we couldn't turn it down below 19. We realised on the first night but it was late when we got in so thought we'd wait till morning to report it. The room was like an oven! We did report it the next morning, but came back that night to find that someone had gone into the room and simply turned it back on, and so had just heated the room back up to an oven again!! It was hard to sleep with the heat, and then I was also woken at one am by a loud humming noise - I spent twenty minutes trying to find the source of the noise flipping switches and pulling out plugs to no avail and was kept awake by it for over an hour till it eventually subsided.
I would have liked to give this hotel five stars for everything, but due to the heat issues and awful noise felt I had to give it three for the room, as what's the point of a lovely room if you can't sleep properly in it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fayNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton London – West End. I am pleased to read you enjoyed our newly renovated entrance and lobby area and that our buffet breakfast provided you with a variety of choices. I am very sorry to hear that the air conditioning in your room was not working.
If you do in the future have any trouble with your room, even at night, please do not hesitate to call reception and the team will be more than happy to assist you immediately.
We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Sincerely,
Sandro Guadagnini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Julians
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Upon entering the hotel I realised that a lot of effort was put into the design and alot spent in this hotel . The lobby was very impresive. We were allocated a small room next to a lift which within minutes we could hear the lift door open and close and hear whatever the people in the lift were saying. We complained and were given a room on the third floor - this time not close to the lift but a very small room with a very small double bed. We simply could not move around the room so for one of us to get to other side of room the other had to move into the bathroom. There was a small wardrobe which we could only open ajar as it hit against the bedside table. The concierge could not even speak good english and when one evening we asked him to let us know what there was on at the various theatres in London he looked at us and said " I do not know!!!!". I will definitely not recommend this hotel to couples as if they are offered a room like ours they will not get one good nights sleep.

Room Tip: I would not risk booking at this hotel as the two rooms we had were far too small for a couple. Only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josephinemata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our lobby and recent renovation of the hotel. However, I am sorry you were not happy with the size of your room. Due to the historic nature of the building, our room sizes do vary slightly. I am also sorry to hear our Concierge team were not helpful when you asked for recommendations. I can assure you this is most unusual, and will be passing on your comments to our Head Concierge to fully investigate and re-train where necessary.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,
Sandro Guadagnini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
83 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Our room in this hotel was really nice, the check in staff were good, the lounge was nice. Location of the hotel was very good and I would stay here again. However, twice I required assistance from the concierge desk. On the first occasion there was a long wait to leave our bags. On the second occasion after a few minutes waiting for someone I gave up and left.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton London – West End during your recent trip to London. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s central location and our Reception Team provided you with good customer service.
I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding our normally always manned Concierge desk for them to ensure there is someone ready and available to help our guests 24 hours a day.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon

Sincerely,
Sandro Guadagnini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uxonion
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This hotel is brand spanking new between Russell Square and Holborn tube stations.
Walk to Covent garden and Soho and west end shows. Right near the British Museum.
The room was new as I say. Small bedroom but great bathroom.
Comfy bed opening windows. Great Air Con.
No iron or minibar but biscuits with tea and coffee and mineral water in the room.
Breakfast is £17 but a good tip is to ask for a voucher.reduces to £12.50
If you can get a deal on this hotel go for it if not go to a real Hilton.

Room Tip: Get a high floor to avoid traffic noise although double glazing is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uxonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel located in close proximity to many of London’s greatest attractions.
We are sorry to hear you found the room small. All guest room should be equipped with an iron and board. We are sorry it was missing from your room. We offer minibars in Deluxe and Executive Rooms, both would also provide some extra space.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Sincerlely,
Sandro Guadagnini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Brilliant stay ...staff were so helpful and let us book in early ...we were given a hot cookie straight out of the oven when we arrived,the room was spotless and the hotel lobby was lovley.the staff even phoned up to the room to ask if we found everything satisfactory ...100% we stay here again as in a good location and a short walk from some good attractions...cheerful happy friendly staff makes everyone happy welldone doubletree!!

Room Tip: if travelling by tube make sure you get off at Holburn and not Russell square as the lift and stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horspoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandro G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us here at the Doubletree by Hilton London – West End. It is fantastic to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that the team were welcoming and friendly.
We hope to welcome you back again to the hotel very soon.

Sincerely,
Sandro Guadagnini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#343 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,931 reviews
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#271 Luxury Hotel in London
#319 Family Hotel in London
#323 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 215 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing