We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did exactly what we needed it to.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Ranked #382 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Did exactly what we needed it to.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked this hotel wanting somewhere that was affordable and in a good location whilst offering a clean and comfortable environment.

I was pleasantly surprised to receive a warm cookie on arrival - nice touch.

The rooms are a little smaller than we would have liked (2 guys sharing) but to be fair we had booked this with the intention of simply using it as a base. The location is perfect, within 10 minutes walk of most things - failing that Holburn is 5 minutes away.

The rooms although slightly small (but nothing out of the ordinary) are perfectly well appointed for the weekend visitor and I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njsaunders27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, it is a real pleasure to learn that your experience with us was a success.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    932
    1,160
    572
    237
    122
See reviews for
572
1,090
135
732
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rutland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Have stayed in Doubletrees at the Tower, Hyde Park and Westminster and this one is way off the pace.
No recognition of Hilton status, tiny room with poor TV , unfriendly staff with poor English. Claustrophobic lifts.
Not really centrally in the "West End" so the name is a bit misleading to those who may not know London.
Breakfast was good and contrary to other reports the room quiet, unfortunately I cant think of any other positives.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay at the The DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

We are very sorry to hear that you didn't entirely enjoy your stay with us and that your experience at our hotel was not up to your expectation. Rest assurred we have immidiately shared your comments with our Team to ensure that our highest standards are always looked after.

Please feel free to contact me directly on p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com should you wish to share any further comments and suggestions for our improvement.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I picked this particular hotel as I normally book a Hilton, the location looked good for what I needed and the price for an upgraded room was quite reasonable. We got a train to London for parking reasons, and the hotel was only a few mins in a cab or approx 15 mins walk. We decided to walk as we were sick of been sat down after the train journey. Had it been raining we maybe wouldnt have been so adventurous. On arrival, staff were efficient, check in was painless and we soon were in our room. The room was one of the better Hilton's I have stayed in, good layout and spacious for a central London hotel. The breakfast was really good- everything you could ever need, never crowded and always plenty of food. The location is fantastic if you like a bit of a walk- you can have a gentle stroll to Covent Garden, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, pretty much wherever you want. Tube station was very close for those who dont like a walk. Concierge service were more than helpful with getting us cabs etc, couldn't fault the place.

Room Tip: We had paid extra for an upgraded room and was very pleased with paying the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton London West End and for taking the time to provide us with such a positive feedback.

We are thrilled to read that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay in London.

We do hope to welcome you again at the hotel sometime soon.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Business traveller. Location is great, however it significantly impacts prices . WiFi in rooms could be free. Rooms and services are good, personnel is extremely nice. Overall impression is good. (This is to satisfy "200 symbols" requirement)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Viacheslav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay overall with us, however we are sorry to hear that you are not entirely satisfied with our WiFi facility. We are currently upgrading our Wi-Fi facility in order to increase the capacity and make it more user friendly for our guests. I realise that this is a very important facility to many Guests and we aim to offer a high standard of Wi-Fi through-out the Hotel. We also offer complimentary access to all Guests in our public areas and complimentary access as a benefit to all Hilton Honours Gold and Diamond members.

Thank you very much for choosing the Doubletree by Hilton London West End and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I am a business traveler and have stayed in a lot of Hilton-brand hotels, but I have never, in all my travels, seen (or even heard of) a room as small as the one I was assigned at the Doubletree London West End. I made the mistake of reserving a "single" room, never dreaming that the room would be that small. The bed was the size of a cot, and the room was not much bigger than the cot itself. Not enough room to even open my suitcase. I'm amazed that the Hilton corporate headquarters would permit rooms like this to be used. I understand that space is a premium in London, but rooms the size of thimbles is unacceptable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank FLTravelFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

We are very sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay and the size of your room. Please note due to the historical nature of our traditional London building, our rooms do vary in size. We will endeavour to allocate you a larger room on your next stay with us.
Our guest comfort and satisfaction is our first priority and we would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in us. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you wish to share any further comments regarding your stay and how we could have exceeded your expectations.

We do hope to have the opportunity to improve your impressions and welcome you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

First impressions were very positive. Modern decor, comfortable, well-appointed room, convenient location. But our room overlooked Southampton Row and, I am not sure if it was a Health and Safety issue, but the secondary glazing on one of the windows only closed 75% and the noise from the traffic outside was loud and non-stop throughout the night. The air-conditioning was also intrusive - but did not quite drown out the traffic noise.
The bed was comfortable, the bathroom spotless and the breakfast excellent - so I would not wish to put any one off this hotel - just be careful which room you take.

Room Tip: Try and avoid rooms overlooking Southampton Row
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

We are happy to read you have good impressions about the room you stayed in and that you had a fabulous breakfast experience. However, we are very sorry to hear you experienced issues with the noise. Rest assured we have shared your comments with our Maintenance department to check the windows and resolve as appropriate. Nonetheless, with London being a very dynamic city, noise from the street is sometimes hard to bypass. We will be sure that your next stay is a most comfortable one and that such annoyance is prevented. We have left an internal note to ensure that you are offered a quieter room on your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Selected this hotel because of its location
Checking in after a long haul from Australia, we were advised our room was ready ahead of time.
Ready for a 3 night stay, we unpacked and more than ready for a shower and rest.
Turning back the 'freshly made bed' revealed a mass of thick black human hairs down the left hand side of the bed. Complaining to the manager was useless as he/she was unavailable to take any calls.
My call was however taken by another staff member with a bad attitude who reluctantly offered an upgrade. There was no other option. Given we'd been travelling for 23 hours and were fully unpacked this was inappropriate, her management style was inflexible and inappropriate. Embarrassed cleaners arrived shortly after to change the bedding.
On checking out of the hotel we were politely asked if we enjoyed our stay! After relating our
experience the staff politely commented 'óh yes, we heard about that incident, we are so sorry!''
So are we. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Elevators are extremely small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardners49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Firstly allow us to profusely apologise for failing to meet your expectations on this occasion. We are very sorry to hear that you experienced cleanliness issues during your stay. I was concerned to hear that you were unable to get hold of the Manager and I have shared this with the Reception Team. I have made it clear that the Manager is always contactable and I personally would prefer to be contacted at anytime than have a guest inconvenienced.

Please contact me directly on p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com providing me with the date of the incident so I can investigate further.

In the meantime, we have shared your comments with our Housekeeping Manager and her team, for them to ensure that our highest standards are always maintained.

We would be very keen on making matters up to you and restoring your faith in us. I look forward to hearing from you and to making matters right.

We do hope to have the opportunity to improve your impressions and welcome you again in a near future.

Assuring you of my best attention at all times.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Hilton London Kensington
#498 of 1,067 in London
4,097 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#343 of 1,067 in London
3,974 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#270 Luxury Hotel in London
#319 Family Hotel in London
#323 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 215 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing