We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Ranked #387 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great hotel in a great location - look for offers on the price as that's the only down side! Stayed here twice before when it was Park Inn and again when Doubletree by Hilton took over but the price then doubled. Beds are comfy and its lovely and clean and in walking distance to Covent Garden and Oxford Street. What more could you want?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.
It is a real pleasure to learn that your experience with us was a success. We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    1,176
    583
    238
    124
See reviews for
584
1,109
137
739
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very poor customer service from check in and throughout stay. Water in room doesn't work and no temperature Control ruined the last day of weekend as had to move room just to shower before check out. Only to be told there was nothing wrong With the shower so it was either Boiling water or off and theats good enough!!!!!! Don't recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at The DoubleTree by Hilton London- West End.
I was very sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with the service and accommodation provided. I believe you were contacted separately by our Duty Manager to address highlighted issues. However, should you wish to share any further comments please feel free to contact me on p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com.


Sincerely,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I booked a Doubletree rather than a typical quaint European hotel because I was hoping for more of an American-style bathroom. My main complaint was the shower was more of a mist and the glass shower door made it hard to keep the water in the tub. The teen girls in my group complained they weren't easily able get their hair wet. The hotel is tastefully decorated in a contemporary style. The breakfast is nice. The staff is helpful and friendly. My bed was a little worn out with a sagging mattress. Air conditioning was spotty and there was a heat wave in London when we were there.

The hotel is well located, just a short walk from the Holborn Underground Station, and the neighborhood is stocked with quite a few restaurants. It is also walkable to many major attractions if you are fit. We walked to the Eye, Trafalgar Square, Big Ben, Parliament and Westminster Abbey.

I'd probably stay here again, but only if the rates were low. They were pretty high when I booked my rooms. With lower room rates, the rating would have been higher.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WardHayworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The DoubleTree by Hilton London West End.
We are extremely happy to hear that you were satisfied with our team's performance and that you have enjoyed your breakfast during your stay. However, I was very sorry to hear you have encounered issues with the shower in your room. We have an extensive property maintenance plan ongoing to ensure that the quality of maintenance in all guest rooms is of the highest standard. All of our shower heads have been replaced just recently. Please can you send your reservation details or room number to p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com so that I can address the bed/mattress issue highlighted.
Please do contact me directly for future reservations where I will ensure that every detail is given the best attention.

Best Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northridge
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The very best part of this hotel is the location. Near the heart of the city with quick access to anywhere in London. Two block access to Holborn tube station and a pretty quick 7-8 minute cab ride to Waterloo Train Station. Ample places to eat and all within walking distance. Staff was professional and friendly. Only drawback was the quality/size of the room for the amount paid. I know it's London and the room sizes are nothing like the U.S., but had to upgrade room because the Standard size room for 2 people was just not doable; 1 person would be cramped, but noway two people can stay in those rooms. However, I would stay there again due to the perfect location in the city. Oh, one further thing: great A/C in the rooms!!

Room Tip: Standard room for 1 person is very, very small compared to U.S. Standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this review.
We are delighted to read your great comments about our team members, I will ensure to share your comments for their great work. Yes indeed, we are perfectly located within walking distance to many London sites.
I was very sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with the size of your room. All of our rooms differ in size and layout due to the nature of the building. We will endeavour to allocate you a larger room on your next stay with us.

We do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Best regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Lovely, polite & friendly staff. Clean, modern rooms. Welcome cookie on arrival & jug of juice in reception - a nice touch. Delicious breakfast, with a good selection of fruits and pastries, along with the full English! Well located, 5 min walk from Holborn tube station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The location of this Hilton DoubleTree property is spectacular … the building itself is nice, location close to the theater district, on the Piccadilly Tube Line direct from Heathrow with convenient tube stops, and close to great attractions and fantastic dining. Arriving at 1p, the rooms were not ready and the front desk promised 1 family suite and the other being upgraded to an executive suite, we stored our bags and thought at first we found a gem.

When we checked in later that evening, we were pleased but far from impressed. The lifts are really cramped and slow and the family suite would be fine for 2. My 3 daughters were staying in it and when you use the family area as a sleeping room it was very cramped with a very small bathroom and feeling generally tired. Might be good for a couple with an infant, but tight for 15 to 23 year olds. The executive king was fine for business but nothing special and again feeling a bit tired. I am Hilton Diamond, so I use a lot of their properties and this one definitely has potential … but until they invest in a more extensive renovation, there are a lot of much more attractive hotel alternatives in London if you are looking for top notch experiences. It didn't help my opinion that a pickpocket attempted to lift my satchel in a rather crowed lounge.

Kudos to the breakfast, however, staff and food did get the family's day started with a smile and some energy.

Room Tip: The lifts are slow and cramped … so during high tour seasons make sure to get a low floor. Family su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peadar M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.
The hotel is indeed in a good location, I was happy to hear you were upgraded to an executive and family rooms, however I was very sorry to hear that you didn't find them spacious enough. Please note due to the historical nature of our traditional London building, our rooms do vary in size. We will endeavour to allocate you a larger room on your next stay with us. I was very concerned to hear about the attempt to take your satchel.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly with further details in order for us to maximize safety and comfort of our guests.

I was however pleased to hear that you did enjoy our breakfast in the morning.

Kind Regards,
Peadar McFadden
Hotel Manager
p.mcfadden@dtlondonwestend.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I had won a night's stay in a DoubleTree hotel at a Traverse Events Mingle. After much deliberation my partner and I decided to stay at this one in Central London and have a touristy day. The location is excellent, we were able to walk to the British Museum and into Soho for lunch and dinner. We checked in early in the morning, leaving our bags with the concierge, and munching our warm cookies for breakfast. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The room itself was huge (we upgraded to a double executive). I was able to starfish on the bed, which normally leaves my partner no room, but he still had plenty of bed for himself. My only issue was there not being a bottle opener in the room, we had to open our World Cup Final beers with a teaspoon. Not much of a hardship, but a little niggle. I would definitely recommend this hotel for people wanting to sight-see in Central London.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tally85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Hilton London Kensington
#506 of 1,068 in London
4,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#341 of 1,068 in London
4,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Address: 92 Southampton Row | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#272 Luxury Hotel in London
#319 Family Hotel in London
#323 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End (WC1) formerly the Park Inn London Russell Square, is a newly-renovated four-star hotel in Bloomsbury near Russell Square. The hotel is a stone's throw from the British Museum and walking distance to top attractions such as Covent Garden, the West End and the shops on Oxford Street. The hotel features 215 fresh and modern guest rooms, recently refurbished to a superior four-star standard (including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms as well as Apartments). Wireless high-speed Internet access is available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton London - West End Hotel London
Park Inn Russell Square
Bonnington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing