We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As Good As Other Doubltree's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Ranked #401 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed in the one bedroom apt
I will start with the positive:
Staff very responsive to all complaints. Fabulous staff, great location
But, it would have been better if there were none
1. Not a one bedroom apt. It is ONE BEDROOM LOFT
2. Hotel size refrig, microwave. 2 bowels a few cups two of each silverware
3. No dish liquid. basically a hotel room with a microwave, not an apt as one would expect.
4. Itty bitty staircase to loft. No way to carry a suitcase up. When I hear apt, I expect a bedroom with a door that closes. Cooking availability and things that you would need to do that.
Pull out sofa full of springs. They refused to give a roll away bed.
My problem is now I am at the Doubletree in Amsterdam and it is so much better it makes the London look like a dump. APT over priced for a one bedroom loft
5. Patio == Nice touch-- Not a single chair or table out there.
P.S Do not expect the apartment to be anything like what your would hope for in an Apt. Try something else.

Room Tip: This is not an apartment by no means, it is a one bedroom loft at best. A hotel room with a loft, Ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Attorneykid2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with the overall accommodation and service provided. I will be contacting you directly to discuss it further and I can assure you of our best attention moving forward.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,771 - 1,777 of 3,168 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We generally love this hotel. We've been staying here almost 20 years through various owner ships. The one thing that has been consistent is how INconsistent the bar hours are. Tonight the bar was scheduled to close at midnight. At 11:10 we were unable to get a draft beer because they were "cleaning the lines." If this were the first time the bar closed an hour before closing I'd have given them a pass but this happens time and time again. Not the level of service advertised!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London-West End.

We are very sorry about the incident that occurred during your stay where you were unable to get your drinks. Let us assure you that the situation witnessed is a complete exception to our usual high standards and this information has been used by our Food and Beverage team to establish better processes.

Our guest comfort and satisfaction is our first priority and we would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in us. Please contact me directly on p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com to address this issue and I can assure you of our best attention moving forward.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here for a weekend and was very impressed. We required a up grade because our son came with us, no problem. Needed a early book in to change again no problem. The hotel bar was so good that friends that we met came back to the Doubletree after the wedding we were attending.
The rooms were large, all the latest mod cons.
The breakfast was self service with plenty of options hot or cold.
Overall we did not have any complaints.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

You can find cheaper hotels in London, but they're likely to be smaller, older, and less well-maintained. You can find nicer hotels, but you'll pay even more. This hotel offers a reasonable trade-off of price and quality, in an excellent location.

My room had a double bed, with enough room to move around all sides, and pass between the bed and the desk. I was there alone; it might have been snug for two people and their luggage. The room was at the back, and therefore overlooked the backs of other buildings, but it was quiet.

One negative during my stay was the fire alarm that went off at 1:30 one morning. The management posted signs in the lift explaining that someone had been smoking in a restricted area; the breakfast hostess also apologized for the disturbance.

The wifi is ridiculously expensive. Look for a rate that includes wifi. (I managed to wangle free wifi, but that won't work for everybody.)

If you need laundry done during your stay, there is a wash-and-fold/dry-cleaning place called Launda Vista, two blocks away on Boswell Street, which is about half the price of the hotel laundry service. If you can't pick up your laundry, give your ticket to the hotel concierge, and they'll put it in your room.

Room Tip: Upper floor towards the back, away from Southampton Row.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janetpianet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

Firstly allow us to profusely apologise for the disturbance caused by the fire alarm. The DoubleTree by Hilton London-West End is equipped with state of the art fire detection for your safety. Fortunately we could establish immediately after the alarm that there was no risk to any person in the building and the alarm was silenced with information posted for re-assurance.

We are currently upgrading our Wi-Fi facility in order to increase the capacity and make it more user friendly for our guests. I realise that this is a very important facility to many Guests and we aim to offer a high standard of Wi-Fi through-out the Hotel. We also offer complimentary access to all Guests in our public areas and complimentary access as a benefit to all Hilton Honours Gold and Diamond members.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed one night at the end of May. We booked a family room for two adults and one child. We did ask if an early check in was possible as we were bringing a child from hospital and would have liked to check in early. They said they would check it out but it was not available so we had a light meal in the bar - which took 40 minutes to be served. When we reached the family room it was on the fifth floor and tiny. There was a small double bed and an extremely uncomfortable bed/settee. There was very little floor space and with three suitcases it was a tight squeeze. I knew this hotel when it was The Bonnington and it had a touch of faded splendour about it. That has all gone but I don't think it has achieved the uniform reliability that one expects from a Hilton. On the bright side it was clean, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was excellent - but I don't think we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Check out the sizes of the family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpainIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London-West End.

We are sorry to hear that you you had to wait a long time for your meal to be served. Rest assurred we have addressed this issue to the relevant department to make sure that we always deliver the highest standards.

Please note due to the historical nature of our traditional London building, our rooms do vary in size. We will endeavour to allocate you a larger room on your next stay with us.

We would be very keen on making matters up to you and restoring your faith in us. As we warmly welcome your opinion to constantly improve our services and accommodation, please do not hesitate to contact me if you wish to share any further comments regarding your stay and how we could have exceeded your expectations. Please contact me directly on p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com. I will certainly ensure that your future stay is given the very best attention.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Good location, handy for the Tube and all the main attractions are within easy reach. Plenty of places to eat nearby, make this an excellent base for any trip to London. Rooms are a good size, clean and stylish. Staff are attentive but not in your face. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

booked this hotel as it was very handy for walking to lots of sightseeing places as well as bars and restauraunts. Initially booked a basic room but upgraded on arrival to a more spacious deluxe room. The room had a couple of teething problems which were dealt with promptly and pleasantly by the reception staff

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London-West End.

We are delighted to read that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and have graded us well. We do warmly welcome your opinion for our improvement, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you wish to share any further comments and suggestions on how we could have exceeded your expectations.

We do hope to welcome you again at the hotel sometime soon.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#332 of 1,076 in London
4,265 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End

Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#277 Luxury Hotel in London
#319 Family Hotel in London
#323 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £123 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 237 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Premium Deluxe rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing