We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #78 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Second time we've stayed at St Martins Lane hotel and will definitely be coming back.
Once again, we could not fault a thing. The staff are very friendly, attentive and make you feel like part of their "family".
We stayed in a garden room on 1st floor, which was very charming and the room is incredibly well laid out.
Our friends also stayed with us for the first time, through our recommendation, and both thoroughly enjoyed it. They will also be going back in the near future.
We had drinks in the bar first then dined in Asia de Cuba. Again, the staff could not have been more helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble. Food was excellent and more than enough for the four of us.
We would really love to keep this hotel a secret but you must experience it for yourself.
The team makes this hotel above all others, for which we cannot thank them enough.
It's always our pleasure to stay there. A real classy place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelique O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Angelique O,

Thank you for your incredibly kind words about your recent stay at St Martins Lane. You are part of the family now and we thoroughly enjoyed having you inhouse. It is always uplifting to know our guests enjoyed their experience with us, and I am pleased to see this was the case for you. I hope to continue this trend with you so please do not hesitate to reach out to me when you are interested in returning. You can contact me at nicole.messham@mhgc.com. I can’t wait to hear from you.

Warmest regards,

Nicole Messham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,423 - 1,429 of 2,831 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned from a couple of nights at this hotel we checked in and were given a friendly welcome by Isabelle on reception

We were allocated a room on the 5th floor on entering the room I must admit we were disappointed at the size of the room. My wife has mobility issues and it was difficult to move around the room with crutches as floor space was very limited. Yes it was a standard room but have stayed in larger standard rooms in this area previously at the Charing Cross Hotel and The Waldorf. A quick call to reception and a few quid more we moved to a delux room which was marginally bigger with a view of the coliseum side exit and the London eye in the distance

The new room was clean with a comfortable bed with the usual over priced minibar, but that is standard around the area.

The location of the place was superb it is ideally placed for the theatres, bars, restaurants and the usual tourist attractions, just off Trafalgar Square on a reasonably quiet road just away from the real hustle and bustle.

Due to my wife's mobility issues we made use of room service, cheese burger and club sandwich, both adequate. Breakfast the next morning in the room was a little bit of a let down really the food was lukewarm the bacon had the appearance and texture that it had been kept warm for a long time as it was very dry and chewy not crisp as I suspect it was in the time before it arrived at the room. I noted there was a 15% service charge and a £3.75 tray charge which took breakfast to over £60. I resent paying a service charge when a tray charge is implemented its one or the other as far as I am concerned, if I like the service I tip the server not the hotel.

There were a couple of quirky bits in the hotel, in the lifts there are 3 mini tv screens displaying a reflection of a tree on moving water, with some weird music which could be likened to a bad 1970's acid trip!!

There were a couple of little niggles, the corridors although nicely decorated are very dark, the curtains were very difficult to close in the room, the blinds that are encased in the double glazing could not be closed as there was no tool in the room to do this, one thing that was annoying was that all the sockets are very low to the floor in a pretty inaccessible place close to the desk also no socket near the bed, most people have mobiles they charge overnight which dual as their time piece/alarm clock it's a bit of a pain, perhaps a design floor as all other hotels I have stayed in have had a socket in this area.

All in all though ok I suppose, just didn't light my fire, a bit soulless but that's the contemporary design I think. Would I stay again? Yes I would but only if the Charing cross Hotel was full

Room Tip: Don't book a standard room it's worth paying a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andyboy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Andyboy4,

Thank you for your descriptive overview of your experience at St Martins Lane. I am glad you were able to take full advantage of our central location and experience all London has to offer. It was beautiful weather this Easter break and it really made London come alive.

Our lovely Isabel is a St Martins Lane legend and I am so glad you were able to experience her friendliness and warmth on check-in, however I am sad to read that you were disappointed with your room choice on arrival. Please get in touch with me when you are planning to stay again so that I can do my best to ensure you are allocated a room which will be more comfortable for your wife as we do have a range of room categories which may be more suitable.


You will be delighted to know that we are currently having our guest rooms refreshed, the new design is modern, retaining St Martins Lane iconic style but offering more comfort along with the latest technology. With this design update we now have plug sockets and USB sockets located close to the bedside.

Our low lighting in the elevator and corridors is intended to give a calming effect as you continue your journey from the lobby, so that the feeling of escaping reality is continued. The elevator is aimed to be a decompression chamber and the videos are designed to take your mind away from the activities of the lobby area to the new experience you are about to have when you enter your room.

I would really love the opportunity to showcase what St Martins Lane is really about, so please do contact me directly when you intend to return so that I personally oversee your stay. You can reach me on Nicole.messham@mhgc.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Warmest Regards,

Nicole Messham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed here for one night in a deluxe room. At check-in the receptionist tried to entice us to purchase another upgrade to a studio. The sales pitch was nauseating, all we wanted was to check-in swiftly and then head out. Only 1 small bottle of mineral water was supplied in our room and sleep was disturbed by noisy guests from nearby. Mattress could do with a topper.

Breakfast was delicious (we had the full English) but doesn't come with toast?!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poplapi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear poplapi76,

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at St Martins Lane.
We really do appreciate all feedback whether positive or negative, as it helps us to continuously evaluate and monitor the experience received by our guest.

We would like the opportunity to restore your faith in us and hope you reconsider and come back to St Martins Lane on a future occasion. Our guestrooms are currently being refreshed, the new design is luxurious and modern, retaining St Martins Lane iconic style but offering more comfort along with the latest technology.

I would personally like to oversee your visit so I can make sure your next stay exceeds your expectations so please get in touch with me at nicole.messham@mhgc.com if you would like to make a reservation.

We hope to welcome you back to St Martins Lane in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Nicole Messham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Grate, central place to Stay when visiting London. Jamies Italian Restaurant not to far from, Covent Garden just around the corner, ...., Superb ! Great Ambiance during the day, Great breakfast, Nice Staff, big bathroom with a Bath Tub in the Center :) Nice to relax ! Great Ride !

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedroparracho7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Pedroparracho7,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent visit to St Martins Lane.

We are so glad that you have so many amazing things to say about St Martins Lane. Our staff are dedicated to creating memorable experiences so it is wonderful to read you had such a great time with us.

Please let me know when you plan to return so I can make sure you have another fabulous visit – you can reach me on Nicole.messham@mhgc.com

Warmest Regards,

Nicole Messham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights specifically for theatre performances, there was an issue with our booking as we were 2 adults and 1 child booked via hotel.com however child was not advised via the booking to the hotel. That made a not so great start for us however after a while staff sorted it and we were given a room suitable for us.

The hotel is mega mega funky and modern art decor (not our style) with staff adopting funky upmarket approaches (again not our style) but fascinating nevertheless.

We had some decor issues with our room of bumping into artistically placed lights that were at very low levels, however as above the funk design makes it unique.

The location, location, location was fantastic for us we walked to all three theaters, and even though funk staff and design is not our style we are likely to stay again for another theatre season due to the fresh, sharp cleanness of the rooms and absolute perfect location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonjabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Sonjabs,

I am so pleased the team were able to quickly organise a comfortable room for your family, and that you loved our location right in the heart of Theatreland.

I fully appreciate that our design is not always to everyone’s preference. If you choose to stay at St Martins Lane in the future or are just visiting London for the day (and have time) I would love to share with you the design ethos of the Hotel.

We do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again to see our new look as we are sure you will be impressed. Please contact me at nicole.messham@mhgc.com if you would like any assistance with future reservations.

We hope to welcome you back to St Martins Lane.

Warmest Regards,

Nicole Messham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

After a bad experience at St Martin's Lane in the new year we gave it another go at the invitation of the hotel. I'm happy to report that this stay was much better. The lovely people there even dropped complimentary champagne and strawberries to our room while we were out for dinner on our first evening. Any hotel can have an off weekend but this hotel handled the problem very well and we will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellybeens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear jellybeens,

I am delighted to hear we have reignited your faith in us.

Sharing your experience by telling the Tripadvisor community that you will return to St Martins Lane is a huge compliment for us. We are so pleased that our team helped to create such a fantastic experience for you as we are devoted to ensuring our guests receive a truly unique and magical stay when they are with us.

Come back soon! Please let me know when you plan to return- you can reach me on nicole.messham@mhgc.com

Warmest Regrads,

Nicole Messham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We arrived late afternoon, parking was very convenient under the hotel. Funky Philipe Starck interior, still lots of Ooh factor after 10 years use. The staff were delightful, it felt like we were abroad on holiday, nothing was too much trouble. Room service was speedy, lots of tea & a stack of home baked biscuits. Room facilities are clever & fun, not brand new but still in good order. Really comfortable bed. Great cocktail bar, breakfast to die for, didn't want to leave...oh and superb location. Right on the edge of Trafalgar Square, walking distance for theatre, shopping, restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Jane J,

This was an absolute pleasure to read. I was enchanted by the way you described your experience at St Martin Lane.
It sounds like you had an incredible time with us and you really enjoyed all areas of our hospitality. For being 14 years old I think our product is keeping up well, and you’ll be excited to hear our guestrooms are currently being refreshed - the new design is luxurious and modern, retaining our iconic style along with the latest technology – so next time you come stay with us, we’ll be all new!

Please let me know when you plan to return –you can reach me nicole.messham@mhgc.com

Warmest Regards,

Nicole Messham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,063 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#66 of 1,077 in London
1,911 reviews
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#29 of 1,077 in London
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#74 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £187 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing