We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in the heart of London.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #78 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My husband and I traveled to London after a bike and barge trip through Belgium. We had biked 35 miles every day. We came to St. Martins Lane for our last week to relax and enjoy the sights of London. This hotel was absolutely what we needed for comfort, relaxation and seeing the sights easily. The staff was so accommodating. They upgraded our room which was huge and had a large and much needed bath tub!! Our laundry was done within one day and anytime we needed anything from housekeeping it came within 5 minutes. Every time we entered the hotel the staff was welcoming, friendly and eager to help us in anyway. We had delicious drinks in the light bar and the bar was always lively and fun. The light changes in the room and the room design was modern and exciting. Every time I come back to London I will stay at St. Martins Lane as it made me feel like my home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyJohnsob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you very much BettyJohnsob1 for this wonderful review of your stay at St Martins Lane. Firstly a big congratulations and well done from all of us on the 35 miles bike ride - that is quite an achievement. I am additionally very happy to read that our team took so very good care of you and your husband. We do hope to see you again with us soon and please feel free to email nicole.messham@mhgc.com with any requests you might have prior to your arrival. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,626 - 1,632 of 2,874 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Well what can I say? I've used plenty of hotels in my time. My husband still uses hotels an awful lot for work, in London too.

The service was great from start to finish. I did pay a cheaper advance rate through an agent. I doubled checked with the hotel all was ok. Due to us not getting away without the children very often and having limited time. I didn't want any hiccups.

The hotel were very reassuring. We checked in later than we'd hoped. We were given a free room upgrade and sat there waiting was a handwritten note congratulating us (it was an important celebration) and a complimentary bottle of champagne.

The room was big enough, considering it's used as a base. The bathroom was huge in comparison to those I've seen in Central London. The bath was big enough for 2, it was huge. There was also a good shower.

We had a street view, which was lovely. When outside the noise was immense. This hotel is right in the thick of it. Bars, restaurants, theatres, shops all on your doorstep. So lots of crowds. This however you wouldn't know from inside. The rooms blocked out the noise.

The bed was comfortable, nice and firm. The room had been attended to when we were out, so we returned to lit candles, and a plumped up bed, nice touch.

I hear the rooms are being refurbished in the next year. I hope they don't change too much and it's just a refreshment.

The staff were all so helpful and polite. I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again, either as a couple or family.

When we take the kids to London, which they love, I would stay here, even at full rack rate. As the service and help takes all the stress out of a visit to London!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Busymummymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you and your husband were able to enjoy some precious time together at St Martins Lane. You are right, St Martins Lane is soon to undergo an exciting renovation project, but please don’t worry, we do not intend to radically change the original and unique feel or design of the hotel, we will just be refreshing and reenergising St Martins Lane, introducing more warmth, colour and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to St Martins Lane in the future. If you need any assistance with future reservations Nicole.messham@mhgc.com will be more than happy to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Words cannot express how much I adore this hotel. There wasn't a single missed detail during my three-night stay. I arrived very tired from 22-hours of travel and meetings via taxi. I had the one mean taxi driver in London and his credit machine wasn't working. The bell man -- without even asking -- went to the front desk to get the GBP to cover my LHR > Covent Garden ride. So helpful!

As a vegan, I often struggle to eat, however the extremely caring room service staff personally delivered the veg menu to my door to walk me through my dinner options at Asia de Cuba downstairs. The food was divine!

My garden room with an outdoor patio was tranquil, spacious and so comfortable. I loved that bed! And who doesn't love Malin and Goetz bath products?

St. Martins Lane has become one of my top five favorite hotels in the world. It's worth every pence.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

We are delighted that you rate St Martins Lane so highly Tara and are glad we were able to offer you a relaxing sanctuary after your long journey, we always take pleasure in rescuing our guests from the hustle and bustle of the outside world. Please come back for another relaxing retreat soon, Nicole.messham@mhgc.com will make sure you have everything you need if you let her know when you next intend to return and we look forward to welcoming you back to St Martins Lane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

While I always expect quality from a Morgan hotel, St Martins Lane Hotel exceeded my expectations in every way. The staff provided us with exceptional service, from the doormen, the front desk, the concierge and even the manager, everyone could not have been
friendlier or more
accommodating. Our room was very clean and spacious. The bathroom was large and modern and many amenities were available to use or purchase.
As for the location, it is absolutely incredible! It is in the heart of the city and within walking distance are endless restaurants, stores, shops and theaters. We could not wait to get out every day and explore our surroundings. This is a great location for business travelers, as well as couples and families looking for a great central location with a lot of choices for food and activities.

I could not recommend this hotel more. There is no doubt I have found my new "home" in London.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APOLLACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you so much for your amazing review and recommendation, to say that you have found your new London home is a huge compliment. We are so pleased you found our team here friendly and attentive and that they helped to make your stay so memorable. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon, when you have a date in mind please get in touch with Nicole.messham@mhgc.com as she would be delighted to personally oversee your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel more than the once, and every time it meets my standards with the addition of friendly attentive staff. The restaurants food is excellent with the front of house team being truly professional. Sam the restaurant manager is kind and skilled at his work, making me and my friend feel welcome and able to enjoy the high quality we expect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Luke M,
Sam will be thrilled that he helped to make you and your friend feel so welcome in Asia de Cuba, and we are happy to hear that continue to enjoy the high level of guest service we offer at St Martins Lane. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week at the end of September. I don't think you could stay at a better location; we were able to walk to almost everything and being so close to Covent Gardens was fantastic. We had a studio suite (#205) and the room was large. There were no "drawers" for clothing but there were two sets of shelves and although I brought way too much clothing there was plenty of room. Everything was modern and sparse - exactly how I like it. I think this was the first hotel I've stayed at where I didn't have to request extra towels. The towels were thick and huge and we had at least 6 bath towels at any given time. Bathroom was very large, modern and immaculate. The staff was incredible. They greeted us by name each day and were warm and helpful. All of our requests, for example the coffee/tea set up, were responded to IMMEDIATELY. I was hesitant about going to London with nothing more than a bucket list of places we wanted to visit but the concierge(s) were incredible. Joey and Mike provided information, reservations, suggestions, etc. every step of the way. We even got a last minute reservation for tea at the Ritz, which usually needs to be booked months in advance, thanks to Joey. There is nothing they could have done to make this trip any better than it was and this was one of the most fantastic trips we've ever taken!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Phyllis,
Your wonderful review is greatly appreciated and we are all delighted that you and your husband had such an enjoyable week with us. Thank you for your great review. Joey and Mike will be touched that their efforts helped to make your stay so memorable. Please come back to see us again soon. Nicole.messham@mhgc.com would love to hear from you with details of your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stayed 3 nights while in a business trip in London. The room is small, but clean and nice. Bathroom is super clean and modern. I stayed in the 325 room, which has an awful view, but I didn't need one. I don't recommend the hotel with you're traveling accompanied, because the design of the room is perfect for one person, that's it. Staff is super nice and helpful. They have partnership with a fitness center next door, which is very convenient. Hotel location is great: close to Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden and other attractions and main transportation. I would go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BibiLeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear BibiLeite
We are so pleased you loved the location of the hotel and that you would like to come and stay with us again. Next time you visit we would be happy to show you some of our larger rooms as St Martins Lane is a great hotel whether you travel alone or with a guest, please get in touch with Nicole.messham@mhgc.com so that she can personally oversee your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#24 of 1,077 in London
4,147 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#27 of 1,077 in London
199 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London
ME London
#73 of 1,077 in London
2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#74 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £201 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing