We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Ranked #187 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

As soon as we arrived to the hotel we were checked into our room, even though we arrived at 12pm and not 2pm, the actual check in time. The staff were very friendly and polite. Our bags were not taken to our room for us which you may expect in a 'luxury 4* Hotel'.

We stayed in the executive double room, lovely big bed and nice big room. The bathroom was lovely, very clean and a huge shower, bathroom included shampoo, conditioner etc as well as a good quality hairdryer in the room. It is clear that the whole hotel has been recently decorated to a high standard. The room was definitely up to 4 or 5* standard, very spacious for a London hotel too.

The breakfast was really good quality food, and although in a small room there was enough to choose from. However the food was slow to be replaced when it had all gone so we were waiting around for a while for more. Plates we had finished with also took a while to get taken away so the table was cramped.

There is a small bar area, this was nice and relaxing, it was a shame that the draught beers were not available, also the waitress did get both my orders wrong, but she did replace them when I informed her of this.

The location of this hotel is perfect, you couldn't ask for any better. 1 minute from Leicester Square, no more then 5 to Piccadilly and 30 seconds to Trafalgar Square.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere pleasant to stay for a couple of nights with a very central location. Service was average and there were no other facilities, if you were looking to stay for 5 or more nights you might want to consider somewhere with more facilities and slightly better service. However perfect for a one or two night city break.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallyAMalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMThistle2012, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Louisa M

Thank you for posting your review. I was delighted that overall you would recommend the hotel and thought the staff were very friendly. I was also pleased you rated the rooms as 4 to 5 star standard following our refurbishment. Please accept my apology for the lack of luggage assistance on arrival and the inconvenience this caused. We do have a 24 hour concierge service so I will make sure we are more pro-active in offering help in the future. I am happy to advise that we are now re-introducing draught beer into the bar following your experience and other similar guest comments. Thank your once again for your balanced feedback.

Kindest regards

Richard O'Riordan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Nice hotel with great location. The hotel was very easy to find and everything that I needed was within walking distance. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was very tasty. The only minus comes from being given someone else's room on arrival. Yes, they give me a key to someone else's room, but fortunately there was no one inside when I entered. I wen back to the reception and I was given another room, this time a free one. When I got back to hotel later, the key card for the room didn't work anymore, and the receptionist had to give me a new one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dinky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Fabulous location and friendly staff ... the Thistle is perfect if u have business in town. Good breakfast too. Fire alarm went off early in the morning but within 5 min everything was sorted. Would stay again. Nothing outstanding (hence the 4 rating ) but no complaints either

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Barney2eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The Royal Trafalgar Thistle hotel, located down the street from another Thistle hotel, is located optimally for walking to main historic attractions. It's a great location for exploring. If you are on a business trip and your family is with you, you would never have to worry about them finding plenty to do. The problem we had is the fire alarm forced an evacuation early one morning. It had happened three times that week. By the time I walked out, the fire department was on scene. They will figure this out...

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Obieone911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here in May for a few nights. We were really fortunate in finding that the hotel had a promotion and we got our room for a crazy price for central London in half term, something like £110 B & B....maybe not quite that cheap, but near to that.

The Royal Trafalgar couldn't be better situated. Right by Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery. When booking we were asked if we had special requirements and we asked if possible if we could have a quiet room with a view. We got both. The view was amazing - considering how built up the area around the hotel is. We could see the London Eye, St Martins in the Field, Nelson's column, The Shard....and watching the sun set over these cityscapes was beautiful.

We didn't eat in the restaurant apart from breakfast, but breakfast was lovely and well organised.

Would definitely recommend this hotel, and we would also save up and re-book even if we couldn't get a deal. Was definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennii86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just back from a 3 day weekend break staying at this hotel and the Location is perfect. 10 to fifteen minute walk to virtually everything you could want to see and subtantially less for some things. Ideal for Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square and Covent Garden area.

Hotel staff were fabulous - we have a 2 year old and she loved the attention she got from the staff and the whole place was spotlessly clean. The rooms were modern, up to date and hd everything you could need.

Would definately recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in central London and I will be staying here again, that is for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013. Couldnt beat the location. Piccadilly, Chinatown, Theatres, Leicester Square and Trafalgar Square all a couple of minutes away. Full breakfast is the 'help yourself' type of buffet but food is good, restuarant was not overcrowded, plently of staff on hand to assist. I had a twin exec room which wasgood. Bigger than some I've styed in in London. Furnishings etc. were new and the bathroom had obviously been refurbished with a full walk in rain shower. Couldnt fault the hotel. Clean, helpful staff and great location.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got 310 which was nice and quiet. Overlooked the museum to the back so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#94 of 1,077 in London
985 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#183 of 1,077 in London
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#24 of 1,077 in London
4,147 reviews
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#144 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £110 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a hidden gem that’s just around the corner from the hustle and bustle of Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square, Piccadilly Circus, Soho and Covent Garden. You can make yourself at home in one of our 108 en-suite rooms, dine al fresco on the terrace, or relax with a drink in our stylish, comfortable lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing