We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Bloomsbury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Ranked #395 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is about five minutes' walk to Holborn tube station, and close to the British Museum, so it would be a good base for a city-centre holiday in London. I was attending a conference at the London School of Economics, about 15 minutes away, so the hotel was convenient. The room was small but well set out, and the bathroom was spacious by the standard of city-centre hotels. There was a small problem with a non-functioning room key when I arrived, but this was quickly sorted out, and the hotel gave me a complimentary breakfast and free wifi for the two nights I was staying to compensate me for the inconvenience. The breakfasts were high quality buffet-style, with good choice.

Room Tip: I had a quiet inside room. I suspect that the rooms overlooking Southampton Row (a busy thoroughfare...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceejayenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End.

We are delighted to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our breakfast.

We do hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,131)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,777 - 1,783 of 3,132 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

I recently visited London with my family for 5 days. This hotel was in a good location and the staff was generally very helpful, especially the concierge staff. Unfortunately our room had an A/C issue which wasn't resolved until our 3rd night in the room. When I requested some acknowledgement of this failure in the form of a credit to our bill, I received no response. I followed up with an e-mail and have received no response. They will not receive our business during future trips.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are happy to see that you are happy with the service provided from our staff. However, we are sorry to notice that you seem to have experienced issues with our heating/cooling system. We have immediately shared your feedback with the relevant department for them to investigate and resolve as appropriate.

Our guest comfort and satisfaction is our first priority and we would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in us. Please contact me directly to discuss it further and I can assure you of our best attention moving forward. My email address is p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com

Kind Regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Wonderful hotel, we had an appointment at great Ormond Street and it is perfectly located, we walked into Covent gardens and around also, which was lovely as the walk you felt safe and close. A brilliant hotel with fantastic staff, do not look further!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hull123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and have graded our services with such high scores. It is a real pleasure to learn that your experience with us was a success.

We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

If you choose Hilton to "get your points" -- you'll be putting up with a lot -- if you stay here. The lobby looks like one of the hotels in Reno, with purple discotech panels/inserts on the walls, and fake blown glass fixtures. The lobby carpet is filthy. My room had plastic/fake wood paneling and Ikea furniture. The light in the bathroom was hanging by it's wiring. The wash cloth was filthy/stained. My office is in the Holborn area, so it is convenient. If you need to be in the Holborn area, stay at the Rosewood around the corner. It's more expensive but worlds away. This hotel was about 25 pounds more than I paid the previous week for a top-notch boutique hotel in Mayfair district. That's the cost of being cheap. Is it worth it?

Room Tip: don't get a room here at all.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Max98116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your time to review your recent stay with us.

I regret to hear you are entirely dissatisfied with your recent stay at our hotel. Please contact me directly to discuss it further and I can assure you of our best attention moving forward. My email address is p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Staff and decor, very lovely.
Quality of food, extremely poor.
When spending £30 per person, you expect the food quality to look and taste of something better than what you could make at home. Sandwiches were sparse (one cucumber slice on dry bread with butter), and we ended up not eating them because they tasted days old. Same with the sweets, all looked a bit manky and old. Scones were okay, but honestly just felt like a waste of money. Would not eat there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeaHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback.

I am sorry to hear of your recent experience in our restaurant. Let us assure you that the situation witnessed are complete exceptions to our usual high standards. We would be very keen on making matters up to you and restoring your faith in us should you decide to return to the hotel.

Please contact me directly to further discuss you comments and we will ensure that every detail of your stay is given our best attention. Please email me directly under h.ewald@dtlondonwestend.com

Kind Regards,
Holger Ewald
F&B Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have stayed several times at this hotel and will not stay at any other Bloomsbury area hotel. Very pleasant, helpful staff, typically European smaller room that was very nice with everything one possibly needed, great chef, nice lobby and bar area, and a 5 minute walk from the British Museum and either Holhorn or Russell Square tube station. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank mlarksing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My Boyfriend and I visited for the weekend in November.
Location from Kings cross, shops, museums and attractions is perfect.
Warm cookie given to us on arrival at check in desk and shown to a small yet comfortable and nicely finished room.
Hotel stay was great - buffet breakfast nice and we ate in the restraunt one evening. Reasonably priced and amazing food (especially salmon fishcakes).
When we return to London, we will most definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#331 of 1,072 in London
4,186 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End

Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#278 Luxury Hotel in London
#319 Family Hotel in London
#323 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £137 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 237 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Premium Deluxe rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing