We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #75 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived way too early for the standard check in time, but to our surprise, there was already a room for us. We were welcomed like one of their VIP guests and we also felt like one. Our room was spotlessly clean with crisp beddings and comfortable pillows. Bathroom was also very clean, and smells fresh. I commend the cleaning "crew" for their job well done everyday. People at the reception were all kind and helpful. By the way, location of this hotel is really central; theatres, restaurants, shops, underground, tourist attractions, pubs and bus stops are all within walking distance. I'll surely recommend this hotel to my friends, and we hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cora54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Cora54,

Thank you for recommending St Martins Lane to your friends and the Tripadvisor community. Your kind review is much appreciated and I am delighted you felt so welcome and at home whilst you were with us as we always want our guests to take away the happiest memories. Thank you for commending our fabulous housekeeping team, as you quite rightly recognised they work so hard to make sure our hotel is spotlessly clean at all times.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to St Martins Lane next year, please do let me know when you intend to return so that I can personally oversee your stay. My email address is nicole.messham@mhgc.com and I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,734
    695
    188
    80
    33
See reviews for
341
1,220
173
587
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is the 3rd time at St Martins Lane and the experience was equally as excellent as my previous visits. The check-in staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a corner room overlooking St Martins Lane and Mays Ct, which initially I was worried might be a bit noisey, but needn't have worried. The location is fabulous, on the cusp of Trafalgar Square, and close to Covent Garden and Leicester Sq. The room was a good size, as was the bathroom (with seperate bath and shower). There were no tea making facilities, but they were made available on request. We doned at Asia de Cuba (reviewed seperately, but I'll just say that the food was delicious, although book early if you can). All round an excellent stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexTravelBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear SussexTravelBugs,

Thank you for your great review, I am so pleased that you have now had three excellent experiences at St Martins Lane as it is always a pleasure to welcome back our guests. I am so glad that our friendly staff, fantastic location and comfortable guestrooms make your time at St Martins Lane so enjoyable. If there is anything I can do to make sure the next time you stay even more pleasurable please let me know at nicole.messham@mhgc.com.

Warm regards,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Fantastic location, big spacious rooms. I'm London. That's a miracle. Apart from all the 'cool' bits, defining feature for us was the staff. Every single person greeted us warmly & enthusiastically (but not nauseatingly) and the concierge knew his stuff. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingKiwi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear FlyingKiwi62,

I am delighted to read that you consider the defining feature about St Martins Lane is the fabulous staff we have here. Our team are passionate about creating memorable experiences by welcoming all our guests in a warm, friendly and fun fashion so to receive such glowing feedback is a huge compliment for us all.

Please make sure you contact me at nicole.messham@mhgc.com when you are planning to return so that I can personally make sure your next stay is even more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to St Martins Lane.

Warm regards,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

bombarded with corporate phsycobabble this hotel wants to be terrible on trend but is a bit more Ikea than Idea! rooms very white and bland the bed is comfortable and there are enough pillows.
the room blinds and curtain give a good black out.the bathroom is good and the shower very good and there are are plenty of towels.the tv stand/mini bar thingy is awful and looms in the room looking more like an Ikea robot than something with form or function.hotel internet is good. the wardrobe space is very small.Please take the robot out of the room and get a small flat screen and put a small fridge on the wall

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miec h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
896andrewc, Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Miec h

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent visit to London and St Martins Lane.

You may be aware from our responses to previous reviews that St Martins Lane is going through a period of transition. To date nearly 45% of our bedrooms have undergone a considerable refresh (including the corridors) with another 15% due to be completed next month – our rooms are being worked on floor by floor by a team of experienced Hotel contractors so the guest impact is zero, in terms of noise. Over the coming months our final two floors will be completed before our restaurant – Asia de Cuba and our Bar – Light Bar undergo significant changes in the New Year.

Miec h, from your description it appears that you were allocated one of the Hotels original Philippe Starck designed rooms with bespoke furniture produced by Cassina in Italy. . I have to be honest and say that I have never heard the TV Armoire referred to as an “Ikea Robot” however I appreciate the humour in your comment. Incidently, the thought process/design ethos behind the Armoire was about ensuring that the bedroom necessities like a Television and Minibar do not dominate the space and detract from what is immediately outside the window (floor to ceiling) ‘the West End of London’.

Miec h should you choose to return to stay at St Martins Lane please contact myself directly or our Guest Experience Manager, Nicole so that we are able to allocate you one of our newly designed bedrooms (robot-less naturally) and if you have time share with you Ian Schrager and Philippe Starck’s timeless design ethos.

Yours sincerely
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The rooms are really nice and comfortable But I do find it a bt annoying when the waiters (?) in the restaurant dont understand English. At breakfast we all ordered differet - and no one got what they ordered. I know - cheap foreign labor, but it is not ok for at hotel of this type.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mogens C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Mogens C

Thank you for your review, St Martins Lane is in a great location with so many of London’s attractions right on our doorstep. We are very proud of our team here; we like to employ people from many different cultures and backgrounds and all the team are chosen because they are passionate about providing the highest level of service which they hope to deliver in a friendly and fun manner so I can only apologise for any difficulties you experienced with your order at breakfast. I do hope that you enjoyed your time with us and if there is anything I can do to help with your next stay at St Martins Lane please email me at nicole.messham@mhgc.com. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The rooms in this property are fantastic. So big for central London, clean, white, huge floor to ceiling windows that take up all the walls, super comfy beds, extremely spacious bathrooms. The service was great. The staff were very helpful, even outfitting us with 4 cruiser bikes so we could see London in style. The location is perfect. Far enough from Trafalgar Square so it's not loud, but close enough to wander down and be a few blocks from so many famous sites. Another plus - surrounded by wonderful pubs that keep you from getting home no matter how hard you try!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moretofind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear moretofind

I am so glad you were happy in our super comfortable rooms and that you had the opportunity to enjoy a cycle ride on our complimentary bikes, when the weather is good it is a fantastic way to explore the many exciting sites London has to offer. Please get in touch with me when you are planning on staying again as I would love to help you have another unforgettable experience at St Martins Lane, my email address is nicole.messham@mhgc.com and I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We booked a short holiday package to London including hotel for 4 nights. We arrived at the hotel early Saturday morning and the receiving staff was so kind to give us the key to our room instead of letting us wait until afternoon fir the official check-in time. We got a std queenbed room in immaculate all white and spotless clean. Hotel location was 2 mins walk to the Garreth theater where we watch the Beatlemaniac "Let it be" musical. The staff were very helpful in providing local information and even let us stay for a late checkout without any extra cost. We will certainly recommend this hotel to our friends and looking forward to our next visit next year

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole_messham, Guest Relations Manager at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear wilikid,

Thank you for your great review and for recommending St Martins Lane to your friends and the TripAdvisor community, that is a huge compliment for us. It was a pleasure to look after you and we look forward to seeing you again next year. I would love to make sure your next visit is even more memorable so please contact me directly at nicole.messham@mhgc.com when you are ready to make your reservation.

Warm regards,

Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#99 of 1,069 in London
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#40 of 1,069 in London
2,137 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,069 in London
3,777 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Property: St Martins Lane London Hotel
Address: 45 St. Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#70 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing