We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Ranked #191 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

This hotel is really good. Apart from a problem finding our booking, this was soon sorted. The hotel exceeded all expectations, it was really clean, and the staff were all really helpfull. Great location, really central. Couldn't have wished for a better stay. The breakfast was good, really couldn't fault it at all. Will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We asked for as quiet a room as possible, considering it was central London, was really good. No vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    486
    113
    35
    11
See reviews for
248
645
50
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Piccadilly Circus Clean, welcoming, comfortable and quiet hotel with the advantage of being within a stone’s throw from Piccadilly Circus & Trafalgar Square. The staff was helpful and friendly, they could not do enough for you - nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast buffet was good with a large selection to choose from. The rooms are big with flat screen TV/air conditioning and the bathroom has a large walk in shower with a choice of a hand held shower and a large rain shower. You have tea making facilities/iron/ironing board and hair dryer. The room also had a dressing table, small table and 2 chairs, wardrobe with free safe . Excellent value for money and would recommend to anybody. Would definitely go back without a doubt!

Room Tip: Try if you can book a room with breakfast included in the total price of your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mee1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Very central location, perfect for theatres and major attractions. Helpful, welcoming staff at reception, room clean with a large, comfortable bed. Nicely decorated and a good size. Efficient air con, essential on a hot night.
Powerful, hot shower with a shower curtain, not a screen. The only slight problem was that there was only one towel, we managed with the one as we were only there for a night, but I am sure that they would have provided a second had we requested one.
We didn't eat there as breakfast was not included and seemed quite expensive.
The best thing was the quiet yet central location, we heard no traffic or street noise and slept very well.
Would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

My wife and I stay 4 night in May 2013. The hotel is very clean and the staff was help when ask for suggestions. The location cant be beat, right in the middle of everyhting, but still quiet.

My only negitive was the walls seem a little thin, as we often heard people in the room next to us. This wasnt a major issue because how often are you really in your room.

We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYMets21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Immaculate! Never seen such a clean hotel room. Plush, contemporary, compact and comfortable! Perfect for crash pad when exploring central London! Ultra friendly service too! Paid in advance for cheaper rate. After comparing hotels on Internet, we felt this one was superb value for money given its prime location and modern, clean rooms!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Everything ok, nice service, nice room, until I came to the bathroom. Tiles were broken and the shower was like showering with a fire hose. The pressure and hotness was adjusted with same switch, so you had to choose; hot water and fire hose, or cold water and normal pressure. No good. Potentially dangerous. All of a sudden, the shower was pointing towards the spotlight above... ps; heard from other people at the hotel that they had newly refurbished bathrooms with really nice showers, so not all rooms are like that. nice location, though, but that is also reflected in the price.... All in all for me, not worth it.

Room Tip: Do not take room 418...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwayBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMThistle2012, Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear NorwayBT

Thank you for your feedback. I am really sorry for the experience with the bathroom in room 418. I have now resolved this by replacing the flooring and altering the shower pressure. As you correctly stated we have recently refurbished the entire hotel, so again, I apologise that this issue was not identified before your arrival. Thank you again for your balanced review.

Kind regards

Richard O'Riordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our four days here, The location was great - a block from Trafalgar squarel and two blocks from theaters. The staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good and a buffet. The room was well appointed and an adequate size. We have stayed in shoeboxes in London at higher prices. Excelentvalue for the price.

Room Tip: The std room has a queen and therefore more room to move about than the deluxe with a king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anotherfussytravellr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#184 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#86 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Property: Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#108 Family Hotel in London
#145 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There aren’t many genuinely quiet streets right in the heart of London. But they do exist - and we’re on one of them. In fact, you might never guess that Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square are within a few minutes’ walk. The Royal Trafalgar has the City on one side, Whitehall on the other and history everywhere you look. The National Gallery is literally next door, as is the square that shares our name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing