We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informal luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #76 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Great location and a great night's sleep. The standard rooms are tiny (don't expect to be able to work in your room, I couldn't fit behind my desk) but I received a lovely welcome note and strawberries on arrival, and check out was painless. A candle was lit in my bedroom every night and excellent bathroom amenities. Asia de Cuba is an expensive but quality choice for dinner, lacking a little bit in 5 star service.

Room Tip: Some rooms are tiny so ask to switch if you are not happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loosecannonlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you loosecannonlondon for this great review of St Martins Lane. We are delighted you enjoyed our little "Welcome to St Martins Lane" amenity we had arranged for you. We are currently working on various refresh programmes to update the functionality and feel of our rooms and I think you will be pleased. Feel free to email us at nicole.messham@mhgc.com next time you are planning to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,638 - 1,644 of 2,782 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

An experience.
The staff is amazing.
The rate is fair.
Asia de Cuba is a good place to eat.
The Style is amazing and could be "over".
The point is "Do you like to stay nearest Trafalgar Square and Picadilly?"

The service is superb, even if compare with London high level.

Room Tip: There is no name in front of hotel. Style, but could be hard to finding it. Including my driver had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sca7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you very much for this, to the point, review of St Martins Lane. I am very pleased to read you had such an amazing experience with us. Sca7777 please feel free to email us directly when you are next in London so we can assist you with a booking. The email is nicole.messham@mhgc.com. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on business trip. Hotel is well located and has pretty good AC that helped during heat wave period.

Soundproofed windows minimize street noise, so I had a good view, and was still pretty quiet. Front desk staff were helpful for most part, but night shift bellmen do not know the neighborhood very well. read more on this below.

What's not to like:

-you must get out of bed to turn off the reading lights, that is unless you can read with green or magenta mood lighting

-a great tub is floating in middle of bathroom. Ledge to put soap, shampoo etc is high up vs. adjacent to tub. No grab bars either

-towel racks are stylish but towel would never dry on such a tiny rack so it defeats purpose of asking guests to hang up towels/go green

-no bedside tables within arms reach. You have to get out of bed (or have really long arms) to reach the ledge behind the bed. So I had to put alarm clock, reading light and other stuff with me in the bed.

- the build in venetian blinds embedded between the double paned window glass could not be adjusted - the pole to turn was missing, so you must have curtains closed all the way unless you want the building across the street to watch your every move.

-if you want to use hair dryer, only place to plug in near mirror is in closet - no ledge or table to put brushes, spray. Must put items on floor or on bottom of closet

-local atmosphere lacking - the bar had not one British beer, ale or cider on the menu.

-desk is very narrow and fixed/floating in room. The desk chair is made of metal. It is butt-rotting bad after 45 minutes.

-only comfortable place to sit was on the bed. At nearly $400 a night you'd think they could put in a comfortable chair.

-No local hospitality: no tea/coffee tray in the room that is standard issue at most British hotels. Had to ask for tea tray/kettle to be brought up. It took up most of space on the narrow desk, so only other place to put it was on the floor.

-TV system is maddening to use. Nobody on phone at front desk could describe how to use it so an engineer was sent up to show me how to use the TV. Whoever bought this system should be sacked!

-night shift bellman were eager to please but poorly informed. They need to tour around the neighborhood. After being told that few stores would be open on Sunday morning before 12 noon, I went out at 10am and found a Co-op, a Sainsbury's local and a Tesco market within three blocks of hotel that were all open for business.

-tired 90's too-cool for you style decor with dimly lit halls and corriders. Geez, get some lightbulbs that are more than 30 watts.

Boil down: if you are in London to party and need a hotel near theaters and Covent Garden/Soho area, don't need to use a hairdryer, don't mind getting out of bed to turn off reading lights or hunting down alarm clock, don't care about watching TV, don't care if you get any British flavor/feel from your visit, this place is for you.

For the price paid there are many better choices. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a bathtub, ask well in advance. Bring your own mini-book light if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highlandbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you highlandbride for the review of your stay at St Martins Lane. Please accept my apologies if you feel we fell short on several points during your stay. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you in more details. My email address is jesper.soerensen@mhgc.com. Thank you in advance for your response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

All I can say is wow! Our stay was absolutely amazing! To be entirely honest, the hotel initially felt a little cold and sterile but the staff at SML really do have the ability to warm any environment.
From the customer service received (not only by the staff who we met but also the management behind the scenes) to the bar and the breakfast, this hotel truly exceeded our expectations.
I can honestly say that there is nowhere I'd rather stay when visiting central London.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samreilly84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Samreilly,
Thank you so much for this amazing review of St Martins Lane and our team. We are thrilled we managed to wow you to such extend and have such an impact on your stay with us. Please feel free to contact us directly on nicole.messham@mhgc.com if you are planning to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We've been wanting to stay in this hotel for the past 15 years but have always been swayed somewhere else (hazlitt's, zetter, etc.) I was worried that the hotel would feel "old". While it does show the years it is still a wonderful place to stay. From the doorman Edward, to the desk clerk Analisa everyone was friendly and helpful. Our 6th floor room on the corner had wonderful light with views out to st. martin's lane and beyond. The bathroom has a great layout with places to store everything. We we're in London for Pride weekend and the city was overrun with party people. The wonderful thing about this hotel is it is set off from the crowds of Leicester square by just a few blocks, but it makes such a difference. We had considered the W but when I actually saw the hotel, with the hordes of crowds surrounding it (not to mention the very odd M&M store in the lobby...?) I was so glad I had picked SML.
The hotel is still worth the price for style and location.

Room Tip: Book early and get the 20% discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dchub3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you so much dchub3 for the praising review of St Martins Lane. We are very fortunate with our location in Covent Garden for the reasons you mention. Also thank you for the great mention of Edward our Bellman and Annalicia our Front Desk agent. I will make sure to pass this on to them. We hope you get the opportunity to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed in the St. Martin's Lane a few times and it is our home away from home in London. The people working there couldn't be nicer! Mike, the concierge will do anything for you that he humanly can! The location is superb: theaters within walking distance, J. Sheeky restaurant across the street, the National gallery 5 minutes away! We wouldn't stay anywhere else! Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the bathtub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngridA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear IngridA A,
Thank you very much for posting your review of St Martins Lane. We love to be your home away from home and hope we can pick up where we left off in near future. Additionally thank you for your lovely comments of our concierge Mike. I will make sure to pass this on to him. Feel free to let us know next time you plan to stay with us by emailing nicole.messham@mhgc.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I returned to St Martins lane after at least 10 years (if not more) and things haven´t really changed that much. The hotel looks like it did when new, albeit some wear and tear in the public spaces, the rooms are very nice. Minimalist, clean and spacious enough. Having lived in London the past 5 years, I am not that well acquainted with recent London hotels, except from the bar / restaurant scene. SML is a nice place to stay, very very central for all London offers just outside the door, but still calm and quiet. Service is very good (the even remembered my 10 year old former stay!, and room service swift serving a fantastic breakfast). Asia de Cuba is a very nice restaurant (been before) but the bar in some way feels a bit "noisy", and they do not have any other lounge area for you to enjoy a quiet drink (not allowed to bring your drink into the lobby!).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANicolai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you very much for your review on St Martins Lane. ANicolai we are very pleased we manged to wow you after 10 years. We do have various programmes in the pipeline to refresh the look and feel of St Martins Lane which we are very excited about. We do hope to see you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,076 in London
3,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#57 of 1,076 in London
179 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#42 of 1,076 in London
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#73 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £203 - £461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing