We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could well take top spot in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosewood London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Rosewood London
Ranked #18 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Could well take top spot in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night last minute after a late day at work. Simply fantastic in every respect. Wifi that works, is free and password free for multiple devices - other hotels take note. Beautiful new rooms with dreamy beds, lovely linen and fluffy towels. Toiletries good enough to take home, robes and a decent hair dryer. When you travel a lot all these little things matter! Great service in the bar and good wines. Only criticism there was the bar menu is limited and fussy. Room service menu is extensive and great variation. Reception service very helpful if a bit clunky on checkout. They could improve this with auto checkout, take email on check in and email the receipt out - easier when in a hurry. Good location for tubes etc. overall outstanding and a pleasure to stay. I will be making this my preferred hotel for work and my teams are doing the same.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Slmorris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDRoeke, Managing Director, Rosewood London at Rosewood London, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Sazlward,

Many thanks indeed for your kind review ! Your comments are greatly appreciated

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us !

I have noted your comments and subsequently put the in-room check-out facility up for review. The bar offers an extensive lunch menu with a reduced food menu in the evening with our Mirror Room and Holborn Dining Room offering a full dinner menu.

Once again Sazleward, many thanks for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Matthias Roeke
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,328
    187
    34
    14
    3
See reviews for
306
589
66
353
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I just spent 5 nights at the new rosewood London hotel. It has recently had a full refurb from its previous brand. The quality of the work and the whole atmosphere of the hotel is fantastic. The staff were amazing, they learn your name and use it, they are very polite and well trained. All the staff from the door to the housekeeping were so friendly, helpful, attentive and discreet. The rooms are spacious, very well equipped, comfortable and luxurious. There was no noise or disturbance from the corridors, the wifi was fast and the ac/heating worked well. Breakfast was excellent, fresh and a good variety of choices, the hot food was served by a chef at a station rather than a buffet style which was much better. The waitresses were always ready to bring juice and toast etc and the coffee was good. The staff in this hotel are not the usual choice for Central London and all seem to take a great pride in their work and are keen to help anyone, the whole experience was fantastic and they are a credit to their management. Obviously the location is great it's around the corner from Covent garden. Il look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thornham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDRoeke, Managing Director, Rosewood London at Rosewood London, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Thornham B,

I am so glad to read that you were happy with your experience here at Rosewood London !
I extend my sincere thanks for your generous review !

We are very proud of our associates and are very glad that this comes across in our service offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in London !

Sincerely,
Matthias Roeke
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I had a change to tour the Rosewood London prior the opening and was impressed by the conversion. The hotel got a massive capital infusion and it shows. The listed section of the hotel (on High Holborn) reflect the history of the building while the back section is as modern as it gets! This hotel is one of the most impressive hotels I have ever seen!

The Rosewood has all it takes to become one of the best hotels, not only in London, in the near future! Both the tangible element and the leadership of the hotel will make it happen!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ezuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDRoeke, Managing Director, Rosewood London at Rosewood London, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Ezuri,

Many thanks indeed for your kind comments !

How that we’re fully open, I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you as a guest in the near future !

With all my best.

Sincerely,
Matthias Roeke
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Rosewood was reopened after a larger remodeling project. The new facility is beautiful, the service is truly exceptional and the location and amenities are ideal if you're intent is to be in Central London. From check-in to wake-up calls with a cappuccino delivered to my room each morning the experience for me and my travelling colleagues was exceptional - the only equivalent service that I have received is in Ryokan's in Japan. I hope to stay here as frequently as possible - this was better than a home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDRoeke, Managing Director, Rosewood London at Rosewood London, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear YesSeattle,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us !

Thank you very much indeed for your kind comments ! It gives me great pleasure that still in or infancy, you consider us a ‘home away from home’.

We look forward to having you stay again.

Sincerely,
Matthias Roeke
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Im a big fan of Rosewood hotels, I've stayed at the Menlo Park, Ca. location many times. When I heard they were opening in London it was an easy choice. I was not disappointed, the hotel lives up to the reputation of the Rosewood chain; Impeccable service, attentive and friendly staff, beautifully designed and luxurious rooms, beautiful common areas. With regard to location the hotel is within reasonable proximity to restaurants in Mayfair, Soho, The British Museum, Covenant Gardens. Nicely set off of the street and away from the hustle and bustle of London, it is quite the oasis. This will be my hotel of choice for my future travels to London!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDRoeke, Managing Director, Rosewood London at Rosewood London, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Frenchie G,

Thank you for taking the time to Review your stay at Rosewood London !

I’m so glad that we have gained esteem from a guest who has frequented Rosewood Hotels in the past, Its greatly appreciated !

I look forward to meeting you when you return in the future.

Sincerely,
Matthias Roeke
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The bar is amazing and really looking forward to the opening of the Deli. Great cocktails and service, love the live music. Relaxing and lovely place to meet friends. Its great as in midtown so you can get away from the busy west end with a quick walk to holborn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suffolkdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDRoeke, Managing Director, Rosewood London at Rosewood London, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Suffolkdays

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the bar !

I am immensely proud of the space and believe that Martin Brudnizki has done a superb job. We have embarked on a project with Gerald Scarfe who has now started to add his artwork, so there are some exciting developments to be discovered !
Also, Holborn Dining  Delicatessen is now open so I do hope we have the pleasure of having you back to visit !

With all my best.

Sincerely,
Matthias Roeke
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at Rosewood London shortly after its re-launch: a significant step up from our experiences under the previous regimes. The rooms were beautifully maintained with attention to detail throughout. Fresh hydrangea heads and other flowers were liberally distributed. Not only were all staff extremely friendly and attentive, they also had a clear pride in the hotel and the service they offered.

The Mirror Room Restaurant offered a delicious menu of choices. We found the staff happy to advise on our selections and, by choosing a variety for sharing, avoided portions that might otherwise have been considered frugal. Although we merely passed through The Bar, it is already a thriving meeting point and now offers bar food which is clearly proving a popular addition.

We were also given a glimpse behind the scenes at the extra suites under construction at the front if the building. Although this means much of the central showpiece marble staircase is currently out of bounds, it will be a truly-magnificent hotel when it opens fully in Feb 2014. The Rosewood chain should be rightly proud of their first European venture.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunc_Pen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDRoeke, Managing Director, Rosewood London at Rosewood London, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Dunc_Pen

Many thanks for the complimentary review !

I’m very glad to say that we are very close to completion of the final areas and we have a full range of suites now available for guests to enjoy.

Your comments are greatly appreciated and I hope to see you on your return to London !

Sincerely,
Matthias Roeke
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#14 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood London

Property: Rosewood London
Address: 252 High Holborn, London WC1V 7EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Holborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in London
#8 Business Hotel in London
#9 Spa Hotel in London
#17 Family Hotel in London
#18 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood London 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood London combines English heritage with contemporary sophistication in the very heart of the capital. The Grade II-listed, building has been renovated to provide accommodation with the feel of a stylish London residence. The guestrooms and suites are inspired by a traditional British manor house. The restaurants and bars are destinations in their own right. Recreational facilities include the Sense(R) spa, Rosewood's signature spa brand, and a well-equipped fitness suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rosewood London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancery Court Hotel, London Hotel London
Renaissance London
London Renaissance
Renaissance Chancery Court London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing