We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #76 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Have stayed here on a couple of occasions in the past. It's a great location for visits to the Opera or Theatre - its literally 2 minutes from the Coliseum. Standard rooms are not huge as you would expect but they are more than adequate and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_McKenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Mike_McKenna,
Thank you for your posting of St Martins Lane. We do hope you will have another opportunity to stay with us and enjoy what London has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,656 - 1,662 of 2,783 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times and have always had a good experience. I love the location, rooms, price value and the fact that although getting on a bit.... its still in good shape and has a bit of style. ( Sounds like me LOL)

I am prompted to write now as I wanted to share an example of first class customer service. I always eat in Asia deCuba when I stay and this time invited a couple of colleagues to dine with me. I had raved about the food and to my horror the food on that evening was not good and took an age to be served. I complained on the night and was given a discount off the bill. It did however leave a bad taste in my mouth, literally. On my last evening it was raining so I decided not to venture out for dinner but risk the restaurant again, the Young lady at the desk recognised me as a regular and I told her about my bad experience earlier in the week for no other reason than she asked....

I was shown to an excellent table and had a meal that was as good as I have had there in the past, there was also live music so for a dinner for one it was quite fun. During dinner the manager of the restaurant came and asked about my bad experience earlier in the week, so I gave him the lowdown, again cos he asked not because I was complaining.

Anyway, when I came to pay I was advised that dinner was on the house!

This unexpected and un solicited gesture means that the hotel will continue to get 20 nights a year from my business and the restaurant my patronage and I hope yours...

A simple message to all hotels, mistakes happen....its how you deal with them that determines the impact.

Bravo St Martins Lane and Asia deCuba

The

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank Travelheapsoftimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you so much Travelheapsoftimes for this lovely and detailed review of your experience with us here at St Martins Lane. I am personally pleased to read we manged to turn the experience around for you by being so accountable and gracious and correcting our mistake. When you plan to stay with us again please feel free to email me at jesper.soerensen@mhgc.com so I can oversee your booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at from Ed, who helped with bags to Carolyn who cleaned our room. The staff was so friendly! Our room was so clean! beds were excellent as well.
Great location on top of everything else! a short walk to tube station as well as Charing Cross Station. Trafalgar, Picadilly, Covenant Garden literally a short walk away! two theatres across the street and a few shops down was the Coliseum Opera House. A Tesco right around the corner if one needed it. A beautiful restaurant with good food and a very friendly staff. I'd come back again just because I felt welcome and appreciated as valued guest.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Willene,
Thank you so much for the praising review of St Martins Lane. We also appreciate your kind words of our team and the special mention of Ed and Carolyn. We are delighted you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. We are very lucky to be located in the middle of Covent Garden with access to all the west end has to offer. Please feel free to email us at edward.parkes@mhgc.com next time you plan to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I've stayed at the St Martins Lane Hotel the past three years. I love the rooms, the Light Bar, and the location. But mostly, I love the friendly, caring, competent, and enthusiastic staff. Since I travel by myself, the personal touch is very welcome. It is always sad to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesamusich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you very much Jamesamusich for choosing St Martins Lane as A Wonderful Place to stay. We very much appreciate your loyalty to us and are very pleased you are so appreciative of our teams efforts to make our guests feel special and cared for. We will look forward to having you with us again. Feel free to email us at caroline.evans@mhgc.com next time you plan to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed here for our 2nd wedding anniversary last year and stayed in the Sanderson for our first and St Martins Lane won hands down. The staff were fantastic from the check in on reception (and the wonderful upgrade when they realised it was our anniversary) to the great staff behind the bar and at Asia de Cuba who were so accommodating and friendly. The location is great and overall the service felt much more personal than The Sanderson, although they did recognise our anniversary with a bottle of wine overall you felt like a guest passing through vs being made to feel special and looked after at St Martins Lane. The Sanderson does have the benefit of of a Spa and I would thoroughly recommend the treatments there but the only real downside of St Martins Lane is a very small bar (we like to sit at the bar for drinks) and its still the winner in our eyes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dentonsdestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you very much for this great review Dentonsdestinations. We are very pleased to see St Martins Lane is your preferred destination and we could be part of the celebration of your 2nd wedding anniversary. Light Bar and Asia de Cuba does have a great menu and atmosphere. Equally do I have to agree that Agua at Sanderson is quite a treat. We will very much look forward to you returning to St Martins Lane again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Very welcoming staff, the room was excellent and the food in the restaurant was out of this world! The hotel is in a great place for enjoying everything London has to offer and the views on the 6th floor are amazing. I'm definitely going back for another meal and some very good wines. A great stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Kevin,
Thank you very much for posting your experience at St Martins Lane. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. And we have to agree there is some stunning views of London to be seen from our bedrooms. We can't wait to welcome you back to St Martins Lane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

As soon as you arrive at St Martins Lane you know you are in for a special stay. With a friendly welcome at the door, smooth check in, and a personal tour of the hotel for a first time guest.
Our bed was half the size of the room and really comfortable with beautiful soft bedding and fluffy towels.
Amy at concierge was very helpful with fantastic advice where we could eat that evening, and advice on how to get around London.
On our second evening we dined at Asia de Cuba for their Cuban Evening, eating their taster Menu and served by Sam and Selena - both so very attentive.
All the staff while we stayed were all so happy in their work - so thank you all for a fantastic weekend.
P and P

Room Tip: Ask at reception for their best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatandPaulB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Pat and Paul,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review of St Martins Lane. We are delighted to hear you had a First Class Stay and you had the opportunity to enjoy dinner in Asia de Cuba. I will definitely pass your gracious comments on about our team, Amy, Sam and Selena in particular. Please feel free to contact us directly next time you plan to visit London. We look forward to welcoming you again to St Martins Lane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,076 in London
3,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#57 of 1,076 in London
179 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#42 of 1,076 in London
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#73 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £203 - £461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing