We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Ranked #378 of 1,086 Hotels in London
wales uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quite Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay in hotel - Upgraded to a one bedroom apartment, but it wasn't ready till 5.00 as having maintenance but receptionist did offer, that we could leave our belongings in another room until then, but we declined as we couldn't be bothered with the fuss. Apartment was nice, a little worn, had balcony but no furniture to sit on, also they forgot to put up our extra bed, so a nice young chap from Milan came and sorted it for us, he was very pleasant. Quite nights sleep and plenty of tea and coffee, all in all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    1,116
    553
    224
    117
See reviews for
538
1,046
132
704
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porvoo, Finland
Level Contributor
166 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Only 1 minute away from the British Museum and a few minutes away from Holborn underground the provides an excellent place to stay. You can easily walk to Oxford street (about 10-15 minutes away) or catch a bus to almost anywhere. Buy an Oyster card and just hop on a bus and get out anywhere you want, you see a lot riding the bus even if the underground can be a little faster. The hotel staff and everything else worked but the room we got on HiltonHonours-floor was SUPER small , the bed is usually this size for one person but it was small , ofcourse, otherwise it wouldnt have fit in the small room. Clean and fresh rooms anyway. When your in London you dont hang out so much in the room so would defenetly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mats N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will make sure to share your comments with our team for their great work.

Please note due to the historical nature of our traditional London building, our rooms do vary in size. We will endeavour to allocate you a larger room on your next stay with us.

We do hope to welcome you again at the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We liked the hotel vert much. The staff were courteous. The cockies we got when we arrived were a nice touch; we felt very welcomed! We would like to have the Wi-Fi free because it's something you use everyday. We would totally recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Karin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The DoubleTree by Hilton London West End for your recent stay.
It is a real pleasure to learn your stay was so enjoyable and you consider our team friendly and courteous. We will make sure to share your comments with our team for their great work.

Please be informed that we do offer free wifi to all our guests in the public areas of the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you again at the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very nice hotel 10mins walk from Covent Garden and near British Museum rooms are to a nice standard but on the small size typical of London breakfast was excellent price is steep but it is central London would use again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will make sure to share your comments with our team for their great work.

We do hope to welcome you again at the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at the Double Tree by Hilton in the West End the 13th to 15th June. we booked a family room and a Executive room we also booked the standby option for an upgrade to a suit plus early check in on arrival, we were lucky to receive both and at only £20 each was good value for money as we arrived about 11.30am, we got a nice warm cookie on arrival, our rooms were lovely although our daughters room was red hot the air condition was not working (it was a hot sunny day) we reported this to reception on our way out to explore London and it was fixed by the time we came back, very polite staff, rooms nicely presented and clean, comfortable beds, lovely cooked breakfast with plenty of choice, would stay again without hesitation, I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank 821ignatiusm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to review your recent stay at The DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.
We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a real pleasure to learn that your experience with us was a success.

I am pleased to hear that the team was able to fix the initial problem in regards to the air conditioning in your room.

We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Visited this hotel for one night whilst on a 2 day trip. 2 underground stations within a 3 minute walking distance (Holborn and Russell Square). We had a jam-packed 2 days of sight seeing and things we wanted to do. Dropped luggage off at the hotel at 9:30am on the day of our arrival - can't check in until 15:00, check out at 11am. All hotel staff were very friendly. Room was on the small side, but nicely furnished with a comfy bed - bathroom with bath and shower. Tried the hotel Cocktails.. which were ok... but not great - I'd recommend taking a trip to Planet Hollywood - fantastic cocktails and food! Plenty of cafe's and food establishments within close proximity. Would definitely return, just for the location!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrinaTompkins_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.
I was very happy to hear you were satisfied with the friendliness and helpfulness of our team. We are sorry to hear you were not entirely satisfied with the size of the room and we will endeavour to allocate you a larger room on your next stay with us.

We hope to be your host again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London West End, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The king double room had a queen bed and barely enough room for two people to move around much less be comfortable. Even basic internet was an extra cost if used from the room...this may be standard in UK but is a given in virtually every other civilized country we've travelled over the past five years. We expected more from Doubletree/Hilton.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.
We are sorry to hear you were not entirely satisfied with the size of the room and the Internet connection. Please note due to the historical nature of our traditional London building, our rooms do vary in size. We will endeavour to allocate you a larger room on your next stay with us.
We are currently upgrading our Wi-Fi facility in order to increase the capacity and make it more user friendly for our guests. I realise that this is a very important facility to many Guests and we aim to offer a high standard of Wi-Fi through-out the Hotel. We also offer complimentary access to all Guests in our public areas and complimentary access as a benefit to all Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond members.
Please feel free to contact us should you wish to share any further comments.

We hope to welcome you in the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#350 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,774 reviews
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#176 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,875 reviews
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#265 Luxury Hotel in London
#319 Family Hotel in London
#323 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 215 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing