We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern meets Old World Style”
Review of Rosewood London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rosewood London
Ranked #19 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Rosewood Hotel seems like a sedate place to stay while visiting London. It is within walking distance of the British Museum.

The staff is very nice but the breakfast service seemed too slow. So, slow in fact that I could not wait. My guest was not sure if the waitress was new, but she seemed to have the whole room for service. Breakfast seemed more British than continental. It was faster walking out of the hotel, cross the street and queue at Starbucks. The hotel seems to be located within walking distance of many pubs and places to eat. The manager found us and apologized and asked us to eat in another part of the Hotel. Meal was good but became bogged down when it filled up.

The multicultural staff was very helpful and polite. A few made sure we were given good instructions as to how to reach local restaurants. One staff member checked to make sure we found a good curry. (It was my best meal in a while. Will review it later.) She confirmed that the driver had given us a good and reputable place to dine. The map used seemed written in micro print but we managed to find our way.

Room is small for a suite. Would call it a large room with King size bed. Linen is changed daily. (Watched as the staff did this.) The bath room is nice and the appointments are bit gaudy. The bath is a touch tall, I am six feet , and it seems hard to step into. The shower controls are nice if you like exacting temperature control. There was also a hand shower for hair washing. The room had both British and American electrical connections. The American connections do work. I am writing this using their current.

Price is a bit steep. If this was in dollars it would be wonderful. I would come here each time. If the room was as sumptuous as the price I would ignore the haggard dining staff. The smallish room drops the rating to very good, or four stars.

Room Tip: Request a courtyard room as it seems to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Volatius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,373 - 1,379 of 1,810 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Only stayed one night on our way to Paris. The hotel is stunning, beautiful decor and lots of character as well as being modern. It has a very chilled out atmosphere. Service and staff were excellent as was the food. Refreshing to have fresh cooked breakfast and not buffet breakfast which is typical of a lot of large hotels.
Our room was lovely and spacious and very quiet. My only niggle was that there was no dressing table and mirror and the lighting very dim. Hotel designers please take note:- ladies do not like to stand in steamy bathrooms to do their hair and makeup.
Would definitely stay there again but would ask for more 'female friendly' room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moerom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were welcomed at the Rosewood by David Taylor, a very dapper looking concierge dressed in traditonal English country fashion to run with the theme of the hotel (he can tie bow ties too which came in very useful!!).
The building is fabulous and the entrance lobby is a style lovers delight. Most importantly, every member of staff had perfected the art of balancing friendliness with professionalism. The staff were the most welcoming we have ever experienced, often in 5* city hotels the staff believe they are more important than the guests - not so at the Rosewood. We enjoyed drinks in Scarfs bar and dined out on the new Terrace, both were thoroughly enjoyable so we didn't actually leave the hotel in the evenings.
The rooms are beautifully appointed and well equipped. Unfortunately we did have a couple of disappointments where the hotel let itself down, however these are points we shall raise privately with the management. We still award this hotel 5 stars as it is beautiful and the staff are an absolute credit to the Rosewood group and the hotel management.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ChicatitainLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We took our 7 year old granddaughter to London for the first time last weekend. I chose this hotel because it looked beautiful and also noted that it was family friendly. When asked prior to our visit about preferences I asked if our granddaughter could be treated as the main guest. The staff surpassed themselves and everything was perfect. They called her Princess Libby from the very start as she had said that the hotel looked like a palace. There was a crown waiting in our room for her with a special card addressed to her, they had also baked a cookie with her name on it.

It's an exceptional hotel beautifully decorated and in a good location for the tube. We had breakfast in the Holborn dining room, which was delicious.

When we go back to London with our granddaughter, we will certainly stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 264 and 266 are brilliant if you have children as the rooms are inter-connected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I've lived in London and traveled there multiple times for work, and I find it difficult to justify the price of the Rosewood. Don't get me wrong: it's a beautiful hotel. The building and courtyard are magnificent, and the rooms are spacious (for London) and extremely well appointed. However, for its price I feel like you can get a lot more for your money. This is a city hotel, and you will probably not spend much time in your room. The lobby and restaurant you can enjoy for the same cost whether or not you are a guest. The rooms are very comfortable, but most of what you're paying for seems to be the decor: hammered copper sink; three-pane mirror; stone shower (but oddly no heated floor); deer-head bowl; iPod (4S or lower...) dock; etched glass drawers.

What was missing for me was the supple service and effortless warmth of many fine establishments: where you're greeted by (sur)name, your bags are whisked to your room, you're offered a drink and a snack, given a small gift on departure, and the restaurant staff are invisibly attentive. Instead, I was offered breakfast in two restaurants: the "light" breakfast-serving icy mirror room (£25 continental buffet or £30 full English!? Just because it's fancy and tasty doesn't mean it needs to be exorbitantly expensive. The other options seemed intentionally extravagant: caviar omelets.) or the "more full breakfast" in the pleasantly trendy brasserie Holborn Dining Room (significantly less expensive... but not that good).

Finally, the hipster-chic-manor-house dress of the staff seemed more touristy than stylish: country tweed and gamekeeper caps? Jacket-less fellows exposing braces (the whole point of braces is that they are covered by a jacket)? It might work in the South Counties, but in London?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank tcktravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My family and I stayed here for a brief 2 day stopover. A recently renovated space with a stately facade close to many of the major attractions, transportation, and eateries. The Executive Room was comfy for two adults and a child done in a sleek contemporary style with some traditional elements, Lefroy-Brooks bathroom fixtures and ample amenities. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kreino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

World class service and a truly English identity set Rosewood apart. The front desk and concierge are can-do and efficient. The hotel is spotless and very comfortable. The facilities and decor are lovely.
I have nothing but good things to say. A great British experience in London.

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank 1k_by_June
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,861 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#29 of 1,077 in London
3,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#15 of 1,077 in London
2,592 reviews
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#13 of 1,077 in London
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood London

Address: 252 High Holborn, London WC1V 7EN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Holborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in London
#8 Business Hotel in London
#10 Spa Hotel in London
#17 Family Hotel in London
#19 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £390 - £765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood London 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood London combines English heritage with contemporary sophistication in the very heart of the capital. The Grade II-listed, building has been renovated to provide accommodation with the feel of a stylish London residence. The guestrooms and suites are inspired by a traditional British manor house. The restaurants and bars are destinations in their own right. Recreational facilities include the Sense(R) spa, Rosewood's signature spa brand, and a well-equipped fitness suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosewood London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancery Court Hotel, London Hotel London
Renaissance London
London Renaissance
Renaissance Chancery Court London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing