We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend with sister and mother”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #79 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
“Long weekend with sister and mother”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Went to London for a long weekend with my sister and mother and was blown away by St. Martins Lane. The hotel itself is beautiful and our room was pure indulgence. Amazingly comfortable beds, ample wardrobe space, plush carpet, you name it. The staff was extremely accommodating with all our special requests (computer charger, earplugs at 11pm when my mum really started snoring etc). Our fantastic dreamy bathroom was complete with tub and super nice toiletries from Malin + Goetz. The hotel is not only clean, friendly and happening, I thought it was also a fun place to stay. Alex, Amy and Joey are all great concierges who gave us brilliant recommendations. Alex especially managed to get completely in tune with what we wanted to do during our stay and we went to some fantastic eats (and we're all extremely picky foodies) on his advice. Altogether 100% greatness on all levels, I would definitely come back, and definitely recommend warmly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Hi Anna, thank you so much for your fabulous review, we always love to hear when our guests’ expectations have been surpassed at St Martins Lane. Your feedback is a pleasure to read and we are thrilled that you found our hotel pure indulgence. Alex, Amy and Joey will be thrilled that their help made your stay so enjoyable. We are delighted that you intend to come back again and that you will recommend us to others. Please do let Nicole.messham@mhgc.com know when you would like to return as she would be delighted to personally oversee your next visit and our amazing Concierge team will be looking forward to recommending you some more new and exciting places to eat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,678
    676
    184
    77
    33
See reviews for
329
1,181
170
573
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

St. Martin's Lane offers superb service in every aspect. Excellent restaurant, invaluable advice from concierge, spot on wait staff, amazing decor, excellent bed and bath. Short walk to Trafalgar Square and theater district.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Pam, we are delighted that you found everything St Martins Lane has to offer so superb, thank you for such a great review. Please make sure you come back for another visit soon as we would love to welcome you back. Nicole.messham@mhgc.com will make sure your next stay is even more superb if you contact her when you wish to make a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just home from a weekend in London and feeling very happy !! This hotel is fantastic. All the staff are so friendly and service was excellent. They knew in advance it was a special occasion and did everything they could to make it unforgettable. We ate in the hotel restaurant which was one of the best meals we have ever had and at the end they bought out a special dessert for us with chocolate writing wishing us a Happy 1st Anniversary on it. Our room was clean, comfortable and a well stocked mini bar. We would like to make this a yearly trip but the thought of staying anywhere else in London is now not an option!!! Roll on next year !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashking2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
We are so pleased that you decided to spend your anniversary celebration at St Martins Lane and are thrilled to have made your time so memorable. Thank you for your kind comments on our hotel and our wonderful team here. Please do make sure that you come back to see us again very soon as we are looking forward to welcoming you back. Nicole.messham@mhgc.com would be delighted to hear from you when would like to make a booking so that she can personally oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Sophisticated, trendy hotel with staff to match. Great bathroom accessories and excellent bed and pillows and bathrobes. Exclusive toiletries available for purchase and displayed in room.. Great location and could be missed if you are not aware of location. Hotel has own transport available but stick to taxi as it can be expensive. Bar and restaurant available. Good central location for walking and sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ileana318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you Ileana for your review, we are glad you enjoyed so many aspects St Martins Lane has to offer. I hope you have the opportunity to return to us again soon so that you can make the most of our great central location. If you get in touch with Nicole.messham@mhgc.com when you would like to make a reservation she will make sure your next visit is full of fun and our amazing concierge team will be able to suggest some things to do which you might find exciting. We look forward to seeing you again at St Martins Lane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I enjoyed a fantastic birthday weekend in this hotel with my mum and sisters. I hadn't even stepped out of the cab when already Ed from the hotel was providing a great warm welcome. We had two double double rooms a few doors apart and they were great - modern, spotless, surprisingly roomy for central London and very well equipped. You really get a sense that the staff in this hotel love what they do and that makes such a difference to your stay. Check out the Light Bar and be wowed by the dancing bar and security staff - they don't do routines but they are having such fun working they just dance around!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you Fiona for your great review. You are right, our team do love the hotel and especially enjoy making our guests feel welcome and at home at St Martins Lane, so we are thrilled to hear that you, your mum and your sisters all had a great weekend celebrating your birthday with us. We hope that you all come back to stay again soon, please let Nicole.messham@mhgc.com know when you next intend to visit so that she can make sure your next stay is even more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel on the 19th October for one nights accommodation upon entering the hotel you are very much welcomed by all staff that you meet reception was quick and efficient and you was straight up to your room which are compact but very we'll set out .we were staying to go and see a show in the strand which is very convieniant with the hotel booking we had a meal in the hotel Cuban style which is very lively and great atmosphere we had the taster meal which included starter and main course which was lovely with great staff we totally enjoyed our stay and would return again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DayAllan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
We are always pleased to give our guests a warm welcome at St Martins Lane! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us last month and had time to taste some or Asian/Cuban dishes in Asia de Cuba. Our staff will be delighted that you loved the fusion of flavours. Please make sure you come back to stay with us again soon. If you contact Nicole.messham@mhgc.com when you would like to make a booking she will be happy to make sure your next visit is even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Staying in St Martins Lane hotel, was like feeling like the cool kid at school. I felt exclusively special due to the incredibly helpful and friendly staff. I felt in-the-know because the hotel was situated literally in the West End, London's hub of culture and experience. I felt accommodated due to the cosy modern rooms and amazing turn-down services which was akin to being tucked in to bed. I felt I could maintain my homely rituals of exercise due to UK's state of the art gym, Gymbox, being just next door which we had full access to. In general, I felt like I had stayed in a place which combined the comfort of my home life with the luxury and escapism of a hotel.

The key difference between this hotel and others, is the phenomenal people that work here. The reception staff were friendly, energetic and efficient. The concierge and doormen had encyclopedic knowledge of good places to eat, drink, explore and were happy to pass on this information. The security boys at the hotel's bar were also a stand-out, namely CJ. Thanks for teaching me those moves man.
When you do inevitably arrive there, seek out a girl by the name of Nicole Messham, because she was a vital factor in our amazing experience. Just a lovely person in every sense of the word who will go out of her way to help with whatever she can.

Just do yourself a favour and stay here next time in London, you won't regret it!
Link





  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linkdiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper_Soerensen, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Link, your review is absolutely delightful, thank you for your kind comments. We are so pleased to have been able to make you feel so special and welcome at St Martins Lane, and it is such a compliment to hear that you felt so at home here. Thank you also for mentioning our fantastic team, we strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests so to hear that their hard work has been recognised is incredibly rewarding for us all. CJ and Nicole will be delighted that they helped to make your time with us so memorable. Please do come to see us again when you next visit London, Nicole will be looking forward to hearing from you with the details of your next trip, please contact her directly at Nicole.messham@mhgc.com. We all look forward to welcoming you back to St Martins Lane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#96 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#40 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Property: St Martins Lane London Hotel
Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#73 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing