We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Hotel room we've ever stayed in!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Martins Lane London Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #71 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best Hotel room we've ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and we got off to a rocky start with the hotel. We had booked it via Lastminute.com's Mystery Hotels having done a bit of research. So I knew what I was booking. When we arrived St Martin's Lane had no record of a booking, despite my confirmation email. They were very helpful and apologetic but they were fully booked. There was apparently an error with Lastminute's system. We were about to be taken to another hotel (much to our distress) when by pure chance someone checked out a night early. Gemma, the manager, managed to get it all sorted straight away.

When we returned in the afternoon we had been upgraded to their best room in the hotel (or Gemma's favourite at least) with 180 degree views over London. The floor to ceiling windows gave way to views on Nelson's column, Big Ben, The Eye, The Shard, The Gerkin and everything in between. I've never had a hotel room view like it. 2 minutes later we were sent a complimentary bottle of champagne to apologise for the confusion. Between this and the outstanding room this truly made our anniversary.

As for the hotel and the room, it's truly 5 star. The design is the coolest I've seen. Not like so many nice, but forgettable hotels. This place truly stands out, even in a city like London. I've stayed in quite a few hotels with work and there are a few things that make the top hotels stand out. Quality of sheets, mattresses and pillows is a big one. Bathroom fittings that don't just look nice, but perform and are of solid quality. Polite and helpful staff. This place had it all. If you can get in to one of the 6th floor room in this place then do it, you will not regret it.

A special thanks to the staff that helped make this a special stay. We hope to see you soon!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank J0nnyBL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear J0nnyBL0nd0n,

This is just incredible! This wonderfully descriptive review touches on everything about your stay and how much it positively impacted you. It is an absolute pleasure to read that my fellow team members blew you away with their service. Gemma is a true professional with Irish charm and is committed to providing an unforgettable experience for our guests.

I am so glad that we were able to turn things around after the mishap at the beginning of this journey and in the end it sounds like you had the most amazing anniversary in London.
Our location as you’ve stated is superb and offers incredible views of some of London’s most eye catching attractions.

Thank you for mentioning about the quality of our product that we provide here. I must say we have lots of positive comments about the quality of our mattresses and that they provide a wonderful night’s sleep.

We cannot wait to welcome you back to continue your adventure with us. Please let me know when you have made your booking, as I would love to personally oversee your reservation. You can reach me on nicole.messham@mhgc.com.

Warmest Regards,

Nicole Messham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,631
    661
    176
    74
    33
See reviews for
313
1,154
165
561
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwen-Lancs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend with the missus. Fantastic hotel, everyone from the porters, to the check in to the bar staff always went out of their way to make you feel welcome. Didn't eat there but the cocktails were excellent and the location is perfect, literally a 2min walk from Leicester Square tube station. If we were staying in this area again we would be hard pressed not to stay at St Martins.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turkish81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Darwen,

Thank you for submitting your review and for your recommendation. It is always uplifting to know our guests enjoyed their experience with us and I am pleased to see this was the case for you. I'm glad you found all staff to be informative and helpful as we are committed to providing the best experience for our guests.

I hope to continue this trend with you, so please do not hesitate to reach out to me when you are interested in returning.
You can reach me on nicole.messham@mhgc.com.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards,

Nicole Messham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

IDEAL location
GymBox gym next door
excellent staff and quality of service
** special thanks for Fabrizzio, Paris, and Andrew (the "night crew") for pleasant early morning check-outs !
all details thoughtfully taken care of; the rooms are very well designed; the beds utterly comfy.
the only hotel in London where I am a repeat visitors, and will continue to be one
thank you St Martins, i finally have a "home away from home" when i need to be in London

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johkollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear johkollar,

St Martins Lane is honoured to be your home away from home, what a huge compliment, thank you so much! We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy our comfy rooms and original service when you are next in London. I would love to personally oversee your stay so please get in touch with me at nicole.messham@mhgc.com when you have details of your next visit.

Warmest Regards,

Nicole Messham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My mum in law was staying in the hotel as a birthday treat in London. I have left flowers, cake and champagne for the staff to take care of and put in a room before her arrival and they went extra mile - putting candles everywhere, making room looks stunning and including little cake and note from themselves as well. Exceptional customer service, attention to details makes you feel very welcome. Hotel itself if beautiful. Design/Boutique - stylish. Ideal location - walking distance from convent garden & Leicester square.

Room Tip: room with patio is perfect for smokers (as there is no smoking inside of course!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyhigh2440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Skyhigh2440

I am thrilled your mother-in-law enjoyed her time with us as we always aim to exceed expectations and were delighted to make her feel extra special on her birthday. Thank you for giving St Martins Lane such a great review. We really do love to hear from our happy guests and hope we have the opportunity to wow you again soon. I would love to help with your future reservations to please get in touch with me directly at nicole.messham@mhgc.com when you are planning another visit.

Warmest Regards,

Nicole Messham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Cannot say enough on how we enjoy this hotel and keep going back. Very modern and minimalistic hotel, yet extremely comfortable and great value for money, even considering it is a top end 5 star rated and priced Central London hotel. Staff are extremely friendly and always very helpful, very often making you smile, even when you are feeling down. Breakfast exceptional. Highly recommend you eat for dinner at their restaurant, Asia de Cuba also but remember what the staff say, "1 main meal between 2 is more than enough". Only downside is try and not stay in a standard room, as a little small but upgrade and rooms are plenty big enough. Try a suite for that special occassion, top room in a top hotel in great part of Central London, couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: Try and upgrade from the smaller standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David1510784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear David1510784,

Thank you for your great review of your most recent visit to St Martins Lane. We love to hear from our regular guests and it is always rewarding when they say how much they enjoy their time with us. Thank you for recommending St Martins Lane, and also giving your tips on Asia de Cuba! I am really glad that our staff cheer you up and make you smile, we always aim to serve our guests in a fun, friendly and attentive manner so your review is much appreciated. We hope you come to stay with us again soon and I would be delighted to make your next visit even more memorable so please email me at Nicole.messham@mhgc.com when you have a date in mind to return. We look forward to welcoming you back to St Martins Lane.

Warm regards,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

It was our anniversary, and we booked a night at St Martins, and it was marvellous. The room was awesome , with a view over the London Skyline. They had very kindly prepared the Room as per my requests, with the added touch of flower petals arranged over the bed and surrounding the bath, a very kind and thoughtful touch. The room has had a recent makeover and is simply fabulous. Went to the Light Bar for wonderful cocktails, wonderful evening and the most comfortable nights sleep.
What really sets this hotel apart is the " Can Do" attitude of each staff member, coupled with best Front of House Team of any hotel I have encountered,
Big thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamb735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Edward186338,

We are thrilled you chose to celebrate your anniversary at St Martins Lane and glad you enjoyed the extra special touches we added to ensure your stay was romantic and memorable. It is a huge compliment for you to say that our attentive service makes such a difference to our guests as we always want our guests to feel warm and welcome when they are with us. We all hope that you have the opportunity to return again soon as we would love to welcome you back. Please email me at Nicole.messham@mhgc.com when you would like to make a reservation so that I can personally oversee your stay.

Warm regards,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very centrally located, friendly staff and decent service. Mood lighting in the hallways which is trendy but a little dark, very nicely appointed rooms and I particularly like the bathrooms. Excellent A/C. I would probably opt for a room on a higher floor to get away from the outside street noise but overall I felt this hotel was very nice and I would certainly come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jalex07216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Jalex07216

I am so glad you enjoyed our central location, friendly service and comfortable guestrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London and if you contact me when are you intending to return I can do my best to ensure you are allocated a room on a higher floor, contact me at Nicole.messham@mhgc.com. We hope to see you soon.


Warm regards,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#40 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
ME London
ME London
#74 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#84 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Property: St Martins Lane London Hotel
Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#66 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Priceline so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing