We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly retreat from busy London theatre district” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Martins Lane London Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #70 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly retreat from busy London theatre district”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My recent stay at St. Martins Lane Hotel was a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of the surrounding streets. It was conveniently located between Trafalgar Square and Picadilly Square which were fun to visit. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were nicely furnished with very comfortable beds. The dress code was casual which fit right in for a weary traveler. Having free access to the health club next door was an added bonus and the in house bar was lively and fun. Would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone who likes modern décor mixed with comfort. Centrally located for the theatre district, with many fine restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you Buzz for your kind review. We are so glad you were able to leave the hectic city life behind you when you stepped through our revolving doors into the fantasy world of St Martins Lane. We hope you have the opportunity to escape from reality and enjoy another break with us again soon. Please let Nicole.messham@mhgc.com know when you would like to make a reservation so that she can personally oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,631
    662
    176
    74
    33
See reviews for
313
1,155
165
561
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We spent 6 nights in Loft King- a corner room on 6th floor. The windows were floor to ceiling and the room was Iincredibly bright, a joy in London. The views were excellent. Location cannot be beat. The concierge desk- Joey and Michael-were fabulous...recommendations and assistance with a smile. Even the bellman was a joy- he ran all the way up the street to hail a cab for us. Asia de Cuba was good and the lobby bar was small but fun. Only things needed from hotel to receive an excellent review are to improve bed quality and refresh/update the look of the rooms. Also free WiFi in this day and age should be a given not a profit center. All in all a very good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sftcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
That was a fantastic review of your stay at St Martins Lane. Thank you very much sftcat. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we will make sure to pass your personal mentions of Joey and Michael on to them. Please feel free to email nicole.messham@mhgc.com with any special requests you may have for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have just stayed at The St Martins Lane Hotel, wow its lovely. it obviously has a really stylish interior but the thing that really makes it special are the fantastic staff, they are trained to such a high standard, it really was a pleasure being there. The bar area is great , you can ask for odd things at odd times, nothing fazes them, they are so friendly and helpul.
Lovely room with mood lighting, amazing view of Nelsons Column, very special to lie in bed staring at that ! Great washroom area, for once someone had thought you might need to put down a wash bag! they'd also thought a girl might not want to get her hair wet in the shower so two options there too.
Complete treat save up and go!

Room Tip: Higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you very much LondonTolly for this fabulous review. We are very delighted you had such a great time with us and enjoyed Light Bar. We definitely hope to see you again shortly with us and please feel free to email nicole.messham@mhgc.com and let her know you are coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I've stayed in many hotels, and this was one of my favorites. Beautiful room, great service, friendly staff in a very cool neighborhood of London. I can't think of any downsides. They also have an excellent health club next door where you get free entry.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffr0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you very much Jeffr0s for this fantastic review of your stay at St Martins Lane. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us and found the complimentary access to GymBox convenient. We do hope to see you again shortly. Feel free to email nicole.messham@mhgc.com with any special requests prior to your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I recently stayed at 'St Martins lane' hotel again - 11th Oct through to monday the 14th and to say I was impressed is a mere understatement. I find the place vibrant, beautiful and well designed. This however is not a patch on the smiles you are given at this hotel and the warm that radiates from the Staff.

I would like to say a particular thank you to Alex on the conceirge desk. He is highly skilled at mixing a professional manner with one of friendliness and warmth. He during is a face I am always so pleased to see on the Conceirge desk. He is always willing to help and fairs well under pressure when the desks get busy. I have been witnessed to him juggling helping staff at the check in desk and manning the conceirge side of his job. He truly should be a valued member of this hotel, he certainly is from a guest perspective.

Amet, the bellman is also a name I want to mention. He, like Alex, always in my experience goes above and beyond for his guests. I watched him hail cabs on Saturday evening for many guests and he is always polite, efficient, and welcoming. Again, he seems to have this incredible balance between efficiency and friendliness. I am delighted to honor him by writing this email because his work truly is exceptional.

I would also like to take the time to mention Paris and Sonia on the check in desk and Amy on the Conceirge desk. These women are again, so efficient and good at what they do. It is a pleasure to enter the hotel and have people you feel care about you staying there. I commend their work too as they truly are three remarkable women who are amazing at their job.

Another beautiful visit and I will return again, often.

This hotel is made by its staff and the level of service they provide.
I love being in the covent garden area it is so vibrant and beautiful. And with Neals Yard and 'the wild food cafe and juice bar - two seperate doors- just in that space. This hotel has everything in walking distance... Monmouth coffee on monmouth street too, just up the road, is NOT one independent coffee shop to be missed.
LOve the hotel. loved it all.

Room Tip: Rooms above level 4 are quieter. I love level one and facing the front street, you get to sit and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director or Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Angela,
Thank you for this wonderful review of your stay at St Martins Lane. We are so very pleased you enjoyed your time with us and so many team members managed to stand out with you. I will make sure to pass your amazing feedback on to them. Angela, please feel free to nicole.messham@mhgc.com next time you are visiting us so she may oversee your booking and any requests you may have. We look forward to seeing you shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Another "trendy" hotel that is over designed but not functional. Light switches that didn't work, dimmers that didn't dim, a toilet concealed by a glass door that didn't close completely for privacy. I would love a solid, beautiful hotel room that was actually easy to master and fully functional. This was not it.

Through the king loft is large and the beds and bedding wonderful I just can't accept that the lights in the bath were blinding and I couldn't use a toilet privately. (No door on the bathroom.)

The location is wonderful, but I would not return to this property.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Ralph,
Thank you for your post of your experience at St Martins Lane. I apologise you didn't find our design and layout suitable for your needs and taste. We do understand the layout of our rooms can be challenging at times for our guests. We will be addressing this challenges in various programmes we are rolling out early next year within the hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Overnight stay booked through lastminute so a better deal than normal prices for the hotel. Was greeted at reception and little things like asking about trip tells you they care about customers. We were given an upgrade without asking, even with a cheaper booking, perhaps this was because we booked in for afternoon tea at Asia de Cuba?. The room was comfortable and nicely executed. Warmer in ambiance than its sister hotel, the Sanderson. I believe some rooms are very small but ours was well sized with gorgeous bathroom featuring ample space and walk in wet room shower. Nice amenities and M+G products. Despite it being an older hotel (now) it still has a freshness about it and as long as you get a good deal and above entry level room, it's a good way to see london given it's prime location. Will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BowTieCurryClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you very much BowTieCurryClub for this fantastic review of your stay at St Martins Lane. I am delighted to see you had such a fantastic time with us and appreciated our quirkiness. We hope you enjoyed our newly launched Afternoon Tea in Asia de Cuba. Please feel free to let us know when you are next in town by emailing nicole.messham@mhgc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#40 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London
ME London
#75 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#86 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Property: St Martins Lane London Hotel
Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#65 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing