We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel with Excellent Service”
Review of Rosewood London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Rosewood London
Ranked #15 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel with Excellent Service”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed at the Rosewood for one night at the end of June this year. After a slight hiccup and misunderstanding with my booking which threatened a negative experience, I have to say the Rosewood staff recovered superbly and delivered excellent service all the way.

When you enter the hotel, you are greeted with a lovely scent permeating the lobby. Dark wood and marble are used extensively throughout the hotel and though they make the corridors look rather austere (I almost felt like I was walking through a very old bank), the other furnishings help to soften the look, such as the bird cages (with live birds!), the beautiful hydrangea arrangements and the quirky books scattered throughout.

I booked myself an Executive Room which was perfect for me. The king size bed was supremely comfortable with luxuriously soft linens and I could have stayed in it the whole day. The room comes with complimentary water, coffee and tea as well as a lovely chocolate tart as a welcome dessert. The mini bar is well-stocked though I would have appreciated a little manual in the room telling me what was provided on the house and the services offered by the hotel. I suspect that might have been available on one of the TV menus (now everything seems to be done electronically) but that somehow doesn't suit the style of this hotel.

Location wise, the hotel is within easy walking distance of the Strand, Trafalgar Square and Covent Garden. There is also a bus that takes you to Oxford Circus and Holborn station is just a 2 minute walk away. If you were hoping for a lot of shopping near and around the hotel, you would be disappointed but like I said, Covent Garden and Oxford Circus are not far away.

I also had breakfast at the Holborn Dining Room at the hotel and though I only had a simple breakfast of avocado and tomato on toast and granola with yogurt, I enjoyed it and found service to be excellent (do try their home made granola, it is absolutely delicious and you can buy some to take away too).

All in all, the Rosewood is a beautiful hotel and unless you want to be in the thick of the shopping (in which case you should be staying near Knightsbridge), it is a worth a stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aegyogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,397
    195
    35
    14
    3
See reviews for
316
621
71
375
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middle East
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I had stayed at various top hotels in London including a Hilton and a Grand Hyatt, and none of them comes close to the Rosewood. Location is incredible, hotel is within walking distance from many London attractions (British Museum, Covent Garden Market, Leicester Square.... etc). The Holborn underground station is a few steps away from the hotel main entrance. High Holborn is a lively but not too crowded street with many shops, restaurants and cafes within walking distance. We never had breakfast at the hotel and we never had breakfast at the same place twice during our 8 night stay, all within walking distance. Hotel has feel of a grand palace with its center courtyard and magnificent facade. Staff are incredible, rooms very spacious by London standards and well furnished.

Room Tip: If you like peace and quite, then select a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hadi_Hass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were here for a short honeymoon weekend too relax after our wedding and wanted a luxury hotel to feel pampered. The rosewood did not let us down. Great rooms with fantastic bed linens and beautiful bathrooms. Attentive and kind staff from start too finish.

Prior to arrival the hotel contacted me to enquire about any special needs. I asked for a bouquet of flowers (the same as my wifes wedding bouquet) to be put in our room prior to arrival. They managed this and added complementary champagne and pastry.

Tried out both the bar and the restaurant and was very pleased with both food and drinks.

All in all a really great stay. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anders W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

New, top quality rooms and fittings, coupled with unpretentious, yet attentive service. I cannot have higher praise for this wonderful property. Scarfes Bar is my definition of what a cool city bar should be. Location is also perfect for my business-and-social needs, being in between the West End and the City.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milehighj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Absolutely stunning facility - very modern, brand new and top notch in every respect. The rooms are better than anything in London (e.g., Savoy, Ritz, Claridge's, Four Seasons). WiFi is reasonably fast, fitness center is very good by London/European standards.

Only complaint is the service in the restaurant (for breakfast) is very spotty - they seem to be working on the kinks with the staffing there. Otherwise, I would consider this one of the best truly 5 star properties in the world.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank My3sonsCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stopped off for a late night drink. Lovely room, with lots of space, a really nice special atmosphere. The service was excellent and very thoughtful (a cake was presented to my friend who we mentioned was having a special birthday). Really enjoyed it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierslofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at the Rosewood Hotel the nights of June 2-4 following a 14 day Mediterranean cruise. Upon checkin we were told that there was a room upgrade available for 100 pounds per night. We were not told about any other available upgrades. On our second day, while talking with the managing director regarding a hotel amenity, he told us that we were entitled to a lesser but complimentary upgrade at checkin since we used our American Express Platinum card. I told the manager that had that been disclosed to us at checkin we would have taken the free upgrade instead of the costly upgrade that we were offered. The manager did not offer to change our room or waive the 100 pound per night fee. The hotel was beautiful, the dining was spectacular and the rest of the service was great. It was unfortunate that the reception desk and management were less than forthcoming regarding available upgrades costing us 300 pounds ($504 USD) more than we should have spent.

Room Tip: Ask for complimentary upgrade at checkin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Savannah999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,731 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,067 in London
989 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#16 of 1,067 in London
2,466 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,067 in London
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood London

Property: Rosewood London
Address: 252 High Holborn, London WC1V 7EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Holborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in London
#7 Spa Hotel in London
#8 Business Hotel in London
#15 Luxury Hotel in London
#17 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood London 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood London combines English heritage with contemporary sophistication in the very heart of the capital. The Grade II-listed, building has been renovated to provide accommodation with the feel of a stylish London residence. The guestrooms and suites are inspired by a traditional British manor house. The restaurants and bars are destinations in their own right. Recreational facilities include the Sense(R) spa, Rosewood's signature spa brand, and a well-equipped fitness suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rosewood London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancery Court Hotel, London Hotel London
Renaissance London
London Renaissance
Renaissance Chancery Court London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing