We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with minor issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Ranked #384 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Scarsdale, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel with minor issues”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My stay at the hotel was wonderful, except for one major issue. We were given a room with a handicap bathroom which was fine until I took a shower. After the shower, almost none of the water drained from the bathroom, and the floor was covered in about an inch of water. Would definitely recommend the hotel, but not a handicap room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for for taking the time to review your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.
We are sorry you have encountered some Maintenance issues when staying with us. Rest assured we have shared your comments with your Maintenance team for them to investigate and resolve as appropriate.

We are looking forward to host you again in the near future and to ensuring that your stay is a perfect one.

Kind Regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    1,163
    576
    237
    122
See reviews for
573
1,094
135
735
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at DoubleTree by Hilton West End London last weekend.
This was the smallest room we have ever stayed in. I asked at the desk if they could put us in a bigger room but was told "no", unless we paid a £30 upgrade.
On departure we complained and did manage to get a discount and an apology.
The hotel has an excellent location but I would think twice about staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiffBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton for your recent stay and providing us with your feedback.

We are very sorry to hear you were not entirely satisfied with the size of the room as well as the service provided at the Front Desk. We have immediately shared your feedback with our Front Office Team for them to investigate and ensure that our highest standards are always delivered.

Due to the historical nature of our traditional London building, our rooms do vary in size. We will endeavour to allocate you a larger room on your next stay with us. Please contact me directly to make a reservation and we will ensure that every detail of your stay is given our best attention.

Kind Regards,

Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs, England
Level Contributor
331 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

From the cookie presented in a bag to the fast check out, this place seemed to have got it together. Rooms are well decorated and not big but adequate: bathrooms are well equipped, iron and board is there in the wardrobe, coffee/tea/chocolate making facilities all make this an easy place to stay. It's 10 mins from Euston and 10 mins from parts of the west end, so well situated and easy to find. Wifi was disappointing - lobby only or pay a hefty room fee, but if you've a 3G card, then I'd say this is one of the better places to stay at this price level.

Room Tip: Front room might be noisy as the street is busy. HHonors member get a dedicated floor - which I gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyjockey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our fantastic amenities. With regards to Wi-Fi, I can assure you that we are looking at a new user friendly solution to ensure that this facility is of the highest standard. Currently we provide complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas as well as to our valued Hilton Honours Gold and Diamond members.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.

Best regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We booked this hotel last minute and found it to be an excellent choice. The room was great and the breakfast was really good. It was only a 2 minute walk from a tube station and 20 minutes from Covent Garden.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Waterbeach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for this lovely review and we hope to be your host again in the near future.
Assuring you of our best attention at all times.

Best regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I spent the weekend in London. Stayed at this Hilton hotel with four others. Paid £184 for a night and ended up with no hot water. The temperature of the water was barely tepid. Not ideal for a so called good quality hotel. Don't take room 145.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with hot running water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for booking our hotel and for taking the time to write this review. We have investigated the hot water issue to ensure that it is immediately remedied. I assure you that this is a complete exception and not a common issue at the hotel. I am sorry that we did not get to make matters up to you while you were here, however I will contact you separately and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Best regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is brilliant a 5min walk from Holborn or Russell Sq and a 15min walk to Covent Garden.

The entrance and reception is really nicely done, very spacious so made it easy to check in or meet people with lots of seating.

The room was very pleasant and good facilities like separate radio alarm clock, safe, iron, kettle but sadly no hairdryer so make sure you ask for one in reception. Sadly I found out too late and didn't fancy being an exhibitionist going down in my town to get one when I realised!!!!

There was surround sound I'm the bathroom too which was great but it was sadly let down by the poor shower weak and cold shower which was made even smaller by having a huge rail and shelf in there. Very badly designed. The staff were very apologetic on checkout but the thing I most look forward to when I stay at a hotel is a powerful shower.

It was pretty expensive for what it was but would be value for money just for the location if they have any special offers on.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and I am pleased to hear that you had an overall positive experience. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed our great location,Lobby and room amenitiies, however I am sorry that a few things let you down during the stay. Each room should come equiped with a hairdryer in the wardrope and I have raised this issue with housekeeping to ensure that we never sell a room without all of our promised amenities.

I will contact you sepertaely for the room details and will ensure that maintenace address the issues you highlighted with regards to the shower and bathroom design. I am pleased to inform you that we have recently introdduced new shower heads, which are eco friendly, however give a great guest experience. The feedback on these has been very positive.

I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon, where we will ensure that every detail is given the best attention.

Best regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed here on business and as I was travelling alone, I selected a single room. The hotel is ideally located for central London and is a few minutes walk from the British Museum and not far from Euston and St. Pancras/Kings Cross train stations. The communal areas are very comfortable and well decorated. You are greeted with the usual Doubletree warm chocolate and nut cookie which is always delicious. The reception staff were very helpful, as were the staff at breakfast the next morning. I paid £218 for bed and breakfast for a single room and although I was accepting of the fact that I got what I booked, if you want a sizeable room where you don't feel like you're staying in a broom cupboard, book a double! I could touch both sides of the room nearly and the dark wood was quite oppressive. Having said that, I went down to reception and asked if it was possible to swap rooms if they weren't full and reception were happy to oblige.
My next room was a double and was nice enough and clean, decorated to a contemporary standard. The hotel room was on the 6th floor, very quiet and I had no disturbance from the street or from other rooms so I had an excellent night's sleep.
Breakfast the next morning was of a high standard, usual English fare with plenty of choice. I would definitely say here again and there are plenty of restaurants, supermarkets and pubs/wine bars a few doors down/in the area so if you want to go out and explore it is on your doorstep. There is a lovely Italian a few doors down if you turn right out of the hotel - well worth a visit - all the food is fresh and made from scratch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor to guarantee a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Hilton London Kensington
#502 of 1,068 in London
4,109 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#337 of 1,068 in London
3,988 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#271 Luxury Hotel in London
#319 Family Hotel in London
#323 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 215 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing