We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel.. Amazing Experience... 10/10”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #79 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel.. Amazing Experience... 10/10”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I spent some time searching for the perfect hotel for a birthday surprise for my partner and boy did I find the perfect hotel! Everything about St Martins totally surpassed my expectations and more. Upon arrival you are greeted by these huge revolving doors which are lit up and although the hotel did not appear to have a sign informing of their name, I'd already received directions from the hotel staff and it was easy to find. The reception area is spacious and very modern, with tasteful artwork scattered around. We were welcomed by a friendly member of staff on reception who dealt with our check-in very efficiently and smoothly.

Inside the lifts ambient music was playing with little tv screens on the walls inside the lift which was different. The corridor to the rooms were lit up by little spotlights providing a very atmospheric feel even before you've seen what the room is like.

As for the room itself - wow where do I begin?! We were very lucky to have been upgraded to the queen superior which featured a bath tub and shower. The bathroom was a great size, there were plenty of towels and great little complimentary bathrooom treats such as body lotion; shower gel; shampoo/conditioner and vanity pack of shower cap and cotton buds etc.

Included in the wardrobe were bath robes and slippers plus ironing board; hairdryer etc. They have basically thought of every extra that a guest may need. The bed was extremely comfortable and the mood lighting was such a great feature. Another cool feature to the room was the tv cabinet which was housed the tv and mini bar. There were two huge floor standing mirrors; the furniture was tasteful and modern. The floor to ceiling windows provided a great view, we were on the 4th floor.

The actual location is perfect for theatreland, we went to see a show at the lyric theatre and only a short distance away. Staff were helpful in providing us with a map to get there too.

One of the reasons for booking this hotel was for a birthday treat for my partner and prior to our visit I had the pleasure of dealing with Steffi who I must say, went all out to ensure our stay was truely memorable. This included decorating our room whilst we were out at the theatre which included fresh rose petals; candles; cupcakes and ordering in other extras. I cannot state enough how helpful; kind and thoughtful Steffi was to help me with this surprise. St Martins is extremely lucky to have this special member of staff on board.

I honestly cannot say anything negative about St Martins, the only thing to mention was that housekeeping did knock quite early (around 9am I think) which did wake us up but it wasn't a problem. I could go on and list every little detail about this hotel but wouldn't want to spoil the surprise for all of you who are considering staying here.. all I can say is that you won't be disappointed, you will be amazed and made to feel special. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wishes for that extra special something to their trip and would most certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missjby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Wow, what an amazing and detailed review, thank you – we love it and we truly appreciate you detailing so many highlights of the hotel and your stay, and so pleased that the birthday celebrations were so memorable for you both. Steffi is our Guest Experience Manager and she really is a GEM, she loves to create a magical experience for all our guests and is always pleased to help with any pre-planning for a special occasion. We look forward to welcoming you both back and please let Steffi know when you are next staying with us (steffi.steidle@morganshotelgroup.com).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,712
    693
    186
    80
    33
See reviews for
333
1,206
172
586
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I have been a previously staying in a Morgan Group hotel (in San Francisco, see my review on tripadvisor) and it was an excellent experience for the price. Therefore, I had certain expectations. Those were mostly ruined during my one night stay in St Martins Lane. I am a regular traveller to London and decided to stay in St Martins Lane based on my work colleagues recommendations. I guess my disappointment was also fueled by the price of 330 GBP per night and the expectations related to that. Overall, St Martins Lane is for a place where design goes over comfort and practicability. Further, at this price level customers can expect certain services included, such as Wifi, breakfast and a TV which is less than 5 years old (Well, the old TV was hiding in a new designer closet). I had booked with a special company arrangement (including Wifi, breakfast) which I didn't get, even after asking the evening of arrival and the morning of departure at the reception. After a lengthy and not very friendly discussion I've got my take-away breakfast which was not very fresh and smashed into a fancy take-away box. I decided to have breakfast with Starbucks across the street. It might sound a bit picky but my 12h stay at St Martins Lane was just not meeting my expectations of what I should get for 330 GBP.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tg81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
We are very sorry that your first visit to St Martins Lane did not live up to your colleagues’ recommendations and we have separately written to you direct in response to the internal survey that you completed on departure to extend our most sincere apologies and an invitation to return. Unfortunately, the company rate was not available for your stay and I am sorry if this was not made known to you when your reservation was confirmed, in turn the rate subsequently booked was not linked to the corporate account. As advised in my email to you, we do hope you will return to stay with us again when you are next in London and please contact me direct at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Let me start by saying that this hotel was a designer's dream. They obviously gave someone free reign over place and were playful in their implementation. Kind of Alice in Wonderland meets South Beach. But unlike Morgan's Delano on South Beach where the wind gently sweeps through the lobby blowing the long white drapes and you wonder why you hadn't visited sooner, I just kind of felt like I wasn't cool or artsy enough to hang out downstairs. So up to my room. Hey the bed and desk are floating on pink neon. Maybe cool for the ultra lounge but how do you turn these off? The door to the restroom, I think it took 5 minutes to find then figure out how to open. The bed, looking quite cool floating around all of the glowing neon, had a mattress that could not have been more than 3 or 4 inches thick. Not comfortable for my 3 night stay. Definitely a case of fashion over function.

I've eaten at the restaurant downstairs and it's really good. I saw some famous folks waiting outside the club. It's in central London and all of that. But as someone who travels a bit, I don't really care for the feel of the place and definitely think they should have put more money towards the mattress and pulled back on some of the high design.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Tom, thank you for your feedback and I am very pleased to confirm that, since your stay in April 2011, we have replaced all the mattresses in the guestrooms. I am sorry if we were not aware of any concern during your stay, our bell team will always highlight room facilities and Housekeeping are also pleased to assist with any queries. We are planning more room improvements during 2012 and hope you will consider staying with us again when you are next in London. Thank you for your kind comments on Asia De Cuba which has also recently introduced an exciting new menu. Please let me know if you have an opportunity to stay with us again (jesper.soerensen@morganshotelgroup.com).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Although I've been to the bar and restaurant at St Martin's Lane a number of times this was my first time staying in the hotel and I was really impressed. And, I have to say, surprised. I have stayed in a number of other 'übercool' hotels both in London and around the world, which have turned out to be 'style over substance'; lovely to look at but lacking any warmth or real character... so it was a really pleasant surprise to experience both during my stay last weekend. I was staying with a group of friends to celebrate a special weekend with a friend. And the hotel team helped make it extra special for her and for us. Most of our rooms were upgraded, which was a lovely surprise. My friend also received a bottle of Laurent Perrier in her room. Another great touch. And we were really looked after by the concierge - both during the week in the run up to our stay - and over the weekend.
It goes without saying that the rooms are lovely, comfortable and indulgent; the bar and other public areas in the hotel are really stylish, but this can all become a bit beside the point if the service and attitude of the staff are not high quality as well, and if as a guest you are not made to feel welcome. Happily for us, we experienced all of this during our stay. I am already planning a weekend back with my husband.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopcatTC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
We’re so pleased that you enjoyed staying at St Martins Lane as much as you have previously enjoyed visiting the outlets, and thank you for the great comments on service. Concierge always love to help with recommendations and reservations for special occasions and it’s great to know that everyone had a memorable experience. We’re delighted that you’re already planning a return stay and please do let Concierge or me know when you’ve booked your visit (jesper.soerensen@morganshotelgroup.com).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel last week and found it wonderfully relaxing. The bedrooms are minimalist - so soothing and delightful. All the staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The decor of the public rooms is fabulous and the food was delicious. We definitely want to come back! Thank you.

Room Tip: Other visitors have said to ask for a room on the upper floors to minimise noise levels, but we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you, Teresa, for your great comments – we love to be absolutely fabulous and we definitely want you to come back!! Please let me know when you have booked your next stay (jesper.soerensen@morganshotelgroup.com).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Difficult to find if you have not been before as it has no signage but its next to the Gym next door which has a huge sign! The rooms are simple but stylish. We had deluxe room on the 6th floor which had great views and well away from the busy street noise below. Size of room was adequate but not overly large. Staff were very helpful especially when we had rowdy neighbours in the adjoining room next door. Management eventually quietened them down by 3.30am and knocked £100 off our bill which helped. We did not get to visit recommended Asia de Cuba but we did have a few drinks in the 'trendy' bar which we found to be dark, a little dreary and too loud for conversation. Great location and we would definitely stay again, but dont think its worth more than £230 per night (our room only deal on lastminute.com.

Room Tip: High floor for no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chill0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your review and we’re pleased to note that the location and service was a particular plus for you, however it’s hugely disappointing if other guests are not more considerate to the comfort of all residents and we are sorry you were disturbed. We hope you do have a chance to enjoy the hotel – and Asia De Cuba, which has just launched an exciting new menu – and our website has a number of promotions and packages available. Please let me know when you have organised another stay with us, jesper.soerensen@morganshotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale , England
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is an amazing trendy hotel right in the heart of London. From its swish lobby to the cool mood lit bedrooms, it's got it all. It's not cheap mind so expect to pay top dollar for any extras, there are no in room tea or coffee facilities so take a travel kettle if you like a brew when you wake, and at £12 for a tea tray for two ( no biscuits either ) you can soon rack up your room bill. It is on the doorstep of theatre land with Coventry garden just around the corner, every other attraction is within easy walking distance. Asia de Cuba has a great intimate feel, the food is good but not the best I have had for the price. However I must say that my customer experience from start to finish has to be commended, from the lobby to the young Italian waiter who combined charm with a total knowledge of the menu to provide world class service. We stayed at a Morgans Hotel in New York ( The Royalton ) and I have to say that I have been very impressed with both venues. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, just make sure you have plenty of cash to splash.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntys05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
It’s great to know that every member of staff you encountered demonstrated our core values so fully to create a memorable experience and thank you for highlighting the service. We are very proud of our location and style, and we’re so pleased that you’ve also had a chance to experience Royalton (the Hotel Manager at St Martins Lane has recently moved to Royalton as General Manager!) and that you’ve enjoyed both properties. We are reviewing tea/coffee facilities for the guestrooms in line with our design and space available, and Asia De Cuba has just launched an exciting new menu. We’d love to welcome you back when your next in London and please let me know when you have booked a return stay (jesper.soerensen@morganshotelgroup.com).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,068 in London
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#40 of 1,068 in London
2,110 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,715 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Property: St Martins Lane London Hotel
Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#75 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing