We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stark and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #79 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
horsham
Level 6 Contributor
491 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Stark and modern”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Philip Stark influenced the decor to this hotel assuming a minimalist but quirky design. Ideally located off Trafalgar Square/soho/theatre land, the hotel is extremely comfortable, welcoming, and staff very friendly and helpful. The room was equipped with iron, ironing board in addition to top quality products, wi games, dryers and shavers. breakfast was really good with wide range of options and loved the lemon meringue champagne cocktail. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you very much Boaster for your review of St Martins Lane. We are very delighted you had a great time with us. We will look forward to having you with us again. And feel free to let us know in advance that you are arriving by emailing us at nicole.messham@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,709
    692
    186
    80
    33
See reviews for
332
1,205
171
585
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Had a superior queen room on the 5th floor. It received a lot of sunlight in the afternoon and it was 30°C in London but the aircon worked perfectly well. The windows were soundproof. Comfortable bed, very clean carpet, nice marble desk. The bathroom and dressing took half the size of the 30 sqm room and are well designed, with separate bathtub and powerful shower. The only odd touch were the 90s style bulky telephones, the absence of free wifi and the shaky elevators.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Serin,
Thank you very much for your review of St Martins Lane. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Additionally am I pleased to inform you we are working on an extensive program to revitalise St Martins Lane and the issues raised from our guests are being addressed. Please feel free to email us at nicole.messham@mhgc.com next time you plan to stay with us so we can take extra care of you. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel for my husbands 40th, on arrival staff are lovely and helpful. They upgraded us as it was my hubby's birthday was given a court yard as an extra. Room was ok size as it's an hotel so only needed to be sleeping here. Bed sheets were a bit ripped and I expected better as this is a top hotel. Location was brill. Air con was great. Lots of bars near by.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Donna P,
Thank you very much for your review of St Martins Lane. I am very sorry we didn't live up to your expectations whilst you were with us celebrating your husbands 40th birthday. Please contact me on jesper.soerensen@mhgc.com so I can turn this experience around to something positive. Looking forward to your email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great location - right between Leicester Square and Covent Garden, you can't beat the selection of restaurants and nightlife in this area. However, that selection comes with a price; the hotel can be noisy so choose your room appropriately.

I asked for a quiet room and was told they only had rooms available on the first floor (Wimbledon weekend). It was a bit noisy at first, but then it quieted down. Not sure if I was in a sound jet-lagged sleep or if it actually did quiet down, but nonetheless, I slept well.

The rooms are a bit odd - I had trouble figuring out how to turn the lights on and off and was not sure what to do with the light that oscillated different hues of neon-colored light. What is the point of that!??! Use your profits for better sound insulation, please!

All in all, great if you're on a bachelor weekend getaway, but if you're there for work, I would go with something a little less modern and more practical.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear SimonBow
Thank you for your review of St Martins Lane. I am very sorry to read you feel we fell below your expectations during your stay with us. I would welcome the opportunity for us to redeem ourselves to you. Kindly email me at jesper.soerensen@mhgc.com so I may assist in doing so. Thank you advance for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We couldn't have picked a better hotel for our first visit to London. Everything from the accommodations, the decor, the extraordinarily friendly and helpful staff (special mention to Amy and Joey Ceunen, concierges extraordinaire!!), the superb location (literally minutes to most theatres, great restaurants, and fabulous shopping close to Covent Garden, the National and Portrait Galleries, Chinatown), were all perfect. Would definitely recommend to friends nd family, and look forward to staying here on our next visit!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elgasca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Elgasca,
Thank you very much for this, nothing but perfect, review of St Martins Lane. We are very pleased we could be part of you experiencing London for the first time. Additionally thank you for your special mention of our concierges, Amy & Joey - they will be pleased. We do hope you get the opportunity to stay with us in the future and please feel free to contact us directly on nicole.messham@mhgc.com so we can continue where you left off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at St. Martins Lane last week for my husband's business trip and with our 14 yr old son. The room was very comfortable had good amenities and greAt air conditioning. The hotel is walking distance between two tube stations and walking distance to great restaurants shops and theaters. The best part about our stay was their amazing staff! The front desk, especially Nicole who took time to print our Eurostar tots after a half hour of trying to email our files to her. another incredible person at their hotel was their concierge from Belgium. I believe his name was Jimmy he arranged my daughter and her boyfriends' excess baggage issues for over an hour and even used his personal credit card to pay for the fees since none of our credit cards would work! This goes beyond the duty and I appreciated his patience and suggestions. this exclusive boutique hotel made our family feel at home and exceeded all of our expectations on our trip to London.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 1st floor and was quite and cool since it didn't have the sun directly shini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookdznr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you so much for the amazing review of St Martins Lane. We are happy to read you and your family had a great time with us. We are equally delighted to read our concierge, Joey was so attentive in helping you with the excess baggage issues. I will make sure to pass your comments on to him. Bookdznr please feel free to contact us directly on nicole.messham@mhgc.com next time you plan to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Great location and a great night's sleep. The standard rooms are tiny (don't expect to be able to work in your room, I couldn't fit behind my desk) but I received a lovely welcome note and strawberries on arrival, and check out was painless. A candle was lit in my bedroom every night and excellent bathroom amenities. Asia de Cuba is an expensive but quality choice for dinner, lacking a little bit in 5 star service.

Room Tip: Some rooms are tiny so ask to switch if you are not happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loosecannonlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you loosecannonlondon for this great review of St Martins Lane. We are delighted you enjoyed our little "Welcome to St Martins Lane" amenity we had arranged for you. We are currently working on various refresh programmes to update the functionality and feel of our rooms and I think you will be pleased. Feel free to email us at nicole.messham@mhgc.com next time you are planning to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#99 of 1,068 in London
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#41 of 1,068 in London
2,101 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Property: St Martins Lane London Hotel
Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#74 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing