We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay with a minor hiccup”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Landmark London
Ranked #49 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Jupiter, Florida
2 reviews
“Excellent stay with a minor hiccup”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at the Landmark for 5 Days and 4 Nights at the end of April. The weather was iffy but the Hotel and our experience in London were 5 star. Everyone at the hotel was above the board pleasant and the accomodations were great. The room is large by hotel standards and well appointed with a stall shower and bathtub as well.

There were a couple of minor hiccups that we had but not directly related to the room.

We booked tickets to a show in the West End through the hotel concierge and were overcharged by the ticket agent. We paid more than double the face value of each ticket vs. if we would have purchased them directly from the theater box office. I can understand paying a small premium but not twice the face value. Upon checkout, I spoke with Philip, the concierge and he was able to rectify the situation and had a 60 pound credit issued to my credit card. However, As of today, the account has not posted to my account and it has been 2 weeks today.

The second issue was with calls made from my room phone. These were toll free calls but I was charged per minute rates and upon checkout, the front desk clerk's only response was "We have no control over that. The calls are billed through a 3rd party company." I paid over 40 pounds for 4 toll free calls.

As I mentioned in the beginning, Everything else was excellent. The English and continental breakfast were excellent and the service was top notch.

I am sure the 2 minor issues will get rectified and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive_Office222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Following receipt of your feedback we immediately investigated the matters and found that the theatre tickets were charged at the incorrect rate by the agent. Keith, was our Head Concierge who you spoke with and on your day of departure immediately arranged a credit to your card for the overcharged amount. This should now have been processed and received. Please accept my apologies that this error occurred and for the inconvenience that resulted. As a gesture of goodwill we have allowed the cost of the phone calles from your account and these too have been credited back to your card.
We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed an otherwise excellent stay with us , through the service and facilities provided. Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to share this feedback with us and if I can be of any further assistance then please do contact me personally

with kind regards

Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,877
    518
    168
    71
    51
See reviews for
597
947
127
551
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I have stayed at The Landmark around 5 times now, sometimes work and sometimes pleasure.

After one not so wonderful stay due to a mix-up through booking via an online site, the management more than made up for this by ensuring that my next stay was no less than wonderful.

The staff are well trained, polite and enthusiastic, the food is consistently fantastic, whether lunch, dinner, afternoon tea or breakfast and the bar is welcoming and relaxing.

The pool complex is also perfect for relaxation, whether or not one uses the spa.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escapedlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive_Office222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to share this feedback following your recent stay with us. Your kind comments regarding the staff and spa are greatly appreciated.
We were delighted that you left with a memorable experience and do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the very near future.

with kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Myself and my Husband enjoyed a Wonderful Easter Sunday at the Landmark Hotel, and would highly recommend this to anybody who is looking for a decadent yet relaxed Brunch.

The service was excellent and the attentive, but not overbearing.
The friendly and helpful staff were always close at hand to ensure that our Champagne glasses were never empty, we lost count of the amount of re-fills that we had (and all without having to ask for a top up).

My one criticism would be that as a vegetarian I found the choice of food quite limited. I appreciate that out of all the diners at the sitting I was in the minority and was possibly the only non-meat eater, It would have none the less been nice to have had a slightly more extended and varied selection of options, especially as the choice of meat and fish (including shellfish and sushi) is amazing making it overall far better value for money.

The vegetarian food was not labelled and some of my fellow diners showed little or no regard to others when it came to using the same serving utensils for meat dishes as they did for the non meat. This would perhaps be less likely to happen if the dishes were easily identifiable as being vegetarian.

For those with a sweet tooth, there was an endless amount of desserts and a chocolate fountain. The macaroons were among the best that I have tried.
A nice touch was that the staff also came around to each table with Easter Eggs.

Aside from one slight gripe we had a fantastic afternoon and left feeling full of food and fizz! We will definitely visit again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive_Office222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you very much for sharing this feedback following your experience at our Sunday Brunch. We were delighted to read your very kind comments and having reviewed our vegetarian offering, we have extended this now to include more varied options which I hope you will be able to enjoy on a future visit.
Many thanks for taking the time to experience our Brunch and for sharing your kind comments

with kind regards

Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Elegant hotel and very convenient to many things - the upscale Marylebone tube station is immediately behind the hotel. The hotel staff was pleasant and very helpful, we needed a few things and they were attended to immediately. We had a large room with an elegant bathroom, a big perk was the provided tea service. I would say the only downside was our room location, we were on the very noisy street side - ambulances, police cars and general traffic noise all day and night. I recommend asking for a room elsewhere, or bring earplugs. Aside from the street noise everything was wonderful.

Room Tip: do not stay on the street-side unless you bring ear plugs, very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kld1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive_Office222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you very much for selecting the hotel during your stay in London and we were delighted to read of your wonderful experience. Your kind comments have been shared with all our team at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

with kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

A lovely experience to celebrate Mothers Day. Very nice sandwiches, scones and cakes. We all had a different variety of tea. There was plenty of food and very good quality. My Dad and husband took advantage of the seconds and thirds of sandwiches and scones that were offered. The atmosphere and decor is not as decadent as say the Ritz, Dorchester and Claridges but is still very nice and relaxed. There was a pianist and a harp player. Very nice indeed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive_Office222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you very much for celebrating Mothers Day at the Landmark and we are delighted to read that you had an excellent experience.We will continue to offer our Afternnoon Tea in the Winter Garden and hope we can welcome you back ,perhaps over the Jubilee weekend.

thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your very kind feedback

with kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
761 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I got an amazing deal on this hotel via secret hotels, thus I was expecting it may be one of those large souless corporate style 5 Star's needing to fill it's many rooms. What a lovely surprise! The Landmark has a lot of personality. It is an attractive property inside and out, well kept and with charming, personable and highly efficient staff (many were young french). Our room, which I assume was a standard room (given the deal I got) was huge, larger than many suites that I have experienced in London, and immaculately furnished. The only dining facility we used was room service which was extremely quick and friendly , as was the cocktail bar. Well placed for the tube. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive_Office222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us and were delighted to read your very kind comments. It was very pleasing to read that you found that hotel to be of very good value and that you found that staff to be very personable.
I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

with kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed here on a business trip. The rooms are very large(by Europe standards),the bedding very nice,and service was great. Our room was very quiet even though we were next to the elevator. The breakfast buffet was plentiful with great selections of everything. The concierge(s) were extemely helpful and friendly.
Also the staff at the Mirror bar were great. We had several great nights with them and will miss their great service. Stop in and say hello to Salvatore-what a charm! I give this property 5 stars

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millietillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Executive_Office222, Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Your very kind comments regarding the hotel and the service levels you received are very much appreciated and have been passed on to all the teams, particularly to the Concierge and the Mirror Bar. Salvatore has been personally thanked too with your kind words. We do hope that it will not be too long before we can welcome you back and if we may assist with any future reservations then please do not hesitate in contacting me personally.
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your feedback

with kind regards
Douglas Glen
Hoptel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#46 of 1,088 in London
3,274 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#52 of 1,088 in London
3,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#21 of 1,088 in London
1,644 reviews
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#64 of 1,088 in London
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark London

Property: The Landmark London
Address: 222 Marylebone Road, London NW1 6JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in London
#35 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Luxury Hotel in London
#48 Business Hotel in London
#50 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Landmark London 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Landmark London is situated in fashionable Marylebone in the heart of London and combines classic British elegance and grandeur with deluxe facilities. Encompassing 300 of some of the largest guest rooms in London and three stunning bar and restaurants. The hotel also has a Spa and Health Club including a 15 metre swimming pool and gymnasium. The Landmark is the perfect venue from which to enjoy the sights and sounds of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Landmark London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark London Hotel London
The Landmark Hotel London
Landmark Hotel London
Landmark London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing