We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cleanliness of the room let the hotel down...but would still recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Ranked #387 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cleanliness of the room let the hotel down...but would still recommend”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had 4 days at the Hilton DoubleTree West End in May 2014 with our two children, 14 and 9. Lots of positives - location is good for the British Museum and Covent Garden especially, and there is a Tour Bus stop virtually outside of the hotel's front door; staff were all very professional and helpful; breakfast choice and quality was good and the breakfast staff were especially helpful and pleasant; the bar area was a nice place to end the day (although they did have football on the big screens one evening - which was a negative for me, but may be a positive for others..). The one thing that let the hotel down for us was the cleanliness of the kitchen area and the bathroom in the apartment we stayed in. There was gunk around the back of the handles of the kitchen cupboards, I wouldn't have wanted to cook in the microwave, the area around the bath/shower shield wasn't clean and there black mould spores around the rim of the bath. I raised this with reception in the evening, but by then the hotel was fully booked, so they weren't able to move us. I would recommend the hotel, but would suggest for those travelling as a family, you book a 2 bed apartment, not the one bedroom apartment, which is crowded when the sofa bed is up. I would also suggest you check the bathroom/kitchen the moment you walk in to the room and ask for a change of room earlier in the day than we did.

Room Tip: If you are booking an apartment as a family I suggest the two bedroom apartment, as the one bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettsyLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are happy to see that you generally enjoyed your stay with us. However, we are very sorry to notice that you seemed to have experienced issues with cleanliness. Rest assured that we have immediately shared your review with our Housekeeping team for them to ensure that the highest standards are always met.

We would also be very keen on making matters up to you and restoring your faith in us. As we warmly welcome your opinion to constantly improve our services and accommodation, please do not hesitate to contact me if you wish to share any further comments regarding your stay and how we could have exceeded your expectations.

We do hope to have the opportunity to improve your impressions and welcome you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    1,154
    570
    235
    121
See reviews for
567
1,081
134
730
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The rooms are small but comfortable. I think that considering the price of the room, free WiFi should have been available, as it is available in most hostels around the country and a lot of much cheaper hotels. A small extra like that would really make a difference

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

Please note due to the historical nature of our traditional London building, our rooms do vary in size. We will endeavour to allocate you a larger room on your next stay with us.
We are currently upgrading our Wi-Fi facility in order to increase the capacity and make it more user friendly for our guests. I realise that this is a very important facility to many Guests and we aim to offer a high standard of Wi-Fi through-out the Hotel. We also offer complimentary access to all Guests in our public areas and complimentary access as a benefit to all Hilton Honours Gold and Diamond members.

We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A very clean and comfortable hotel in a convenient position for those wishing to explore London. A popular buzzing business hotel it would seem, but this didn't detract from us leisure visitors. Rooms very clean, well furnished and comfortable with lots of useful additions. Take a few extra tea bags with you though. Definitely would go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank dellwob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great location, close to two tube stations, walkable to Coventry garden and British museum, across road from Russell Suarez, Bloomsbury gardens both lovely in the sun as I found out. Rooms a bit small, but clean and had everything we needed.
Staff lovely, helpful without being in your face.
Decided to eat here before theatre, my risotto was one of the best I've ever tasted, husband's sea bass, we nearly fought over who was to finish it. Really nice and blonde waitress Sandra, helped as I have to eat gluten free.
Will definitely return when next in London

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianephuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a real pleasure to learn that your experience with us was a success and you enjoyed your meals. We will share your feedback with our team on their great work.

We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

our family ,friends stayed here in March, and May, great hotel, staff were very friendly, food, was excellent, Great place to be,as lots to see and do. we were all very pleased with everyone at the hotel, looking forward to going again, I have read some of the reports, but reception were great, and gave us loads of tips advise, thanks Doubletree Hotel.

Room Tip: call ahead, they will help, if they can,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moyock, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

In staying at this hotel, you are paying for the location. It was a few minutes walk from the British museum and the Holborn underground stop. The room was small which was fine because we didn't stay in the room much but what bothered me was the layout of my room. It was terrible. The door opens to you running into a desk which meant you had squeeze your luggage against you to fit through the door and then push your luggage into the bathroom to the right in order to shut the door. The bed was on the other side of the door. Also, have fun if you have multiple people coming in and out of your room. If you were the second person to leave, you had to close the door a bit to fit in between the desk and the door and then open it to exit FOR EACH PERSON. (I wonder about fire regulations? I wish I had taken a picture.) The half open/half glass shower was a terrible idea. I tried really hard not to get any water onto the floor, but to no avail, every morning, I seemed to get water all over the toilet/floor. The TV didn't get good reception at times especially BBC one. (I wanted to watch top gear!) At night, the rooms would get very warm regardless of having the thermostat set to 19 degrees C. The only other good thing I can say about the hotel other than the location is that the room seemed clean. The stuff I mentioned weren't deal-breakers, just annoyances that I overlooked because of the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nmostoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

Please note due to the historical nature of our traditional London building, our rooms do vary in size and layout. We will endeavour to allocate you a larger room on your next stay with us.
We have already shared your comments with our Maintenance team for them to resolve issues you encountered with the heating/cooling system and the shower screen.

Please note we are currently replacing our TVs to have better reception and more channels.

However, as we warmly welcome your opinion to constantly improve our services and accommodation; please do not hesitate to also contact me if you wish to share any further comments regarding your stay and how we could have exceeded your expectations.

We do hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Booked a single room due to the fact that this hotel was hosting an participating event in the same hotel. Arriving at the room I found out that you need to pay almost EURO 250,= per night for a room with the size of a closet. Expressed my disappontment at the reception, an solution has been offered in a very friendly and professional way. In the new room, the window view was blocked by a huge Airco unit and electronic blinds were not working.
Breakfast and lunch were good. Not too much choise at the buffet, but the quality was good. Staff is professional, friendly and customer orientated.
The location of the hotel is excellent but (too) expensive. Downtown Londen!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are happy to see that you have generally enjoyed your stay with us and are satisfied with our team's performance. It is our pleasure to hear you enjoyed your meals.

Nonetheless, as we warmly welcome your opinion, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you wish to share any further details on this or any other subject.

We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#336 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,940 reviews
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#270 Luxury Hotel in London
#319 Family Hotel in London
#323 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 215 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing