We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rosewood London”
Review of Rosewood London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rosewood London
Ranked #19 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed at the Rosewood, London on May 30th 2014. The Reception wasn't that great, they didn't explain the features of the hotel or any of the services on offer and she was a little tired I think!
However this apart it is a great place to stay. Slightly Art deco interior in places, this hotel is relatively new and it still has that feel about it. It's a high quality finish. My room was excellent, all mod cons and sharply decorated, it was a middle of the road room for circa £400 for the night. I spent a good few hours in Scarfes Bar, top service, extensive drinks menu and very enjoyable. Cocktails are innovative and pretty tasty!
I ate in the Holborn Dining Room, again attentive service, very efficient, food was very good, good portions and good value with a wide variety of options on the menu. For London it was reasonably priced and very good.
This is a fab hotel, go there you wont be disappointed.
Again it's five start in London so be willing to pay a little extra, however it's worthwhile.

One very small thing, it's advertised as Covent Garden, it's really Holborn...so you have to walk 5 minutes to get to Covent Garden shops.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,423 - 1,429 of 1,810 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and the bed was the most comfortable ever!
The hotel was recently renovated and the rooms were in immaculate shape.
Friendly staff, excellent bar with a wide range of alcohol.
Breakfast was terribly expensive at over £30!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClemZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed one night at this beautiful hotel and because it was my birthday they upgraded us to a fantastic suite. It was a wonderful surprise and made my wife's birthday unforgettable. Everything about the Rosewood is stunning. From the moment we entered through the massive arch into the courtyard we were beguiled. It was a very hot afternoon and we were immediately shown to some comfortable armchairs and brought refreshing ice cold sparkling water by the charming Reception Staff. Our suite was simply stunning, beautiful, massive sofa and many very comfortable armchairs, massive televisions and without doubt the most gorgeous bathroom and wet room we have ever seen in a hotel, and we've stayed at many around the world. I would also say that the Rosewood staff are the most helpful and charming you could wish to meet. P.s. The bed was divine. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Although we were in a suite, the Deluxe Rooms looked fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and had one of the greatest experiences of perfect hospitality I have seen and felt. Staff were pristine, well mannered, professional and kind. Hotel was beautiful and very clean no complaints and will return soon.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Liamheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Lovely property with great deco. Lots of class. Good location. Spa facilities not cheap ...but very good. Service at reception, doormen etc very very good and attentive. Service in breakfast restaurant on the high Holborn side far from acceptable given the prices.
Room/bathoom deco very nice. Room size and especially ceiling height nothing special, very low ceiling on split-level room on 5th floor. Also -in our room at least- the showerhead was placed so low that a taller (5foot 11- 6foot) person cannot stand underneath it.
Still scoring this Very Good as it is of course still a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: if you are tall, get a room that has decent ceiling height and that has a showerhead that is not awk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dekdroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just returned from London yesterday. Stayed here at the Rosewood hotel. This was my first time in London. I was there with my daughter and granddaughter. This is a classy, very english (as I expected and wanted) hotel. The decor is fabulous, the atmosphere is superb. The food was delicious. We ordered room service and felt like we ate in a hotel restaurant. The set-up for the service room was grand. The food arrived on China and with fresh flowers. Jessie the front desk manager greeted us and she is just wonderful. The location is excellent, metro is two blocks down. The concierges desk was extremely helpful. Housekeeping service was excellent. Will stay at the Rosewood again!

Room Tip: The location is great, has lots of traffic. We were on a high floor and didn't hear any noise. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

First of all, I do want to say that we had paid for a deluxe room and got a super massive upgrade to a suite.
I do think I would still give this 5 stars if we had not had upgrade but it does make for a very different experience and upgrades do not always happen.
We were there for a special occasion and so we got upgrade and a cake in the room. Already things were great.

Staff: cannot fault. Our tv was not working at 2.30 am when we were having an after party in our room. An engineer was called, appeared promptly and fixed issue.
Reception staff and restaurant staff are all fantastic, smiley without being fake.

Hotel: I think it is the most beautiful hotel in London. You enter a courtyard and then it feels tranquil and far away from High Holborn and traffic. You see the bellboys in their cool uniforms, the plants and it feels like you have entered a safe haven.
Inside, the hotel is extremely well done up, modern yet cozy, nice fabrics, nice touches such as the Chinese toothbrush holders. It does not feel corporate. It feels design without being too trendy.
The building itself with all the marble staircases looks out of this world.
Bar is supercool as is restaurant.

Our room: so yes we had this massive suite, number 428. It was very rock n roll. 2 toilets, big lounge, cose bedroom and the best bathroom ever with a shower that could fit 5 people, a bath with TV, 2 sink, seperate toilet.

One minor thing: too much technology in room, 20 light buttons and we didn't know which one was which so all lights came on or all went out. But hey, whatever, maybe we are just idiots!

Asides from that I loved this hotel and want to stay again. One of the best city hotels I have ever stayed in. Just treat yourself and go!!

Room Tip: Our friends had a deluxe 470 and even those feel very spacious. we had the suite but they are around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chocolate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,861 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#29 of 1,077 in London
3,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,077 in London
2,593 reviews
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#13 of 1,077 in London
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood London

Address: 252 High Holborn, London WC1V 7EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Holborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in London
#8 Business Hotel in London
#10 Spa Hotel in London
#17 Family Hotel in London
#19 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £390 - £765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood London 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood London combines English heritage with contemporary sophistication in the very heart of the capital. The Grade II-listed, building has been renovated to provide accommodation with the feel of a stylish London residence. The guestrooms and suites are inspired by a traditional British manor house. The restaurants and bars are destinations in their own right. Recreational facilities include the Sense(R) spa, Rosewood's signature spa brand, and a well-equipped fitness suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosewood London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancery Court Hotel, London Hotel London
Renaissance London
London Renaissance
Renaissance Chancery Court London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing