We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time is a Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Ranked #406 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 9 May 2014

On 16 Dec 2013 I submitted a review of the DoubleTree West End that was not good. In response to my review I received an e-mail from the Manager asking if I would give the hotel a second chance. I did and the level of service was a genuine step up from my previous stay.

I brought my family for a visit to London between Christmas and The New Year. We booked and stayed in one of the apartments on the top floor, which was perfect for the family.

The service was attentive and I received an apology for the problems I had on my previous stay. My family and I had a wonderful time and enjoyed our stay very much. I would recommend the DoubleTree West End for its location, comfort, cleanliness, and the staff. They changed my mind.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

We are delighted that you gave us a second chance and to learn that your experience with us was a success. Nonetheless, as we warmly welcome your opinion, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you wish to share any further details on this or any other subject.

We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,898 - 1,904 of 3,266 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at doubletree during may bank holiday. Excellent location, close to tube, nice places to eat breakfast, small but does the job fitness room..Although the room looks small, its comfortable enough for 2 adults and 2 children.excellent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank shneesht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and have graded our services with such high scores. It is a real pleasure to learn that your experience with us was a success.

We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Yours Sincerely,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Nice hotel, friendly staff and clean rooms. However, the noise from outside was terrible as it is on one of the busiest roads in the city and the windows do not block any of this. Barely slept because of this. It was a warm day but the climate control in the room would not let me take the temperature below 19oC and the windows didn't open. Issues on check in but I think this was due to complex arrangements. Internet cost £15 but was very weak and support service uncontactable. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are happy to see that you are satisfied with our team and the breakfast experience. However, we are sorry to notice that you seem to have experienced discomfort around the noise from the street and that you had issues with our air conditioning system. We have immediately shared your feedback with the relevant department for them to investigate and resolve as appropriate.
We have recently surveyed and replaced all of our secondary glazing where required, however, with London being a very dynamic city, noise from the street is sometimes hard to bypass. We will be sure that your next stay is a most comfortable one and that such annoyance is prevented. We will endeavour to allocate you to a quiet room during your next visit.
We are currently upgrading our Wi-Fi facility in order to increase the capacity and make it more user friendly for our guests. I realise that this is a very important facility to many Guests and we aim to offer a high standard of Wi-Fi through-out the Hotel. We also offer complimentary access to all Guests in our public areas and complimentary access as a benefit to all Hilton Honours Gold and Diamond members.

We do hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The doubletree Hilton has exceeded my expectations.

I didn't expect a jammed switch, which meant a bedroom light stayed permanently on.

I didn't expect that to remain unfixed 24 hours after it was reported.

I didn't expect to have to unscrew a lightbulb at night.

I didn't expect curtain tracks 2" narrower than the window, so the light floods in round the edges.

I didn't expect gooey stains on the carpet.

Or scratched brown furniture I've previously associated with student halls.

Or four days internet costing more than four months at home.

Still, they gave me a cookie. Which makes them better than a travellodge. Right?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Motorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Firstly allow us to apologize profusely on failing to meet your expectations on this occasion. I would like to assure you that the situation encountered is a complete exception to our usual high standards and that every measure will be taken to prevent a re-occurrence.

Our Guest comfort and satisfaction is our first priority and we would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in us. Please contact me directly if you wish to discuss these matters further and for arranging a new booking, where I will ensure that every detail is given the best attention. My email address is p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed at the Double Tree Southampton Row in London for one night and although the room was quite large, it was very noisy. It was right on the road at street level and opposite a children's playground. Also, it was adjacent to the hotel's delivery room hence vans kept pulling up outside and banging around. At 5am the dustcart pulled up outside my room and crash around for 30 mins. All in all not a good room - and this was meant to be an executive room, really not impressed. Have stayed in over 10 hotels this year, many of them Hilton group, this is by far the worst stay I've had.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We were very sorry to hear that you encountered some noise disturbance during your stay in your room. We have recently surveyed and replaced all of our secondary glazing where required, however, with London being a very dynamic city, noise from the street is sometimes hard to bypass. We will be sure that your next stay is a most comfortable one and that such annoyance is prevented. We have left an internal note to ensure that you are offered a quieter room on your next stay with us.

We do hope to have the pleasure of being your host on a new occasion, and to provide you with the level of service that you are accustomed to.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I got a room here from one of those sites where you select the location and star rating and they select the mystery hotel. When I got this four star hotel, with all the great reviews on Tripadvisor, I thought I was in for a treat. Well, it was all fine, a basically forgettable corporate hotel, but the size of the single room - that was memorable - so small, absolutely tiny. The bathroom was nearly as large as the actual room - no exaggeration. Could not have been more that ten feet wide. At checkout I asked if my room was the usual size for a single, thinking they stuck me in the worst room due to my very low rate, but I was assured that its the usual size. Other than that, the location is great (one of my favorite areas in London), but the room - geez, so very teeny tiny.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mow_joe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

Firstly allow us to apologize profusely on failing to meet your expectations on this occasion. We were very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the size of room allocated. Due to the historical nature of our traditional London building, our rooms do vary in size. We will endeavour to allocate you a larger room on your next stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future where we will look after your every need.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is about five minutes' walk to Holborn tube station, and close to the British Museum, so it would be a good base for a city-centre holiday in London. I was attending a conference at the London School of Economics, about 15 minutes away, so the hotel was convenient. The room was small but well set out, and the bathroom was spacious by the standard of city-centre hotels. There was a small problem with a non-functioning room key when I arrived, but this was quickly sorted out, and the hotel gave me a complimentary breakfast and free wifi for the two nights I was staying to compensate me for the inconvenience. The breakfasts were high quality buffet-style, with good choice.

Room Tip: I had a quiet inside room. I suspect that the rooms overlooking Southampton Row (a busy thoroughfare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceejayenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - West End.

We are delighted to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our breakfast.

We do hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#339 of 1,076 in London
4,455 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#397 of 1,076 in London
2,211 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Hilton London Kensington
#507 of 1,076 in London
4,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End

Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#283 Luxury Hotel in London
#321 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £113 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 237 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Premium Deluxe rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing