We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Royal Trafalgar is a good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Ranked #182 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Royal Trafalgar is a good choice”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

The Royal Trafalgar Thistle hotel, located down the street from another Thistle hotel, is located optimally for walking to main historic attractions. It's a great location for exploring. If you are on a business trip and your family is with you, you would never have to worry about them finding plenty to do. The problem we had is the fire alarm forced an evacuation early one morning. It had happened three times that week. By the time I walked out, the fire department was on scene. They will figure this out...

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Obieone911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    508
    115
    35
    11
See reviews for
258
669
51
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here in May for a few nights. We were really fortunate in finding that the hotel had a promotion and we got our room for a crazy price for central London in half term, something like £110 B & B....maybe not quite that cheap, but near to that.

The Royal Trafalgar couldn't be better situated. Right by Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery. When booking we were asked if we had special requirements and we asked if possible if we could have a quiet room with a view. We got both. The view was amazing - considering how built up the area around the hotel is. We could see the London Eye, St Martins in the Field, Nelson's column, The Shard....and watching the sun set over these cityscapes was beautiful.

We didn't eat in the restaurant apart from breakfast, but breakfast was lovely and well organised.

Would definitely recommend this hotel, and we would also save up and re-book even if we couldn't get a deal. Was definitely worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennii86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just back from a 3 day weekend break staying at this hotel and the Location is perfect. 10 to fifteen minute walk to virtually everything you could want to see and subtantially less for some things. Ideal for Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square and Covent Garden area.

Hotel staff were fabulous - we have a 2 year old and she loved the attention she got from the staff and the whole place was spotlessly clean. The rooms were modern, up to date and hd everything you could need.

Would definately recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in central London and I will be staying here again, that is for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013. Couldnt beat the location. Piccadilly, Chinatown, Theatres, Leicester Square and Trafalgar Square all a couple of minutes away. Full breakfast is the 'help yourself' type of buffet but food is good, restuarant was not overcrowded, plently of staff on hand to assist. I had a twin exec room which wasgood. Bigger than some I've styed in in London. Furnishings etc. were new and the bathroom had obviously been refurbished with a full walk in rain shower. Couldnt fault the hotel. Clean, helpful staff and great location.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got 310 which was nice and quiet. Overlooked the museum to the back so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at this hotel. While our room was not large it accommodated my wife and I very well. It was well appointed and extremely comfortable.

Staff were friendly and customer focused. We were particularly impressed by Manos at the front desk.

The hotel is ideally located - close to the theatre district and central to the city's attractions.

The hotel provides a wonderful breakfast with numerous options.

We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired_2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked the royal trafalgar for 3 nights ( Thurs-Sun ). We arrived at reception just before midnight and were greeted very friendly by the staff . We stayed in room 317 which is a family suit. This has one double bed and a sofa bed . The sofa bed was extremely uncomfortable and wouldn't stay flat. I reported this the next morning and by the time we got back from breakfast it had been replaced by a single bed. Huge difference :-) Despite the hotel being bang in the middle of Leicester square , the rooms are quiet . Don't expect a view though from the 3rd floor. The bathroom has a bath and separate shower. Overall great quality .
WIthin 2 minutes walk you are in Leicester Square / Piccadilly Circus and Trafalgar Square . The nearest tube station is Leicester Square .
This hotel is great for someone who wants easy access to the hustle and bustle of the city centre but still wants a peaceful nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jrs1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel is well situated to Leicster Square and Covent Garden.Our room was small but clean.We were on the fifth floor but could still here street noises in the middle of the night.We did not eat at the hotel but we did have breakfast which was adequate.The now normal buffet breakfast where its all layed out trying to keep warm.The breakfast area was again very small.
I don't mind a small bedroom but it was an expensive small bedroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMThistle2012, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear David M

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I was pleased that you enjoyed the location and the cleanliness of the room. I have noted your comments on the street noise and will contact you separately to identify the room number so we can investigate further. Although we do have secondary glazing in all rooms a thorough check on all the seals on the fifth floor is being conducted. Thank you, once again for your balanced review.

Kindest regards

Richard O'Riordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#188 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#96 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Property: Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#108 Family Hotel in London
#143 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There aren’t many genuinely quiet streets right in the heart of London. But they do exist - and we’re on one of them. In fact, you might never guess that Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square are within a few minutes’ walk. The Royal Trafalgar has the City on one side, Whitehall on the other and history everywhere you look. The National Gallery is literally next door, as is the square that shares our name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing