We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect as always!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Landmark London
Ranked #52 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2011

This was our third visit and all I can say is Perfect!

Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tandpjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,285 - 2,291 of 3,023 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2011

We have stayed here a couple of times. The rooms are spacious, the bathroom is divine, and the personnel is fine. Lovely urroundings, and very quiet rooms. Real value for money! The only comment I have is the breakfast. For 25 pounds, I expect lovely variety in bread, yoghurts, teas and waters. That is not the case. I have had breakfast in many 5 star hotels (SOHO, MayFair, Park Plaza, four Seasons, Ritz), and I have never experienced such a poor quality breakfast. 25 pounds is a rip off!
The rooms are impeccable. So my tip: do not hesitate to book a room (because you get the best), but eat your breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannette30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Landmark_London, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Thank you so much for giving us 5 stars, we are delighted that you are recommending us but really sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast. We have such a large array to cover all of our guest’s needs, from continental, full English, A la Carte as well as the Breakfast To Go from our Room Service, all differently priced. I am sorry that you did not find something that suited your needs.

Hopefully on your next visit, we will be able to offer you something that suits you better

Kind Regards
Sally Beck - Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Convenient to Paddington Station and well situated for central London business or site seeing, but a better value versus Mayfair.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Araca97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. We came away with the impression that this is a 3 star hotel inside a 5 star building, charging 5 star prices.

THE GOOD

Lovely grand building, in a convenient location right next to the tube station.
The rooms are a good size with great beds and bathrooms.

THE BAD

Service was very variable - at our first breakfast the waitress forgot to bring the items we had ordered in 2 separate instances. The doorman seemed to be absent from his post for much of the time and when he was there you had a random chance of him actually opening the door for you. But then some staff would surprise you with their efficiency and courtesy.
In the bathroom we were surprised to find cheap, harsh toilet paper. We also overheard other guests comment on this.
In the bedroom we were surprised that in a deluxe room we had a small 1980s style tube TV. Also very disappointing that there was no free bottled water at all - you were expected to pay £4.50 for 1/3 of a litre. Tip: go to M&S next door and buy water for a tiny fraction of the price. Another disappointment was having to pay £14.50 per day for wi-fi internet access.
There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the bedroom. Not a problem for me but I know many people who would feel this is wrong.
I don't mind paying high prices for high quality, but these money-grabbing tactics leave a nasty taste - at this level of hotel & price I expect these things to be given gratis. Another small indication of this general theme is in the writing pens - normally in a hotel of this calibre the pens are substantial, e.g. made of metal and decent quality. The ones at the Landmark are made of the nastiest flimsiest plastic and 2 of them broke on us.
Finally, finding a dead fly in a supposedly clean cereal bowl at breakfast was unpleasant.

OVERALL

I have been lucky enough to stay in many 5 star hotels in London and abroad so I know what is reasonable to expect. The Landmark fell short on many counts and I would suggest to any potential visitors that there is considerably better value to be had in other hotels in London.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Squiggle556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Landmark_London, Director of Marketing at The Landmark London, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Firstly let me say how sorry I am that you found us so disappointing on your recent stay with us. As a Leading Hotel of the World and listed as one of the top hotels in London, your comments are very disappointing for us to read.

If I can address your points as best I can, we have two entrances to The Landmark and both are manned by door men, supported by concierge, one is covered on a 16 hour basis and the other on a 24 hour basis. I can only assume that during your stay with us, our doormen were assisting other guests.

I am interested to see your comments on the bathroom paper, we have recently changed suppliers and this is the first comment we have seen on a guest noticing the change, we are experimenting with recycled papers in the hotel generally as part of our commitment to Green Tourism and will keep note of your feedback as we continue with the trial, our intention is not to drop standards, but to find ways of reducing our carbon footprint, so thank you for your comment, we will continue to monitor other guest feedback that we receive.

Regarding our Televisions, we are in the process of changing all of our 300 bedrooms to 42 inch flat screens and have so far done over 200 of our bedrooms, I am sorry that you were in one of our rooms that were not already updated. We do offer a selection of many complimentary amenities to guests during their stay, from fruit, chocolates and flowers to Champagne. We also offer a wide selection of waters for our guests, some free and some paid for, I am sorry that you felt that we should be giving free bottled water to yourself during your stay with us. On WIFI charges, we offer complimentary wifi to all guests on a 24 Hour basis from our business centre.

We have been given outstanding comments by many guests in terms of value and service. As one of the only independent and family owned hotels in London we always endeavour to give our guests a very personalised service to ensure that they leave us wanting to come back time and time again. I hope that you will give us one more try and that you will visit us again when you are next visiting London,

Kind regards

Sally Beck
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I regularly enjoy visiting London and a big part of the "London" experience is sampling some of the best city hotels on offer. If you are reading this you shall want to know some home truths about this hotel I can honestly say there are very few negatives, so few I am struggling to think of any worthwhile to mention. This place is a home from home you will love it and in comparison to the Ritz or The Dorchester forget them please!!!. This is the most warm friendly and relaxed hotel I have had the pleasure to stay in, the staff are amazing I am hoping to enjoy another city break at this hotel soon. Service charge is not included and tipping only expected should you feel the level of service is upto it. Listen all hotels have their blips but the staff in this place have the correct ethos. If you decide to go I am sure you will enjoy.

Room Tip: Food is amazing, Service charge is not included
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulBelfast1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Liked the room. Liked the Amenities ....White Company. Didn't know that they made toiletries.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim88kow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We came to London for Easter to visit our relations and stayed at the well located Landmark, right in front of Marylebone station. We had a great room with two double beds and a massive bathroom. The Winter Garden is a stunning location , great breakfast every morning and the kids loved the restaurant two twenty two, which has good selection of food and fantastic staff, very friendly.
We would really recommend the hotel as a great base for getting around London and so lovely to come back to in the evening, so romantic !

Room Tip: call the hotel and ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwmere23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#19 of 1,076 in London
630 reviews
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#16 of 1,076 in London
1,823 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#69 of 1,076 in London
3,708 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#28 of 1,076 in London
4,227 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,076 in London
2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark London

Address: 222 Marylebone Road, London NW1 6JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in London
#35 Romantic Hotel in London
#36 Family Hotel in London
#48 Business Hotel in London
#50 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £248 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Landmark London 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landmark London, an oasis of luxury, at the heart of the world’s finest city. A magnificent historic and iconic hotel that blends contemporary flair with classic style. The spacious, elegant rooms and spectacular suites provide sumptuous comfort, peace and privacy along with all the amenities one could wish for. An array of charming spots to dine and unwind include the enchanting Winter Garden Restaurant, in the hotel’s breathtaking central atrium. The twotwentytwo is a favourite for it’s relaxed bar and stylish dining whilst the chic Mirror Bar is famous for fabulous cocktails. The sensuous Spa and well equipped health club are home to a gorgeous 15m pool. A host of beautiful banqueting suites and majestic ballroom have made the hotel a choice venue for impressive events, glamorous gatherings and spectacular weddings. Personable world class service with distinct London charm ensures that every guest experience in this haven of serenity is exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Landmark London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark London Hotel London
The Landmark Hotel London
Landmark Hotel London
Landmark London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing