We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #75 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Just stayed here for my husbands birthday, everything is superb, from it's central location, you couldn't ask for a better one to the staff who are always there waiting to go the extra mile for any requests. The rooms are light and spacious, the bathrooms are everything you would expect and the beds extremely comfortable with superb linen, pillows and covers.
Would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolaciri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriastewart, Hotel Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Happy belated birthday to your husband! We’re delighted that you enjoyed such a special occasion with us and hope you will have a chance to celebrate with us again at St Martins Lane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,060 - 2,066 of 2,830 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

Having walked past St Martin's Lane hotel numerous times on nights out in London, my wife and I decided to treat ourselves to a stay there for our twentieth wedding anniversary. And we were delighted with our decision!
On arrival we were greeted warmly for check-in by Ivan who ensured that we felt totally at home. He even phoned up to our room15 minutes after our arrival to check that we were happy with the room and facilities - needless to say that we were!
Our room was on the 6th floor and had a fantastic view taking in Nelson's column, the Colisseum, and the London Eye. The interior was dominated by very cool, clean and sleek white walls furniture and bedding, coupled with some very innovative and modern lighting. The bathroom was excellent, with a large shower stall , again with a range of intersting lighting options to create an appropriate mood.
The Light Bar and Asia di Cuba are the on-site bar and restaurant, and both retain the sleek modern design led theme. We thoroughly enjoyed the house shooter cocktail.
The hotel staff were very friendly and really made us feel like welcomed and valued customers throughout our stay.
In summary, we felt that our stay was money well spent, and will consider coming here again for future special occasions.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a much better view of London landmarks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriastewart, Hotel Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Many congratulations again on your 20th anniversary! We are so pleased that you decided to walk in rather than walk by to celebrate such a special day. Thank you for your overall positive and generous feedback. We hope you get the opportunity to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

i've stayed there for 4 nights in the mid of October .
the location is good if you want to be next to the theatres , the rooms are totaly white with windows from floor to ceiling But - you can feel the hotel needs a renovation .. it feels too used..

the concierge - you can never get hold of him over the phone - they are always busy because there is only one concierge at a shift , so you can e mail him and get an answer after a few days , but if you are trying to arrange your trip in advance and need to consult with him - no chance. from all the concierge team i would choose Tim , at lease he tries ...
the lobby ?? there is no place to sit and relax .. all those " unique " furnitures are so Passe..
so - if you want to have a cooffee or a glass of wine in the after noon - you must enter the bar which is trendy ,noisy and very . dark . and most of the good sits are blocked with " reserved " ..
the team of the reception is mostly friendly exept Izabel - she hates her job , she hates the guests , she is arrogant she is awfull !!!

at the end of the day - with the price you pay at the St, Martin's Lane - you can get a much beeter hotel...

Room Tip: the corner suite is spacious and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank princesTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriastewart, Hotel Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Most of our guests love our service and design, but we do understand it is not to everyone's taste.

If you have a specific issue in relation to the conduct of any member of our team, we would be grateful if you contacted us directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I visited London for a business trip and found the St. Martins Lane very nice. The lobby is a bit too modern for me, but the room had a really comfortable bed and nice linens. The staff were very nice and helped me with directions and ideas on places to eat and were super friendly.

If you are a fan of clean, sleek design you will like this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriastewart, Hotel Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

We are happy you chose St Martins Lane for your business trip and that you subsequently enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments about our team and we all look forward to welcoming you back when you’re next in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This is a really nice hotel in one of the only few nice places left in London, Covent Garden! The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The hotel looks fantastic and the attention to detail in this place is superb. The food is good and the staff are really nice as well.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriastewart, Hotel Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Thank you so much for your gracious mention of St Martins Lane and our team. We are very happy you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Best in town, friendly staffs , always make u welcome and feel like home !

Room Tip: love the location , love the friendly staff , always make you welcome and feel like at home !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriastewart, Hotel Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

We always love being a ‘home away from home’ for our guests and we can’t wait to welcome you back home again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My wife and I stay in London a few times a year and find St Martins the best hotel we've stayed in. The location is excellent virtually in Covent Garden, within easy walking distance for the bars and nightlife of Soho and only a couple of minutes walk to Trafalgar Square. The staff are brilliant, helpful and friendly, always ready to help with anything. The hotel is very cool, modern slick decor, rooms are comfortable and the housekeeping is excellent. The bathroom is spacious and the beds are ultra comfy! We stay here every time we travel to London and will continue to do so. A great Hotel, staff and location which is something you don't get very often especially in a city hotel, but St Martins has it all! I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends or anyone wanting a cool place to stay in London.

Room Tip: All rooms I have stayed in have no problems, the deluxe rooms have a bigger bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steepypeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriastewart, Hotel Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

It’s great to know that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel and we really appreciate the recommendations. Please let us know next time you are back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,078 in London
4,058 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#64 of 1,078 in London
1,910 reviews
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#29 of 1,078 in London
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#71 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £188 - £468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing