We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My most wonderful vacay in London!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #80 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sanford, North Carolina
1 review
“My most wonderful vacay in London!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The St. Martins Lane Hotel was located perfectly for the theatre, sightseeing, and eating experiences that I had in London. I could walk to almost every place I wanted to visit. The hotel itself was comfortable and beautiful. The service was impeccable. The staff was fabulous! Everyone - Michael, Nicole, Joey, Ed, Anna, et al - were terrific and made me feel special. I especially loved the shower!

Room Tip: I don't think there could be a bad room at St. Martins Lane. We were on the east side, and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Hi Sue, we are thrilled that you found St Martins Lane so perfectly located for all your needs whilst you were in London, we are lucky to be so centrally positioned. Michael, Nicole, Joey, Ed and Anna will be so pleased they made your time here extra special and we all hope to welcome you back to St Martins Lane when you are next in London. Please let Nicole.messham@mhgc.com know when you intend to return so that she can ensure your next stay is even more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,692
    685
    185
    79
    33
See reviews for
329
1,191
170
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, S.Wales.UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I have just got home from a weekend in St Martins and I had to write this review TONIGHT! Why? because it was a FABULOUS STAY!!! I went with my friend and we stayed in a double double room. The rooms ooze modern and sophistication. The room was plenty big enough and we had a hallway with a storage area for our clothes. The mood lights are a fab idea. The bathroom was great. Big and an amazing shower! I rang housekeeping for some coffee facilities and within a minute a man was at the door! Top service! Talking of service... this was a very high level throughout all the staff we met. Everyone was friendly without being false or over the top. I loved how they remembered my name and asked how our night at Once the musical had been. Down to earth personal staff is a great bonus! We had an amazing time. I have stayed in five star hotels on Park Lane, hotels in Mayfair, but this has been my favourite! I cannot wait to go back! Thanks all that made it a great trip for myself and my friend. Go to Bills for breakfast or dinner... fab! Its in St Martins Courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsAJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you so much for your marvellous review of St Martins Lane! We are delighted that you and your friend had such a fabulous stay with us. It is so kind of you to mention our high standard of personal service as we aim to make our guests feel as comfortable and welcome as possible so that they have a truly memorable experience with us. We are thrilled to be your favourite luxury hotel and really look forward to welcoming you back when you next come to stay. Please let Nicole.messham@mhgc.com know when you have a date in mind so that she can personally oversee you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and what can I say? Wow!!
My partner booked this hotel as a surprise, we were celebrating a special occasion and he had been in contact with the con concierge staff and Nicole the guest experience manager prior to our arrival. They arranged for an upgrade, fresh rose petals spread throughout the room, a bottle of champagne and complimentary cocktails in the bar, the perfect touch!!!
The hotel itself is in the best location close to everuthing and everywhere. The staff are very helpful and the rooms lovely.
Will definitely recommend this hotel and will be returning, hopefully for longer next time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sisterpurds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
We are delighted that your partner chose to surprise you with a night at St Martins Lane as we love to go the extra mile when we know a guest is here for a special celebration. We are so pleased you enjoyed the surprises we left you in your room, it was a pleasure to be able to make your stay with us so memorable. We hope that you will be able to return for a longer visit next time. Make sure you let Nicole.messham@mhgc.com know when you are planning your next visit so she can do everything she can to make your next visit even more pleasurable! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Everything about this hotel is perfect. We arrived off of a 4-hour train ride from Edinburgh, tired, peckish, and slightly damp from navigating the alleyways from the Leicester Square station in the rain (which is ridiculously close, but for two disoriented Americans, it's not). Ed, at the front desk, was so sweet and accommodating that he had our gigantic soggy suitcases wiped down before he took us to our room. That right then and there was above our expectations, for I'm sure those bags suffered far more abuse from Virgin Atlantic than a little rain. Anyway, our room was fantastic - located right behind the English National Opera House, so it was very quiet. Even though it's smack in the middle of the very busy Leicester Square/Covent Garden (and we were there during Cocktail week) it was very peaceful. Everything was new and clean, the amenities plentiful, and most importantly, the bed was very comfortable. I also loved the plant hanging on the wall, and how a member of the staff would light a candle in the bathroom in the evening. It was those small details that made this hotel so lovely. But I have to say, it is the staff that really makes this place so special. Everyone is so kind and knowledgeable. I cannot count the times we went to the concierge (each and every one of you is a credit to your service) for help, whether it was cheap theatre tickets, how to get a refund for the Oyster Cards that never showed up, or how to make a simple local phone call (which is quite complicated if you've only dealt with no more than 10 digits for the majority of your life...11 if it's a 1-800 number...I swear we're really not that incompetent). To top it off, the hotel's location is perfectly centralized to EVERYTHING even though it's smack in the middle of the very busy Leicester Square/Covent Garden We mostly walked everywhere, but it's so stupidly easy to take the tube anywhere and everywhere as well. Thank you everyone at St. Martins Lane Hotel for making our holiday in London that much more enjoyable! We will be back soon, and we will be staying with you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfordiani09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
It was a pleasure to look after you whilst you were holidaying in London and we are thrilled that we helped to make your time here so special. London is an amazing city and we are very lucky to be located so centrally. It was unfortunate that you arrived on a wet day in London but thankfully Ed was on hand to make you feel warm and welcome at St Martins Lane! We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon as we would love to welcome you back. Nicole.messham@mhgc.com is looking forward to hearing from you with details of your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My recent stay at St. Martins Lane Hotel was a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of the surrounding streets. It was conveniently located between Trafalgar Square and Picadilly Square which were fun to visit. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were nicely furnished with very comfortable beds. The dress code was casual which fit right in for a weary traveler. Having free access to the health club next door was an added bonus and the in house bar was lively and fun. Would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone who likes modern décor mixed with comfort. Centrally located for the theatre district, with many fine restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you Buzz for your kind review. We are so glad you were able to leave the hectic city life behind you when you stepped through our revolving doors into the fantasy world of St Martins Lane. We hope you have the opportunity to escape from reality and enjoy another break with us again soon. Please let Nicole.messham@mhgc.com know when you would like to make a reservation so that she can personally oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We spent 6 nights in Loft King- a corner room on 6th floor. The windows were floor to ceiling and the room was Iincredibly bright, a joy in London. The views were excellent. Location cannot be beat. The concierge desk- Joey and Michael-were fabulous...recommendations and assistance with a smile. Even the bellman was a joy- he ran all the way up the street to hail a cab for us. Asia de Cuba was good and the lobby bar was small but fun. Only things needed from hotel to receive an excellent review are to improve bed quality and refresh/update the look of the rooms. Also free WiFi in this day and age should be a given not a profit center. All in all a very good stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sftcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
That was a fantastic review of your stay at St Martins Lane. Thank you very much sftcat. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we will make sure to pass your personal mentions of Joey and Michael on to them. Please feel free to email nicole.messham@mhgc.com with any special requests you may have for your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have just stayed at The St Martins Lane Hotel, wow its lovely. it obviously has a really stylish interior but the thing that really makes it special are the fantastic staff, they are trained to such a high standard, it really was a pleasure being there. The bar area is great , you can ask for odd things at odd times, nothing fazes them, they are so friendly and helpul.
Lovely room with mood lighting, amazing view of Nelsons Column, very special to lie in bed staring at that ! Great washroom area, for once someone had thought you might need to put down a wash bag! they'd also thought a girl might not want to get her hair wet in the shower so two options there too.
Complete treat save up and go!

Room Tip: Higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you very much LondonTolly for this fabulous review. We are very delighted you had such a great time with us and enjoyed Light Bar. We definitely hope to see you again shortly with us and please feel free to email nicole.messham@mhgc.com and let her know you are coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,067 in London
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#43 of 1,067 in London
2,061 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Property: St Martins Lane London Hotel
Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#74 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing