We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #77 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here for 7 days. Very nice boutique hotel in prime London location. Couple of blocks from Trafalgar Square, Covent Gardens, Long Acre street shops and theatres. Two minutes from Leicester tube station. Friendly reception staff, including very handsome doormen. Check in/out was a breeze.

Room was good size, lots of shelving available. Great windows with noise cancellation. Bathroom was very big, but with two cons: first, we were given a handicapped-accessible room which had no door, thus, we had to close the bedroom door when using the toilet; secondly, the faucet was not practical – location of the tap did not leave much room to get hands washed.

We dined once at Asia de Cuba – excellent! Beautiful ambiance, delicious food, great service! We shared two appetizers – scallops and calamari salad – both delicious, and the Chilean sea bass – excellent quality, perfectly cooked. Highly recommend. The restaurant was full every night – very popular.

We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vero_PK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Vero_PK,

Thank you for your indepth review of your week in St Martins Lane, it sounds like you have enjoyed every aspect of the hotel including dining in Asia de Cuba I am delighted you were able to sample the calamari salad, its one of our firm favourites! I’m glad all the staff you encountered were friendly and attentive towards you. Some of our standard rooms are wheelchair accessible.

Next time you do stay with us please keep in touch with me so that I will be able to personally manage your booking, you can reach me at Nicole.messham@mhgc.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Messham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,520 - 1,526 of 2,889 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night to accompany my husband to London prior to him flying off to work. We had previously stayed in a Morgan hotel in New York, the Royalton (see review), we had found the hotel there great but the staff a little pretentious, so it was with trepidation we arrived at the hotel. I am pleased to say that the hotel was gorgeous, our room though a little small was wonderful and bright and airy, with great views over London. The staff without exception were outstanding, they always acknowledged us and genuinely seemed pleased to see us, such a difference from our experience in the
Royalton!! A special mention to Gabor, he made us feel very welcome and treated us like old friends, thank you. We ate in Asia De Cuba and drank in the light bar, again both were very good and again nothing but praise for the attentive and friendly staff. We enjoyed our stay so much we are already booked in again for
March!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracieEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear TracieEastYorkshire,

Thank you for your delightful review of your recent stay at St Martins Lane. We are committed to delivering friendly and attentive service and ensuring that you are welcomed into the family and made to feel at home.

I’m overjoyed Gabor made such a special connection with you I have passed your kinds words and we are both awaiting your return.We do have several different room categories and many of them have a much larger bathroom than the standard room so next time you come please book direct with me to ensure we have the most accommodating room for you.

Warm Regards,

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I booked an overnight stay for our 20th wedding anniversary in January and contacted Nicole to let her know it was a special occasion for us. She had a room upgrade organised for us and the room was decorated with rose petals and tea lights when we walked in...it was so pretty and romantic. She also had a bottle of champagne on ice in the room for our arrival. It was just perfect..so thank you very much Nicole...you really know about customer service. After seeing Stewart Lee in Leicester Square theatre,(absolutely hilarious BTW) we returned to The Light Bar.. The cocktails were outstanding and once again the staff were great...really efficient. Definitely can't wait to come back and stay longer next time.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank finnsaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Finnsaunders,

Wow thank you so much your kind words - It really is the highest praise we can receive. I am always committed to ensuring our guests have a unforgettable experience whilst at St Martins Lane. I’m glad you were able to take in a show in the surrounding West End area.
There are some fantastic shows on at the moment that are a stones throw away from the hotel.

The Light Bar does do incredible cocktails to end the evening perfectly.We are awaiting your return and excited to continue the magic.

Please let me know when you plan to return I look forward to it.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Messham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Located in Covent garden, it is a convenient location - in walking distance to the tube and many central attractions. The room's décor was modern and fun. Would definitely recommend staying there and would probably stay there again next time in London.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryguy22x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Ryguy22x,

Thank you for your review. We welcome your return and look forward to seeing you sooner rather than later I hope. Please let me know when you plan to return so I can ensure you have a fabulous stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Messham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

All the staff are very friendly and the rooms are really comfortable and modern. The rooms have all the things you want and need, there is air conditioning but you can also open a window if you want to, so you don't wake up with a head like a boiled owl! Really fantastic.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the upgraded ones can offer some extras, or a bath as well as a shower, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soosipicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Soosipicc,

Your review is greatly appreciated and it is evident that you had a comfortable and memorable experience which is what we strive to deliver. Please reach out to me at nicole.messham@mhgc.com, when you are interested in returning, I would like to be your personal St Martins Lane ally. I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Great value from top secret hotels. What's great: lovely staff, waving as you tour the hotel!.small but lovely boutique rooms, beautifully lit and furnished. What didn't work: you can't find the blooming thing! No sign at all and it doesn't look like a hotel. We sat in the bar waiting for cocktails for 25 minutes. The guy who was front of house seemed to be playing on his iPad and there was still no sign of a drink when we walked out.
So my advice......get the same level of care and Capability in the bar as everywhere else. I would definitely go back to the hotel but would drink elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillianlesleywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear thewhitewoman,

Thank you for your review and I am glad to see that you found us and now you know where we are you shall not forget!! We pride ourselves on our friendless and caring service and intend to make every guest feel at home. I’m sorry we missed the mark with you in the Light Bar I would like to personally oversee your next booking when you return to St Martins Lane so that we can redeem ourselves. I can be reached on nicole.messham@mhgc.com so please do contact me when you have a date in mind.

Warm regards,

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Very trendy hotel, and staff extremely friendly.
Room was very small, with huge bed in the middle. Luckily I carry only hand-luggage.Not sure how people cope with big suitcases in this room.
Room is very quiet, air-con works perfectly, bed is comfortable.
Turndown service light the candles in the bathroom - nice!
Coffee and tea making equipment are provided to room upon request.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piiku99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Matkaaja_68,

I’m delighted you found all elements of the hotel to be superb and our beds extremely comfortable. They really do allow you to have a wonderful night’s sleep and wake-up feeling refreshed and raring to explore all London has to offer. We always want our guests to enjoy their St Martins Lane experience and our staff are more than happy to go above & beyond to make sure you have a wonderful stay. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at nicole.messham@mhgc.com next time you’re in London.

Warm regards,

Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#25 of 1,081 in London
4,211 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London
ME London
#72 of 1,081 in London
2,947 reviews
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#24 of 1,081 in London
209 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#73 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £217 - £381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing