We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Ranked #191 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ideal location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed five nights in an executive room and were happy with our experience. The Hotel itself is smaller than those that I would normally stay at and as expected had small rooms etc. Everything in the rooms worked and I can't complain but to be honest the hotel is probably 3 star but when coupled with location it is close to a 4. Service is fine.
The hotel is situated in the heart of Trafalgar Square and we love to walk on our holidays and found it easy to get to Piccadilly Circus, Chinatown, Buckingham Palace and even the Thames wasn't too far. The hop on/off bus stop is at the end of the street and the underground is also close by.
The ultimate test for me is, would I stay here again? Yes.
.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    486
    113
    35
    11
See reviews for
248
644
50
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

we went to this hotel for afternoon tea, after visiting Buckingham Palace, on our 42nd wedding anniversary. The service was excellent, and the atmosphere in the hotel was calm and inviting. we were early, but were made to feel very welcome, and shown to a table of our choice in the window. Other couples were in the dining room, but there was ample space between the tables to feel comfortable, and not over heard. The sparkling wine was very nice, but the food was really nice, well presented and tasty.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is just about the most welcoming, customer friendly hotel imaginable. Unfortunately we had only booked for one night, we will definitely stay again and next time it will be for longer.

We were in an Executive room and the size was excellent, bathroom had a good size shower, there was a comfortable desk and chair if you needed to work.

Breakfast was first class.

All of the staff were polite, friendly and helpful. And I do mean all of the staff, even the man cleaning the outside pots this morning was polite and friendly whilst we waited for the porter to find us a cab.

The standard of service was higher than some other London hotels I've stayed in that have a higher rating. It was quite clear that many of the guests were returners, that really says it all.

Room Tip: We had an executive room which was a good size and had a nice outlook, whilst also being fairly quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjjSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Location close to Piccadilly Circus with all the activity, restaurants, shops and people.
Hotel staff was extremely helpful, breakfasts excellent, and hotel well maintained.
The only exception was the bath area in our room which had grout missing from the tile floor and what appeared was a water problem causing the carpet to get wet outside the bathroom door. This left a visitor with a untidy condition. Condition was reported but since the hotel was full nothing was done during our stay.

Room Tip: Request a room on top floor without a busy street view if possible. Our room was on the 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alibione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Went to London for a weekend with my 5 year old boy. The location was perfect. At the hotel within minutes of Trafalgar, Leicester Sq, Piccadilly and China Town. The hotel may not be the boutique experience for the soul that I hanker after and cannot afford but it is everything I need. Very comfortable, immaculately clean, excellent child-friendly staff, compact but excellent bedrooms, breakfast buffet of very good quality and excellent choise. The only negatives were lumpy large and uncomfortable pillows and climate control that didn't work so I was both too hot and uncomfortable to sleep as well as I should have done.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hungrymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We picked this hotel purely on price/rating through Trivago and found a real gem.
We arrived and our room wasn't ready but when I explained that we had to be at the O2 in a couple of hours and we were found a room really quickly, which just happened to be a junior suite! This was resolved with great customer service by Elizabeth.
The room was spacious/comfortable/clean, the bed was really comfortable and the maids came in and prepared the room for night time while we were out by closing the curtains and putting little chocolates on the pillows.
The inclusive breakfast was as good as any i have experienced. Good quality ingredients, good service and importantly hot and tasty.
The location is great too, 100 yards left and your in Leicester Square,100 yards right and your in Trafalgar Square.
Will definitely use this hotel again as long as i can get it for the same price point.

Room Tip: Great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony_Bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location. It really couldn't be more central for Trafalgar and Leicester Squares. The staff at reception and in the dining room are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are clean and modernly decorated. We had a room on the fourth floor, well away from any street noise. We had a huge comfy bed with lots of fresh white pillows and cushions.a large wide screen television and a free safe in the wardrobe. Breakfast in the morning was pleasant in the dining room. Great if you can sit at the window and watch the world go by. They have a lovely seating area to the side of the reception with sofas to relax on and a nicely lit wall fire. Very homely! Would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: High room away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#184 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#86 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Property: Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#108 Family Hotel in London
#145 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There aren’t many genuinely quiet streets right in the heart of London. But they do exist - and we’re on one of them. In fact, you might never guess that Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square are within a few minutes’ walk. The Royal Trafalgar has the City on one side, Whitehall on the other and history everywhere you look. The National Gallery is literally next door, as is the square that shares our name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing