We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warmed to this place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Ranked #379 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Warmed to this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Was slightly underwhelmed when first arrived, perhaps was in a bad mood and the guy on reception seemed a little brusque. However over the three days I warmed to it greatly every other staff person I met was charming, from the maid to the excellent lady in the restaurant/bar. Breakfast was really good, easy and relaxed (with warm plates unlike other places, and lots of newspapers!).
OK, it's expensive really, but I wasn't paying. Bed was comfortable and my room was really quiet!
Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyMillRuthMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End with us.

I am happy to read that you found the bed to be comfortable and the room to be quiet. I am also happy to see that you found breakfast to be really good and that you thought all members of the team were excellent. I will be sure to share your review with the team to keep up the good work.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back sometime soon.

Kind Regards
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    1,116
    553
    224
    117
See reviews for
538
1,046
132
705
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Perfect place to stay in London! It is close to Covent Garden and everything that you need. The staff are helpful and friendly and the room was amazing!
W had a glass of wine in the hotel before heading out for the night and the staff and bar area were lovely. We also left our bags for the day whilst we went shopping and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Hayley,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent stay with us.

It has been a pleasure being your host on this occasion and we are very much looking forward to welcome you back at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed 4 nights here as a Hilton gold card holder you usually get a good room but this wasn't the case this time room had a view to a brick wall and some other issues in the room , we were offered another room the next day but it wasn't worth packing everything up and moving and the maintainence people repaired the problems in the room , cleaner missed a few things a couple of times but our issues were sorted out by peter the manager
A good hotel in a great area , breakfast is excellent and the staff except one hopeless check in guy were good
Would recommend this one Even though I never got my hot cookies!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgregg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West- End.

I am glad to hear that you found the location of the hotel to be great and the breakfast to be excellent.
Please accept my sincere apologies for failing to deliver the Chocolate Chip Cookie. I will be sharing your feedback with the relevant head of departments to ensure standards are maintained at all times, especially at check in and the delivery of the world famous warm Chocolate Chip Cookie.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on a new occasion.

Best Regards
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We've stayed here once before and it's quite nice and well located - everything is in easy walking distance for the west end.

Both times we've stayed here we've been in rooms on the first floor, facing Southampton Row and though they are nice, they are noisy, you kind of expect this in London but I have since our first visit here stayed in other hotels where the soundproofing has been done more effectively (if you're wondering why we came back it was booked as a surprise for me). The curtains didn't seem to quite close properly either and there was a switch for blinds which didn't appear to do anything. I also find it quite ridiculous in this day and age that people are still charging exorbitant internet fees for access, wifi in my view should be free in most hotels these days and when you're paying over £200 a night for a room I certainly expect this to be thrown in.

In terms of cleanliness and presentation it's very nicely done and the bed was comfortable. Service was OK although I really did expect the porter/concierge to ask if we wanted to store our bags when we were waiting to check out rather than wandering off to be called back by the receptionist and it was me opening the door for other guests rather than the concierge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face Southampton Row if they have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

I was happy to hear that you were satisfied with cleanliness levels and that found your bedroom to be comfortable.
Bedrooms facing Southampton Row do experience higher noise levels than those situated at the back, however, please note that all bedrooms benefit from double-glazing. Please feel free to contact me directly on a new reservation and I will ensure that you are allocated a suitable quieter bedroom at the back of the hotel for your comfort.
In regards to the comments regarding to concierge, I have made sure to share your feedback with our Head Concierge, Victor, to ensure that such situation do not reoccur and training requirements are looked after if necessary.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on a new occasion

Best Regards
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and very happy with it. Will definitely come back again. Room and location is perfect. It located ard 5 minutes away from Holborn station which is very close to all the attractions.

There's tesco express just next to the hotel whereby u can get all the groceries u need. There's also plenty of restaurant nearby. Perfect location - u can find and get almost everything nearby. It's 15 min walk from the Euston station and if u need to get to St Pancreas it's around 12 pound by taxi.

Breakfast is good with plenty of choice.

Bad point is the reception service - something that need to improve, one of the worst for hilton standard, i try to choose hilton whenever possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnnss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

I was very glad to hear that you overall had a good stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End. I was happy to read that you benefited from the location of the hotel and that you found breakfast to be good.

I was concerned, however, to see that you were less satisfied with the service provided by our reception team. I have made sure to share your review with the Front of House Manager to ensure that the team are consistently proving the great service that we strive to provide to all of our valued guests.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End in the near future.

Best Regards,

Peadar McFaddDear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

I was very glad to hear that you overall had a good stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End. I was happy to read that you benefited from the location of the hotel and that you found breakfast to be good.

I was concerned, however, to see that you were less satisfied with the service provided by our reception team. I have made sure to share your review with the Front of House Manager to ensure that the team are consistently proving the great service that we strive to provide to all of our valued guests.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End in the near future.

Best Regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel is walkable from Euston,plenty of buses nearby, holborn tube is close, covent garden and soho are within easy walking distance, this place is not a bad choice for getting around London. Inside its quite comfy in the public areas and bar prices were not that much dearer than local hostelries, breakfast was pretty good but one morning the staff really struggled, everyone must have arrived together. Now for room! The smallest double we've ever had, the bed was against one wall so I had to slide off the bottom of the bed if my wife was in bed, there was nowhere near enough wardrobe space for more than a couple of days stay so its a good job we spent little time in there. But we had a rear facing fabulously quite room, very clean with the friendly maid doing a great job, and a really comfortable bed. I wouldn't want to pay full rate for this room, but we did enjoy our stay and the staff were a friendly, professional bunch. Not too bad at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet, larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noflyzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments and for your time taken to review your recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel, and that you liked our central location, our comfortable lobby and bar area and our Wake Up DoubleTree breakfast. I was also very glad to hear that our Housekeeping team provided such a professional service and that you found your room to be quiet and your bed comfortable. Due to the historical nature of our building, our rooms do vary in size and shape, and I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied by your room's size. Please contact us directly for any future booking and it will be our pleasure to ensure that a larger room is allocated on your next visit.

We do hope to welcome you again the next time that you are in London!

Kind Regards
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Nice and cosy ,i was attending a workshop within the hotel, so it was very convenient. The food was great rooms clean, staff very friendly and helpfull.

Location is in the middle of two tube stations so going around was very easy.

No free internet in room, only in lobby.

Helpful?
Thank hsam73
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#352 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,774 reviews
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#176 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,879 reviews
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#266 Luxury Hotel in London
#319 Family Hotel in London
#323 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 215 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing