We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #79 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This hotel felt amazing as soon as we were approaching it walking down the street and before we even stepped foot inside. The contemporary furniture and design (by Philippe Starck) was amazing, and there was always something new and interesting to look at. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The room was great, it had changing lights around the bed, iPod docks and all sorts of very cool touches. Check out the fish tank in the lift, that always makes people do a double take. We didn’t eat in the hotel or make much use of the facilities, but what we did see was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeesterBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Sixmj,

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at St Martins Lane, it sounds like you have enjoyed every aspect of the hotel.
I’m glad all the staff you encountered were friendly and attentive towards you.
You must try dining in Asia de Cuba when you return - once you've tried it will be one of your firm favourites I promise you that!
Please let me know when you plan to return to us I would be more than happy to help you with anything you need - you can reach me on nicole.messham@mhgc.com

Warm Regards,

Nicole Messham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,692
    685
    185
    79
    33
See reviews for
329
1,191
170
583
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The St Martins Lane Hotel and staff made my two long stays (one 3 weeks and one 4 weeks) in December 2013 and February 2014 absolute bliss.

Each and every element of this hotel is perfect – the warm welcome from the doormen, reception staff and concierge, upbeat music and creative interior design, immaculately clean room, crisp linen, comfy bed and pillows, lush toiletries, roll top bath, jet shower, floor to ceiling windows (which you can open for fresh air), mood lighting above bed, excellent breakfast and room service (I was working late every evening so didn’t get chance to try the restaurant) and last but not least a fabulous location for exploring everything central London has to offer from the doorstep and by foot! Oh yes and a fantastic range of cocktails in their light bar – the one in the Tiki glass is best!

You get free access to the gym next door ‘Gymbox’ which opens early till late and has great equipment (cardio and weights) as well as a huge choice of classes.

On my last night the hotel gave me a voucher for a free cocktail and had made me a huge chocolate cake covered in strawberries with writing in chocolate on top saying ‘come back soon’ – such a lovely surprise and gesture.

If I could pick one improvement the hotel could make, it would be to have a spa or in-room treatments service which I would most definitely have made use of during my stay.

I’d never hesitate to recommend the St Martins Lane Hotel to anyone I know and will definitely be back to stay again soon.

Thank you to everyone at St Martins Lane when you read this!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are quieter - although there's not much traffic noise during the night anyway. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEETD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Anita,

What an incredible review of your 7 weeks at St Martins Lane – you're part of the family now – we miss you already! It is always a pleasure to welcome our regular guests back home, and it is great that you continue to have a tremendous experience on each stay.

It is so lovely to hear that we have forged an emotional connection with you and that so many of our staff made you feel at home. St Martins Lane is a completely unique design boutique hotel; every aspect of the hotel has been thought through and has a story tell – please feel free to let me know when you return as I would love to enlighten you on some of our hidden stories.
During your time with us you have truly experienced the magic we create here and how we are committed to providing an attentive and surprising guest service.

Touching on your point about Spa treatments as a guest at our hotel you have complimentary access to the spa facilities at Sanderson Hotel which is located on Berners Street just off Oxford Street.

Anita, we cannot wait to have you back with us please keep in touch and let me know when you plan to return on nicole.messham@mhgc.com - we will have the Tiki Cocktail waiting for you. I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Messham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Although the first impression of the Saint Martins is of a trendy - snobish hotel, once you get acquainted with the staff youll find that is home away from home. This is my second time, and I enjoyed it in spite of some minor flaws regarding the lifts, renovation works etc. The reception staff is very friendly and efficient and the concierge´s are the best. The location is unbeatable, in the middle of everything without the noise !!
Be aware that standard rooms are tiny but well equiped and the breakfast prices outrageous. Ah, one last thing, my 13 year old daughter said she never met in any hotel such handsome doormen !!

Room Tip: Top floors are much quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Roberta S,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. I am happy to hear that you returned to us and it is always so encouraging to see when expectations are surpassed and also that our team was able to make your stay that much more memorable. Thank you for your understanding in regards to our soft refreshment of the rooms which is currently taking place. Please let me know when you plan to return as I am happy to help you with anything you may need. You can reach me on Nicole.messham@mhgc.com.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Messham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta, georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed at SML last week 2/7 thru 2/13 and as always, I am never disappointed that I chose to return to SML time and again. Ed Parkes, Ahmed, AnnElise, Nicole, Greg--all went above and beyond expectations--and made our stay in London that much more seamless and enjoyable. As always room service was efficient and fast and our room always spotless when we returned from a day out--and that is not said lightly as I was traveling with two sloppy teenagers! We were upgraded from a standard double/double to a loft queen which turned out to be an amazing and spacious room. Ed and Ahmed made sure as we came and went into and out of the hotel each day that we had every thing we needed, front desk staff happily replaced lost keys with a smile--and chocolate covered strawberries sent up to our room one night with a lovely note from Nicole were quickly devoured. SML is ideally located--but its service and warmth are what keep me coming back. I cannot recommend this hotel more strongly. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateatlionsgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Katealionsgate,

Thank you for your glowing review of your time at St Martins Lane. It’s always a pleasure to have you and your family with us we look forward to it each time we know you are coming in. We are dedicated to curating original guest experience and ensuring all our guests receive fast and efficient service.
Our Loft double queen rooms are perfect for a family spending a week exploring all London has to offer and I am glad we were able to accommodate you in this room. I have to say anything covered in chocolate is fabulous – I am glad you enjoyed the strawberries.

I am thrilled to see so many individuals helped make your experience so unforgettable. I will be sure to pass along your kind comments to everyone you mentioned. Please feel free to reach out to me when you are returning to London on nicole.messham@mhgc.com. Thank you again for your constant support and dedication to St Martins Lane.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Messham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The St. Martin's Lane Hotel offers the best location and the best service. Situated in the Theater District, there is always something going on right outside the doors. Inside, the hotel is an oasis that is inhabited by sophisticated global travelers and savvy welcoming staff. I travel all over and this is one of my all-time favorites.

This is an american style boutique hotel. Do not stay here if you are looking for the baroque, rococo, edwardian, or victorian styles. This is an Ian Schrager/Phillipe Starck hotel. It is very 'spare'. If you cannot get in here and want that sort of thing, try the Sanderson.

The beds are very comfortable. The shower pressure is legendary. The Wifi is fast. The furnishings are spare. Asia de Cuba has a great - but pricey - breakfast. The Light Bar is a nice spot, especially when guarded by CJ.

The front desk is very welcoming. I especially appreciate the service and friendliness of Danielle. Ahmed the Bell Dude is totally awesome. Didn't see Eddie or Amy this time.

When I stay at this hotel, i feel like I am at home. I'll be back several more times this year and now all the execs at our company stay here. Why not? When the restaurants of Seven Dials and Covent Garden are so close, there is a starbucks across the street, all the best theaters. Hungry? The Ivy, J Sheeky's, Hawksmoor, Balthazar. Tourist? Trafalgar, piccadilly, covent garden. Shopping? LongAcre, and Monmouth street...You get the picture.

Is it cheap? No. Is it worth it? Yes!

Room Tip: 309 and 503 are really nice. The back of the hotel is quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear David,

It is an absolute dream to read your thorough review of your recent stay with us. You have touched on each point of the hospitality we offer and how we continue to impress you. Thank you for your constant support and kind words. It is fantastic to hear that you have formed great relationships with all members of staff – we endeavour to forge lasting emotional connections with our guests.
Thank you for all your kind comments I will pass these on to all mentioned, they always look forward to welcoming you back with a friendly smile and a joke or two!

Our location is superb for a first time tourist or for a regular like yourself – there is always something new and interesting opening or going on just around the corner.
Please reach me on nicole.messham@mhgc.com next time you plan to come to London so I can personally oversee your booking.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Messham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We just checked of the St. Martin's Lane Hotel and miss it already. It is in a terrific location with lots of little restaurants nearby. The staff couldn't be nicer. They made us feel like it was our home and they welcomed us with open arms. My first room was on the small side but I decided to splurge and upgrade. The second room was spacious and bright. Room service was delicious. I ordered the black cod with miso from Asia de Cuba, their in house restaurant. This is a boutique style hotel and definitely worth a try.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tonibet2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your uplifting review of your stay, it is touching to read that you miss us already – our staff sets us apart as they really are devoted to providing an engaging dynamic guest experience. I am glad you were able to see some of our different room types – all our rooms have floor to ceiling windows which enables all the natural light to shine in.
Thank you for your recommendation– we appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back with open arms. Please let me know when you plan to return so that I can personally oversee your booking, you can reach me on nicole.messham@mhgc.com.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Messham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

St Martins Lane is a chic, modern boutique hotel right in the heart of Covent Gardens. Very walkable neighborhood as well as just a few blocks from the Tube made this a tourist's heaven. Guests are given access to the Gym Box next door which this California girl thought was the coolest, hottest gym I've ever been to (Equinox, watch out!). The staff at St Martins Lane is knowledgable and very accommodating from restaurant and bar recommendations to simply guiding how to navigate London. I look forward to staying at St Martins Lane again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSchapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear RSchapi,

Thank you for your delightful review of your time with us. We are glad you got to take advantage of Gymbox located next door to St Martins Lane which all our guests have complimentary access to. All our concierges are committed to knowing all about London and everything it has to offer to make an unforgettable experience for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back for even more fun and exploring.

Please keep in touch.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Messham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,067 in London
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#43 of 1,067 in London
2,058 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,067 in London
3,657 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Property: St Martins Lane London Hotel
Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#74 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing