We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Ranked #387 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Affordable and centrally located”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My only previous experience with Doubletree has been in the United States and not the best so I booked this property with trepidation. I was very pleasantly surprised. Great location near to Holborn Tube station and walking distance to several of my meetings. Nicely appointed rooms and good breakfast spread in the lower ground restaurant. All the staff were very pleasant except for one experience with the Concierge desk when I can only assume he was busy and/or having a bad day. Good to find another affordable and centrally located hotel option in London.

Room Tip: Rooms looking into the central "courtyard" experience no ambient street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review on your recent experience with us.

I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location convenient and our rooms comfortable. I was also delighted to hear that you liked our Wake Up DoubleTree breakfast buffet and that our team provided such a friendly service.
However, I am sorry that you experienced a less friendly attitude from one of our concierge, whom are usually very attentive and helpful. I have noted your comment and will be sure to address the matter to our Head Concierge to investigate and prevent any future occurrence.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again sometime soon!

Best Regards
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    945
    1,172
    582
    238
    123
See reviews for
579
1,106
137
738
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Thought that the lobby of this hotel would reflect the rooms on offer - how wrong you can be!. Room was tiny (we had asked for a king bed and got a double!). The sheets, while clean were ripped. The taps dripped. The air-conditioner did not work. There is no free access to the internet for guests - cost is 5 pounds per half an hour. We were on the 6th floor and it was quiet however, with the prices this hotel charges for a nights stay you would expect a little more. We have stayed at cheaper hotels and had better service and rooms than this hotel offers. Very disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elledee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel with the Tripadvisor Travel community.

Although I was glad to learn that our lobby area provided a welcoming impression, I was very sorry and concerned to hear of your disappointing experience.
We do strive to provide nothing but the highest standards in service and accommodation, and your comments have immediately been addressed to our Housekeeping and Engineering teams for them to investigate and action.

We do hope to have the opportunity of being your hosts again sometime soon, and to be able to provide you with our usual high level of service to restore your faith in us.

Kind Regards
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed at the DoubleTree Hilton London West End. The room was very small and opposite the life, so whenever the lift moved, the doors opened or people came out, it was very noisy. This, combined with a small-ish bed and hard pillows, did not give a good night's sleep. The internet was expensive and too slow even to call home via Skype.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking the time to also complete one of our on-line surveys on your recent experience with us.

I truly regret to learn that you didn't fully enjoy your stay at our hotel, as you were not satisfied with the size and quietness of your room and experienced some setbacks with our internet connection.
We have shared and addressed your comments to the relevant teams for resolution and our Hotel Administrator has contacted you privately to ensure that such matters are followed up and your faith in us is restored.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you on a new occasion, and to provide you with the level of service and accommodation that we are renowned for.

Best Regards
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
249 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed here for two nights on business. The lobby is amazing but check in was haphazard. Suffering the cookie ' thing' is always bizarre in Doubletree Hotels!

The public areas and my room was contemporary and nicely furnished. I was upgraded to a Deluxe room. I loved the cushions and the the bed, the curtains and the furnishings. However, the bathroom needed refurbishment badly or at least a deep clean. The tables in the room were dusty. The mineral water was very welcome though. My room was at the back but was a little noisy (as you'd expect with a city centre hotel) - it overlooks a block of social housing apartments. The early morning (05:00) glass recycling cart wasn't welcome!

I did use the sweet little gym. Its just enough and open 24 hours, which suits me.

Dinner was in the lobby bar / restaurant. The menu is very limited but the service good and the food okay.

The main problem I had was the heating! It didn't work on my first night and I reported it. On my second night it still wasn't working and the staff took the extras off my bill but what I wanted was heating. These sorts of things should be checked and not left to chance.

This could be a good hotel but lacks management. Right now, I wouldn't recommend it as there is a much choice in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments and for your time taken to review your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the setting and atmosphere of our hotel, the furnishing in your room, and our fitness centre facility.
However, I regret to learn that you were less satisfied with the condition of the bathroom and that you experienced some setbacks with noise early in the morning and with a defective heating unit. I have immediately shared your comments and addressed them to our engineering and housekeeping departments for them to resolve as appropriate. I would like to assure you that such situations are complete exceptions to our usual high standards and that every measure will be taken to prevent any future reoccurrence.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and to provide you with the level of service that we are renowned for.

Kind Regards
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Long weekend for half term. Clean large room even when sofa bed in use. 407. Looks over Southampton Row which is busy and a little noisy throughout most of the night. I always wonder why when preparing beds for 3 people they never then provide 3 cups 3 glasses etc. anyway request put that right thereafter. Equally no "do not disturb" sign! Orders wrong in bar but overall we'd return - particularly for the location. Holborn tube is 300 metres away and it's a straight journey on the Piccadilly line to the museums in South Kensington which we visited. Also theatres and china town all close by. Very good breakfasts with a special offer thankfully! (£19.50 otherwise!)

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I was very happy to hear that you overall had an enjoyable experience at our hotel, where you liked our central location and comfort of our rooms.
However, I am sorry to read that you found your room to be a little noisy as it was facing the busy Southampton Row and that the amenities placed in your room were too few. I have shared your comments with our Housekeeping team for them to check and ensure that they are always attentive preparing rooms as per our usual standards.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again sometime soon!

Best Regards
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seale, AL, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel has an excellent breakfast, wonderful amenities, and a great location for exploring central London. My boyfriend and I were here for a weekend, and we will definitely be staying here again when we are back in the city. The Junior Suites are excellent and perfect for two couples, or a group of friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Annie H. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked this hotel on a bed and breakfast basis about a week in advance and were not disappointed. The hotel is situated near the British Museum in Bloomsbury and within easy walking distance of Covent Garden, The West End and other major attractions so no need to catch the tube. There are loads of good restaurants near the hotel which are not as crowded as Covent Garden etc. We were offered an upgrade to an Executive Room and late check out on Sunday which we were glad that we accepted and the king sized bed was really nice and comfortable. The room was in a quiet location and with the air conditioning we heard nothing all night. The only slight criticism was the breakfast which was disappointing. We have lots of weekend breaks in equally busy hotels and the breakfast was very average . Having said that I would definitely stay at this hotel again if I can get the right deal - there are loads of cafes offering a nice breakfast near the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank sheppybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us.
It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your recent experience at our hotel, and that you liked our central location and the comfort and quietness of our rooms.
However, I regret to hear that you were not as satisfied with our breakfast buffet, and have brought your comments on board and shared them with our Breakfast team for them to ensure that such an essential service is always of the highest quality, as per our usual high standards.

We do hope to welcome you again sometime soon.

Best Regards
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Hilton London Kensington
#508 of 1,068 in London
4,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#338 of 1,068 in London
4,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#271 Luxury Hotel in London
#319 Family Hotel in London
#323 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 215 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing