We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST OF THE BEST MODERN HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #75 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Cannot say enough on how we enjoy this hotel and keep going back. Very modern and minimalistic hotel, yet extremely comfortable and great value for money, even considering it is a top end 5 star rated and priced Central London hotel. Staff are extremely friendly and always very helpful, very often making you smile, even when you are feeling down. Breakfast exceptional. Highly recommend you eat for dinner at their restaurant, Asia de Cuba also but remember what the staff say, "1 main meal between 2 is more than enough". Only downside is try and not stay in a standard room, as a little small but upgrade and rooms are plenty big enough. Try a suite for that special occassion, top room in a top hotel in great part of Central London, couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: Try and upgrade from the smaller standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David1510784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear David1510784,

Thank you for your great review of your most recent visit to St Martins Lane. We love to hear from our regular guests and it is always rewarding when they say how much they enjoy their time with us. Thank you for recommending St Martins Lane, and also giving your tips on Asia de Cuba! I am really glad that our staff cheer you up and make you smile, we always aim to serve our guests in a fun, friendly and attentive manner so your review is much appreciated. We hope you come to stay with us again soon and I would be delighted to make your next visit even more memorable so please email me at Nicole.messham@mhgc.com when you have a date in mind to return. We look forward to welcoming you back to St Martins Lane.

Warm regards,

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,374 - 1,380 of 2,783 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

It was our anniversary, and we booked a night at St Martins, and it was marvellous. The room was awesome , with a view over the London Skyline. They had very kindly prepared the Room as per my requests, with the added touch of flower petals arranged over the bed and surrounding the bath, a very kind and thoughtful touch. The room has had a recent makeover and is simply fabulous. Went to the Light Bar for wonderful cocktails, wonderful evening and the most comfortable nights sleep.
What really sets this hotel apart is the " Can Do" attitude of each staff member, coupled with best Front of House Team of any hotel I have encountered,
Big thank you

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lamb735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Edward186338,

We are thrilled you chose to celebrate your anniversary at St Martins Lane and glad you enjoyed the extra special touches we added to ensure your stay was romantic and memorable. It is a huge compliment for you to say that our attentive service makes such a difference to our guests as we always want our guests to feel warm and welcome when they are with us. We all hope that you have the opportunity to return again soon as we would love to welcome you back. Please email me at Nicole.messham@mhgc.com when you would like to make a reservation so that I can personally oversee your stay.

Warm regards,

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very centrally located, friendly staff and decent service. Mood lighting in the hallways which is trendy but a little dark, very nicely appointed rooms and I particularly like the bathrooms. Excellent A/C. I would probably opt for a room on a higher floor to get away from the outside street noise but overall I felt this hotel was very nice and I would certainly come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jalex07216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Jalex07216

I am so glad you enjoyed our central location, friendly service and comfortable guestrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London and if you contact me when are you intending to return I can do my best to ensure you are allocated a room on a higher floor, contact me at Nicole.messham@mhgc.com. We hope to see you soon.


Warm regards,

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I booked this hotel for my husband's birthday and we weren't disappointed. Friendly and helpful staff, who seemed genuinely interested in making our stay a pleasurable experience. The room was amazing and the bed was probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Close to the theatre and underground, and many major attractions. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, so just had a view of the side of the Coliseum, but the room was very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Zoe P

Thank you for your great review of your time at St Martins Lane. I am so pleased you chose to celebrate your husband’s birthday with us as we do love to create an unforgettable and unique experiences, especially when guests are staying with us for a special occasion. It is great to read that you intend to return, please get in touch with me directly when you have a date in mind so I can personally oversee your stay. My email address is Nicole.messham@mhgc.com and I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,

Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

There are many things to love about this hotel; its location is superb, being walking distance to many sites and very convenient to many tube stations. The room and bathroom were large, spacious and clean with excellent hvac. So what's wrong? We were a family visiting London for the first time and needed help. The concierges were nice but maybe just too cool and flippant. Bad addresses, wrong days for events they recommended, inappropriate restaurant recommendations and what not. One day they had limited hours because it was a bank holiday???? There is also an underlying feeling that the hotel is looking to take advantage. They are the only hotel we encountered in our search that quoted prices exclusive of VAT and food at the hotel was obscenely priced. That was not an issue for breakfast as there are many reasonably price options just out the door but really... So if you are self sufficient and like cool, this can be a great choice. Otherwise, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NyMaxdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear NyMaxdad,

Thank you for your review. Please allow to apologize that your stay did not go over as well as it should have. While it is apparent you experienced several inconsistencies during your stay, this is not typical of St Martins Lane or its service.

We pride ourselves on creating lasting impressions and forging everlasting bonds with our guests. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity of having you stay with us again; I will it my personal goal to completely change your impression of St Martins Lane for the best. I invite you to contact me directly at nicole.messham@mhgc.com when you are planning to return.

Warmest Regards,

Nicole Messham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Second time we've stayed at St Martins Lane hotel and will definitely be coming back.
Once again, we could not fault a thing. The staff are very friendly, attentive and make you feel like part of their "family".
We stayed in a garden room on 1st floor, which was very charming and the room is incredibly well laid out.
Our friends also stayed with us for the first time, through our recommendation, and both thoroughly enjoyed it. They will also be going back in the near future.
We had drinks in the bar first then dined in Asia de Cuba. Again, the staff could not have been more helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble. Food was excellent and more than enough for the four of us.
We would really love to keep this hotel a secret but you must experience it for yourself.
The team makes this hotel above all others, for which we cannot thank them enough.
It's always our pleasure to stay there. A real classy place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelique O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Angelique O,

Thank you for your incredibly kind words about your recent stay at St Martins Lane. You are part of the family now and we thoroughly enjoyed having you inhouse. It is always uplifting to know our guests enjoyed their experience with us, and I am pleased to see this was the case for you. I hope to continue this trend with you so please do not hesitate to reach out to me when you are interested in returning. You can contact me at nicole.messham@mhgc.com. I can’t wait to hear from you.

Warmest regards,

Nicole Messham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned from a couple of nights at this hotel we checked in and were given a friendly welcome by Isabelle on reception

We were allocated a room on the 5th floor on entering the room I must admit we were disappointed at the size of the room. My wife has mobility issues and it was difficult to move around the room with crutches as floor space was very limited. Yes it was a standard room but have stayed in larger standard rooms in this area previously at the Charing Cross Hotel and The Waldorf. A quick call to reception and a few quid more we moved to a delux room which was marginally bigger with a view of the coliseum side exit and the London eye in the distance

The new room was clean with a comfortable bed with the usual over priced minibar, but that is standard around the area.

The location of the place was superb it is ideally placed for the theatres, bars, restaurants and the usual tourist attractions, just off Trafalgar Square on a reasonably quiet road just away from the real hustle and bustle.

Due to my wife's mobility issues we made use of room service, cheese burger and club sandwich, both adequate. Breakfast the next morning in the room was a little bit of a let down really the food was lukewarm the bacon had the appearance and texture that it had been kept warm for a long time as it was very dry and chewy not crisp as I suspect it was in the time before it arrived at the room. I noted there was a 15% service charge and a £3.75 tray charge which took breakfast to over £60. I resent paying a service charge when a tray charge is implemented its one or the other as far as I am concerned, if I like the service I tip the server not the hotel.

There were a couple of quirky bits in the hotel, in the lifts there are 3 mini tv screens displaying a reflection of a tree on moving water, with some weird music which could be likened to a bad 1970's acid trip!!

There were a couple of little niggles, the corridors although nicely decorated are very dark, the curtains were very difficult to close in the room, the blinds that are encased in the double glazing could not be closed as there was no tool in the room to do this, one thing that was annoying was that all the sockets are very low to the floor in a pretty inaccessible place close to the desk also no socket near the bed, most people have mobiles they charge overnight which dual as their time piece/alarm clock it's a bit of a pain, perhaps a design floor as all other hotels I have stayed in have had a socket in this area.

All in all though ok I suppose, just didn't light my fire, a bit soulless but that's the contemporary design I think. Would I stay again? Yes I would but only if the Charing cross Hotel was full

Room Tip: Don't book a standard room it's worth paying a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andyboy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Andyboy4,

Thank you for your descriptive overview of your experience at St Martins Lane. I am glad you were able to take full advantage of our central location and experience all London has to offer. It was beautiful weather this Easter break and it really made London come alive.

Our lovely Isabel is a St Martins Lane legend and I am so glad you were able to experience her friendliness and warmth on check-in, however I am sad to read that you were disappointed with your room choice on arrival. Please get in touch with me when you are planning to stay again so that I can do my best to ensure you are allocated a room which will be more comfortable for your wife as we do have a range of room categories which may be more suitable.


You will be delighted to know that we are currently having our guest rooms refreshed, the new design is modern, retaining St Martins Lane iconic style but offering more comfort along with the latest technology. With this design update we now have plug sockets and USB sockets located close to the bedside.

Our low lighting in the elevator and corridors is intended to give a calming effect as you continue your journey from the lobby, so that the feeling of escaping reality is continued. The elevator is aimed to be a decompression chamber and the videos are designed to take your mind away from the activities of the lobby area to the new experience you are about to have when you enter your room.

I would really love the opportunity to showcase what St Martins Lane is really about, so please do contact me directly when you intend to return so that I personally oversee your stay. You can reach me on Nicole.messham@mhgc.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Warmest Regards,

Nicole Messham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#22 of 1,076 in London
3,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#58 of 1,076 in London
179 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#42 of 1,076 in London
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £204 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing