We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First London Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Landmark London
Ranked #49 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“First London Trip”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our introduction to London and what a wonderful first impression! I traveled with my daughter and three grandchildren (teenagers) and we couldn't have been more impressed! We had adjoining rooms which was vey convenient for bathroom use. The beds were comfortable. My room had a king sized bed and all the girls had 2 queens. The breakfast buffet was to die for. Everything was replaced immediately and made to order omelets and crepes were delicious. It was by far the best of the 3 hotels that we stayed in during our 9 day adventure. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank generalnansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Landmark_London, General Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your experience with us, and that our Breakfast Buffet was the perfect way to mark the occasion. Our team of chefs will be only too pleased to receive your kind words, as they work hard to ensure each and every week we have only the highest quality offering for our guests.

I I do hope that we will indeed have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Landmark London in the near future.

Kind regards,

Andrew Batchelor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,944
    531
    173
    71
    51
See reviews for
619
985
129
564
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Room 219 has two queen beds that were extremely uncomfortable and miserable. Honestly, it was like sleeping on a pad of cement. I would have been more comfortable sleeping on the sofa.

I expressed my concerns to the front desk and housekeeping and they added a few layers of comforters to the beds. My two children (14 and 11) stayed in that room and my husband and I moved to another room with a king size mattress because that was the only available room remaining for the days we were staying.

My husband and I moved to room 210. The mattress in room 210 was much more comfortable, softer, acceptable. It was a completely different level of comfort.

I was disappointed to see that their "hair salon" was as small as it was for 5 diamond hotel.

Spa appointments are had to come by if you want to use their spa. That's when I called the salon for a pedicure appointment, and noticed how minimal it was.

Room Tip: My advice is NOT to use Room 219. Make sure you ask what view you are receiving prior to booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Irene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Landmark_London, General Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Irene F,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel.

I was of course disappointed to learn that we were unable to meet your expectations in all areas, and I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any shortfalls in service experienced.

Our team work hard to ensure all our guests’ requests are met, as every individual has slightly different preferences. I am deeply sorry that our beds were not to your liking, however I am pleased that our Accommodation Services team were able to assist with some comforters, and that our Front Desk team were able to organise another room for you.

We do take on board your comments regarding our Hair Salon, and our Health Club and Spa. I am sorry that you felt that these were not of an adequate size for our property, and that you had difficulty in making an appointment. We do always advise our guests to book early to avoid disappointment, and I am genuinely sorry that you were not able to enjoy the facilities as you might have liked.

Thank you once again for your time. We value all our guests’ feedback, and always use it as a learning tool for the future. I do hope that we will soon have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Landmark London.

Kind regards,

Andrew Batchelor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at The Landmark London from Mon Jul 21 - Sun 27th. We arrived in London around 6:00 a.m. and to the hotel around 7:30 a.m. after a very long flight. Check in time at the hotel is 3:00 pm. Before arriving I was told we had to reserve the room for the night before if we wanted to guarantee early check in. I did so, but upon arriving we were told the room was ready and that they would not charge me for 7 but 6 nights since the room was ready. After a couple of hours a note was slipped under the door that we would be charged for all 7 nights . I thought this was poor customer service since we were just told the room was ready and I felt the hotel should have honored what they told us upon check in. We were assigned to room 404 Family room. The room was very spacious but there were two large dark stains in the carpet near the T.V. area and by the second bed. My first impression is at the prices this 5 star hotel charges I expected the rooms to be immaculate. I also wondered what could have possibly happened in the room that would cause such large dark stains in the carpet. I also wondered why the hotel did not replace the carpet. The stains were awful. This bothered me so much I reported the issue to the front desk who said they could move us to a new room, but not until Wednesday. We spent a night away from the hotel but upon our arrival on Wednesday no one followed up with us. We began to feel ignored and unwelcomed as guests. As a matter of fact we rarely received turn down service and I had to constantly call housekeeping for enough towels. There were three in our party but the room was being made up for two people each night. The travel and trip was very stressful and the service I received at London Landmark made it hardly worth the stay. I expected better service. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Landmark_London, General Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Shannon L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on this website.

Firstly, please allow me to express my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the shortfalls in service you have described. Our intention is to ensure all our guests’ experiences are as comfortable and memorable as possible, and I am deeply sorry that we were unable to create this for you on this occasion.

I was extremely concerned to learn about the miscommunication upon arrival. Indeed, as you would expect, we would charge for each night booked, however if it was mentioned to you that one night would not be charged, then I would fully expect this to be honoured, and I am sorry that this did not happen. Please be assured that this has already been addressed with the team members concerned, and highlighted a training issue for us. We take these kinds of comments very seriously and will always ensure the appropriate learning and action is taken.

I am also surprised to learn that your room did not meet our usually extremely high standards, as this is most unlike us. I have shared your comments with our Engineering and Accommodation Services teams, so that they may investigate further, and take any necessary measures to ensure this does not recur. However, in the meantime, please accept my most heartfelt apologies for not having been able to meet your expectations in all areas.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in us, and welcome you back to The Landmark London in the near future. Should you choose to give us another opportunity, please do contact me directly beforehand, so that I may personally ensure your next stay is nothing short of spectacular. I can be reached at Hotel.Manager@thelandmark.co.uk, and thank you once again for your time.


Kind regards,

Andrew Batchelor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very classic decoration. Very efficient concierge. Super big rooms which are great if you travel with infants. Nice bathrooms but could do better on the amenities for a 5 stars such as Hermes bath products for example which would add a top notch to it which is missing right now. Though, our 3 months old baby had a plastic duck for his bath waiting for him on his bed and I thought that was a delightfull attention. Would go back there.

Room Tip: Facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titiparis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Landmark_London, General Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear titiparis01,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on this website.

I was delighted to read that your family’s time with us was so successful, and that you all enjoyed your time with us. We do believe that the details make the difference, and I am happy to hear that these were appreciated by you all.

Thank you for your comments regarding the amenities in our bathrooms. We do endeavour to deliver the highest quality of product for our guests, and I am happy to share with you that we are currently looking in to these amenities for our guests, to ensure we are providing the highest quality possible across all areas. We do take on board all our guests comments, and very much appreciate your time in leaving them for us.

I do hope that we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to The Landmark London, for another wonderful experience.

Kind regards,

Andrew Batchelor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Landmark London is one of the best Hotel experiences we have had. Staff are all very helpful and polite. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast buffet is outstanding
This is our second stay having stayed 7 days during the Olympics and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Landmark_London, General Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Tom C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on this website.

It is a true pleasure for me to read such fabulous words from our guests, about how much they enjoyed their time with us, and what difference our friendly team made to their stay. I was therefore thrilled to learn that your experience was so memorable, and that we were able to exceed your expectations on every level.

I do hope that your third stay with us is in the very near future, and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Landmark London, for another unforgettable experience.

Kind regards,

Andrew Batchelor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had another great stay at The Landmark. Never fails to meet all my expectations and the staff are so helpful. Room was really well cleaned and impeccably tidy as always. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting London.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Susy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Landmark_London, General Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Susy R,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

As a valued return guest of our hotel, it is wonderful to hear that each and every time you visit, you find our standards to be high throughout the hotel, and indeed that our team are always on hand to help. They are all here to ensure our guests’ stays are as comfortable and memorable as possible, and it is genuinely pleasing for me to read about it when they do.

I do hope that your next visit to The Landmark London is not too far away, and that we will soon have the opportunity to welcome you back to your home away from home.

Kind regards,

Andrew Batchelor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I had the pleasure recently of making The Landmark my home away from home for over a week while on vacation in London. I researched many hotels and really liked the look and location of The Landmark. We were not disappointed. It is in a great neighborhood. Quiet and residential but a quick walk to great cafes, shops and restaurants just a few streets away. In addition, the Marylebone train station is literally right out the back entrance of the hotel. It is so convenient for getting anywhere in the city by tube or to grab a taxi in an instant.
We were able to check in early when we arrived, which was so nice after flying overnight. We had a lovely and spacious room on the top floor overlooking Marylebone Road. I feared this may be a noisy location, but we never heard any traffic or street noise. While the soft goods in the rooms could use some updating for my taste, it was appropriate for the hotel and all was very clean and the bed comfortable. The AC cooled well, which I find critical when traveling and it often lacks in international locations. Not here. The marble bathroom was very nice and the water pressure was wonderful (another pet peeve of mine when it’s weak in hotels). The public areas of the hotel are quite nice, especially the cozy back lobby and the bright and airy atrium. We had breakfast there in the Winter Garden Restaurant and it was delicious. Would have liked to have had high “chocolate” tea there but our busy schedule didn’t allow for it. Next time!
The hotel staff was phenomenal. Everyone we encountered took the time to stop what they were doing and sincerely greet us, catch elevators for us, answer questions, etc. From the front desk, to housekeeping to servers and doorpersons – all were focused on creating a great guest experience. Some of the finer hotels in NYC could take a lesson from The Landmark regarding guest service (I’m talking to you, Plaza Hotel!).
We also dined at 222 for dinner one night. They had great steaks, a charming and funny maître d' and a warm atmosphere. The Mirror Bar is nice for a night cap. A…“happy” local there mistook me for Sean Astin from the Lord of the Rings films one night, which was pretty amusing.
Treat yourself to a stay at The Landmark. You’ll be happy that you did.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Landmark_London, General Manager at The Landmark London, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Andrew W,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel on this website.

I am so pleased that during your one week with us, you felt as if you were at your home away from home, as this is the way we would wish all our guests to feel whilst with us.

Our central location in London means that travelling around the city is indeed very easy, and I was happy to read that you found this during your stay. We do always endeavour to help our guests in to their rooms as soon as possible, particularly after ling flights as we do appreciate how tiring these can be, so I am thrilled that your arrival to our hotel was so welcoming.

Our decision breakfast served in the unique setting of our stunning Winter Garden is indeed a highlight for so many of our guests, and I am pleased to hear that it was for you also. However, I am genuinely proud to read about the memorable experiences our team are creating for our guests, and yours is no different. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, I will ensure they are passed on to our teams.

Thank you once again for your time. I do hope that we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Landmark London, for another wonderful experience.

Kind regards,

Andrew Batchelor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#25 of 1,067 in London
202 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#59 of 1,067 in London
3,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#22 of 1,067 in London
1,699 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#51 of 1,067 in London
496 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark London

Property: The Landmark London
Address: 222 Marylebone Road, London NW1 6JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in London
#35 Romantic Hotel in London
#48 Luxury Hotel in London
#48 Business Hotel in London
#50 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Landmark London 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Landmark London is situated in fashionable Marylebone in the heart of London and combines classic British elegance and grandeur with deluxe facilities. Encompassing 300 of some of the largest guest rooms in London and three stunning bar and restaurants. The hotel also has a Spa and Health Club including a 15 metre swimming pool and gymnasium. The Landmark is the perfect venue from which to enjoy the sights and sounds of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Landmark London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark London Hotel London
The Landmark Hotel London
Landmark Hotel London
Landmark London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing